We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family friendly beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fenix Hotel - On The Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Fenix Hotel - On The Beach to your Saves list
Fenix Hotel - On The Beach
100 Mts Sur de Pulperia Stephanie | Samara de Nicoya, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Playa Samara
Littleton, Colorado
2 reviews
“Great family friendly beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Fenix for our last three nights in Costa Rica. It was our first time out of the country with kids ( boys age 5 and 8), and the proximity from the beach to the pool to the bodega (cooler of adult and kid friendly beverages) was ideal. Phyllis and her staff did everything they could to make us at home. She ordered pizza for us the first night, booked tours for zip lining and kayaking. The kids made instant friends with the room next to us, and spent hours combing the beach for hermit crabs. It was a memorable experience we will never forget. The short walk to town along the beach took about 15 minutes. Water was warm and safe for kids.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenix_Samara, General Manager at Fenix Hotel - On The Beach, responded to this review, October 5, 2014
Thank you Lois for recommending this family to our hotel. Many of our new guests have been referred by someone who had stayed here. What can be better than a recommendation from a friend.

It always nice when the children meet others to play with while they are here. The hermit crabs, which we have a lot of, is a common denominator.

Hope to see you back one day.

Hasta luego,

Phyllis & Bill @ The Fenix
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    76
    3
    3
    5
See reviews for
144
153
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

After reading other reviews on tripadvisor, we decided to book a room at Fenix Hotel. Our hotel room was the perfect size for our family of 4 as there was a twin bed and trundle in the living area for our two boys and a queen bed in a separate bedroom. We didn't have an A/C in our suite as we stayed in a standard room, but the ceiling fan along with the ocean breeze coming through our windows kept us cool. Despite the fact that we ate at the local restaurants most of the time, I like that the room came with a kitchen (fridge, stove, sink, dinnerware & utensils) so that the we could snack and have leftovers at the hotel (there's a microwave in the bodega). The room service was wonderful--every day we came home to a clean room and when we washed our laundry in the bodega, they were quick to put our clean laundry back in our room. There isn't a pool for toddlers, but we spent most of our time in the ocean--the tide was low and gentle while we visited in March--and the beach looking for crabs, fish, and seashells. When we wanted to relax, there were plenty of beach loungers and hammocks around. It does take 15-30 minutes to walk (depending on how fast we could coax our kids to walk along) on the beach to get to a restaurant, but we enjoyed our walks and if we wanted to get to a restaurant faster, we drove our car and it was only a few minutes away. I think the only negative parts of our stay were that the shower's highest heat setting was warm (it was hot once, though) and the neighbor's roosters crowing in the morning. Oh, and please don't forget your insect repellent! Phyllis and Bill are great--very informative and helpful during our stay. We really enjoyed staying at this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

This was our second trip to the Fenix and our third to CR. We were there last year and decided to return again. We love so many things about this little piece of paradise: friendly Phyllis & Bill, proximity to the water, the delightful hammocks, the fresh fruit truck, homemade pastries, to-die-for cerviche, walking down the beach for dinner - or cooking fresh seafood either from the local fishermen as they come in with their catch at around 4:30 or from the Pescaderia around the corner, feeding the crocs at the crocodile bridge at Playa Carillo and watching the amazing sunset. It all works! The rooms are configured in a half circle and all have a view of the water. This, as others have mentioned, is perfect for getting to know other travelers staying at the hotel. Many of us gathered around 2 tables at night after the children were in bed and enjoyed a nice glass of wine, beer from the bodega, and stories of our vastly different lives. A hat that won't blow away in the breeze is a must, as is the sunscreen! The hotel is right on the beach, the salt air can take it's toll but Phyllis and Bill do try to keep up with things and the rooms are cleaned daily by two wonderful women. This is not the JW, it's smack in the heart of a small tico neighborhood with dogs, chickens and all. This unpretentious hotel is truly a slice of paradise cut into the heart of a typical CR setting. If you want to experience a quaint CR surf town (not as built up as Tamarindo) then this is an excellent choice! Pura Vida! Smile :-)

Room Tip: Room #6 is the most up to date, the only one with A/C and its own microwave. There is a microwave i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenix_Samara, General Manager at Fenix Hotel - On The Beach, responded to this review, October 5, 2014
I love your name “Smiley”. When you first arrived you were smiling because, as you said, you were so happy to be back. The entire time here, you had a smile on your face. It is nice to be part of something that is so positive. It is nice to have such nice families return. Thank you.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Phyllis & Bill @ The Fénix
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

