We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fenix Hotel - On The Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Fenix Hotel - On The Beach to your Saves list
Fenix Hotel - On The Beach
100 Mts Sur de Pulperia Stephanie | Samara de Nicoya, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book direct with us!
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
Ashland, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beach retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Spent a relaxing two weeks at what is becoming our favorite spot in Playa Samara. After years of staying "downtown" in Samara we have discovered the perfect spot up the beach. Nestled in the Matapalo neighborhood you go to sleep to the sound of the surf and awaken to the sound of the local chickens and howlers. We love the Guanacaste area for its guaranteed hot dry weather in February but there is no cooler spot than Fenix on the Beach. The ocean breezes and palm shade make relaxing the order of the day. Phyllis and Bill see to it that all needs are met without hassle. Their friendliness seems to instantly rub off on the guests as folks readily comingle and you soon find yourself sharing dinner on the patio, planning sightseeing excursions, and exchanging email addresses. Our favorite experience this year was laying on the recliners watching the sunset in to the ocean and wishing we had some music in the background when lo and behold a band of young musicians from Argentina suddenly set up on the log in front of us and began to seranade the sunset. Perfect end to the day. Phyllis claimed she wasn't responsible but I wonder.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich_Anderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Greenwich, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We have just returned from the most wonderful 8-day stay at Hotel Fenix on Playa Samara. We gathered for a family reunion and Hotel Fenix offered something for all the kids, parents, and grandparents: hammocks and easy chairs under the shade of the palm trees, small pool right outside the doors of our rooms, boogie boards for the Pacific waves, and all just an easy stroll down the beach from the town of Samara. Phyllis was a gracious host, and gave us great tips on local attractions and activities (where to go snorkeling and fishing, and where to see crocodiles by the side of the road). The casual and intimate atmosphere of the Hotel Fenix helped us all relax and enjoy our vacation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ltravel123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Missouri
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

My husband and I are recently retired and are enjoying retirement in Costa Rica! We have just returned from spending 7 days in the Tortuguero area and 14 days at the Fenix Hotel in Samara. We spent our days walking on the beach, fishing, swimming, shelling and going on day trips up and down the coast. Samara Bay als offers wind surfacing, surfboarding, sunset cruising, snorkeling, scuba diving, etc. The Fenix is a very central location on the best beach in Costa Rica--no sharks and no dangerous currents. We were able to walk for meals, groceries, banking, entertainment or solitude with ease; Phyllis and Bill are available to provide information, advice, directions, trip planning, etc. any hour of the day. We love the open air ventilation and ceiling fan which provides a pleasant temperature throughout the day and night. The Fenix is tucked away among the coconut and mango trees for constant cooling shade with a wide beach in front for sun worshipping, meditation, yogo, massage, etc. The outdoor shower and swimming pool offer an oasis for exiting the beach and leaving the sand and salt out of the living quarters. We like to catch and eat fish when we are at the beach; the kitchen at the Fenix is well equipped for preparing breakfast, lunch and dinner. There is always hot water on demand for a shower and the staff makes up the rooms every day. My husband and I were very comfortable at the Fenix and can recommend this hotel for anyone who might like to stay in paradise. All is well in Costa Rica.