This was our first trip to CR and cant wait to get back. Phillis, Bill and their family make you feel warm and welcome, even letting me play with their pets (missed the furkids from home). The rooms are set up well, beds are comfy and the sound of the waves do lull you to sleep. Most everyone sits and eats outside around the pool which is the perfect temp to cool down from the heat.. Theres an honour system soda and beer fridge if you run out in the bodega, and the bbq area is now my favorite kitchen in the world to cook in. You can buy fish from the boats when they come home, fruit mongers come to the front sometimes and their daughter runs a bakery in town and sends her son over with delicious foccaccia, quiche, muffins and cin rolls to purchase. There is an excellent little corner store where you can get charcoal for the bbq, some veggies, bread, milk, wine, groceries etc that had great prices. Hammocks are comfy to read and fall asleep in under the palms watching the ocean.Chat with neighbors, or go for a boogie in the waves. If you dont feel like cooking, walk to town via the beach, its nicer and shorter than the road. Walk to the south end of the beach for a snorkel over the rocks to see damsels, angels, wrasse and blennys.
Bring sun screen, bug spray and anti itch as the noseeum bites are relentless if you itch just once.
Fenix is a warm, friendly relaxed hotel away from the bustle of town but close enough to be a part of it, with everything you need to forget where you came from with your bum in a hammock and toes in the sand.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We had never been to Costa Rica before and choose this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews. It did not disappoint!! The rooms were clean, the staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful and Phyllis and Bill were very hospitable hosts. It felt like vacationing with a bunch of friends. The rooms are quaint and cozy, very clean and well kept. We're looking forward to many more trips!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willernie, Minnesota
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

If you're looking for beautiful scenery, tranquility, lovely accommodations and friendly people, look no further! I went on this trip with four friends, hoping for a relaxing spring break and Bill and Phyllis at the Fenix Hotel more than exceeded our expectations. The hotel is quaint but completely accommodating, we didn't lack for any anything (other than cell phone service, Verizon doesn't work in Costa Rica - Oh well! Didn't miss it! The Wi-Fi worked fine for contacting family back home.) Three of us stayed in room #6, a beautiful, fully equipped room with air conditioning. Everything worked like clockwork (were there clocks there? I don't remember and didn't care!). The pool out front is small but just right for a quick cooling off dip if you're not wishing to swim the salty ocean water. Speaking of ocean water, what a beautiful beach! Most times we were the only people on our beach or in the surf. They provided us with boogie boards - perfect waves, we had so much fun! Bill and Phyllis went out of their way to make sure our stay was comfortable and fun filled, we arrived as strangers but left feeling like family. Thank you so much, I will be back again, and again, and again!

Lori, Willernie, Minnesota

Room Tip: If you must have AC, go for room #6. We could have lived without it, but it was nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Just a few girlfriends traveling to the best little hotel, in the best little town. The owners, Bill and Phyllis go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need, all questions answered. They have created a beautiful oasis in the sand, with trees and bushes abound. Hammocks and chairs and loungers enough for all.
I loved the Tico neighborhood, with a grocery market just a few doors down, and a fresh fish market just around the corner. We cooked some of our meals in our room, or used the Bar-b-q while watching the beach and also took a short walk to town to enjoy many of the wonderful food and drinks. Getting money at the two banks and countless ATM's was never a problem.
The beach is long and great for running or just a quiet stroll, with so many things catching the eye.
I have been to Mexico a few times and around Costa Rica some, and I strongly feel that the Fenix Hotel was by far the bast vacation experience I have ever had, so much so, that I shed a few tears leaving.
Every person we met in town was so very friendly (Hi, Nick St. Clair) either getting directions or getting help with the exchange rate.
If you want a romantic little spot, or a family trip, or just a few friends hanging out, i would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to all.

Room Tip: Room 6 is the deluxe room with A/C, but you really do not need it with the wonderful breezes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fenix Hotel - On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fenix Hotel - On The Beach

Address: 100 Mts Sur de Pulperia Stephanie | Samara de Nicoya, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Playa Samara
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five time winner of the Traveler's Choice Award in 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, and 2009! Beach-front hotel just footsteps from the ocean. Our front yard is sand. Three ranchos with palm trees provide plenty of shade. Hammocks, moveable sunbeds, small pool, gardens and BBQ complete our front yard. All of our rooms are comfortable and tropical with fully equipped kitchens. Each room has a separate bedroom. The deluxe room has AC and widescreen TV. Standard rooms have upper and lower screened windows and two ceiling fans. Most of our guests return or recommend their friends due to the comfort level. We have an honor system for beverages and free use of boogie boards. An enjoyable 15 minute walk to Samara Central on the beach. There is a small store and fish market in our neighborhood of Matapalo, along with local deliveries of fruits and ceviche. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fenix Hotel - On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fenix Hotel Playa Samara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fenix Hotel - On The Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.