Room Tip: There are 6 rooms to choose from; all are equally nice. I like the one on the end because I have na...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We had a relaxing, wonderful stay at the Fenix. Phyllis could not have been more friendly and helpful with lots of "local" advice. The design of the place with the 6 units facing the pool with the beach beyond lent itself to friendly interactions among the other guests. As mentioned by others, the rooms are spotless and cooler than we anticipated at night. We really appreciated having the kitchenette and feasting every morning on homemade pastries from Phyllis' daughter. Hopefully we will make it back to Samara and the Fenix for another winter respite!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ceoltoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nebraska
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Just home from our stay and wanted to post before we got too busy. I'm going to do 5stars because of the whole experience. The accommodations were Average. While it was "older", everything was very clean. The bedding was comfortable. We had plenty of hot water. There are only 6 rooms so it is pretty intimate. The grounds & beach are very well taken care of. I know beach locations are hard to maintain because of the elements but we were impressed with the way they cared for everything.
We were surprised that so many of the guests did use the kitchenettes for meals. We just walked 15 minutes up the beach. If It were me, I'd make all the rooms Deluxe and only have a fridge & microwave. BUT, if I were Phyllis & Bill, I'd leave it just the way it is and keep welcoming back all the happy, satisfied guests that are return visitors.
What raised our opinion is simply the owners & staff. Phyllis & Bill make this hotel. Very welcoming, good people. The staff always greeted us with a smile and "Hola".
I will do a forum post about this but thought it should be in my review also:
We left a camera & lens in our room :-(. By the time we were in Nicoya our phone was ringing and ringing. Phyllis had been trying to reach us (there are dead spots in cell coverage)
The housekeeper had found the camera & lens and promptly brought them to Phyllis. Talk about the notorious "crime of opportunity" The camera could have just gone missing--who would know? We would not have missed this until we were home & long gone. This just shows what good people they have working for them!
When we go back, we hope they have a room available. Now if they could just do something about the roosters...;o)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joyceh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Thanks again to Phyllis and her crew. Our 8 days stay was complimented by their gracious hosting, total attention to cleanliness and of course the perfect beach setting. Renting the second room for our 20somethings gave us each an the extra space to chill though we only used one kitchen. All enjoyed the hammocks & watching the sunset from our own private beach. Fenix is a convenient base for fun outings & beach dining but a10 minutes walk so its quiet & more local.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank linda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grecia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My adult daughter and I just spent five days at the Fenix Hotel on the Beach. We love Playa Samara for it's calm, safe waters and soft sand. We stayed in the deluxe apartment, which has amazing kitchen amenities and air conditioning...a very comfortable room, indeed. There was enough ocean breeze that we would guess the non-air conditioned apartments stayed quite comfortable as well. The pool is small, but you are right ON the beach. The units all face each other in a u-shape around the pool, but still feel private. Guests can choose to visit with one another around the pool at tables in front of their rooms. Alternately, there are LOTS of comfortable loungers, tables, and benches scattered through the palms in front of the beach. We loved spending entire days right on the beach, choosing sun or shade at will. Guests may choose to socialize around the pool or on the beach, or to hide away among the palms at the ocean's edge. The owners, Phyllis and Bill, are friendly, fun and helpful. It's an easy walk to town, and, if you are lucky, Phyllis and Bill's daughter will be baking some scrumptious pastries. We also bought fresh fish, ceviche and other goodies from recommended sellers without ever leaving the beach. We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Samara
1.1 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 15 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 stars 663 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#3 of 15 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 stars 281 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#12 of 15 in Playa Samara
3.5 of 5 stars 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#4 of 15 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 stars 221 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#6 of 15 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 stars 310 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Flying Crocodile
Hotel Flying Crocodile
#5 of 15 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 stars 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fenix Hotel - On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fenix Hotel - On The Beach

Address: 100 Mts Sur de Pulperia Stephanie | Samara de Nicoya, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Samara
#2 Family Hotel in Playa Samara
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five time winner of the Traveler's Choice Award in 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, and 2009! Beach-front hotel just footsteps from the ocean. Our front yard is sand. Three ranchos with palm trees provide plenty of shade. Hammocks, moveable sunbeds, small pool, gardens and BBQ complete our front yard. All of our rooms are comfortable and tropical with fully equipped kitchens. Each room has a separate bedroom. The deluxe room has AC and widescreen TV. Standard rooms have upper and lower screened windows and two ceiling fans. Most of our guests return or recommend their friends due to the comfort level. We have an honor system for beverages and free use of boogie boards. An enjoyable 15 minute walk to Samara Central on the beach. There is a small store and fish market in our neighborhood of Matapalo, along with local deliveries of fruits and ceviche. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Fenix Hotel - On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fenix Hotel Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing