We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect vacation for our whole family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fenix Hotel - On The Beach

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa Samara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fenix Hotel - On The Beach
100 Mts Sur de Pulperia Stephanie | Samara de Nicoya, Playa Samara 5235, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$20 off room rate
Ranked #3 of 15 hotels in Playa Samara
Greenwich, Connecticut
1 review
“The perfect vacation for our whole family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We have just returned from the most wonderful 8-day stay at Hotel Fenix on Playa Samara. We gathered for a family reunion and Hotel Fenix offered something for all the kids, parents, and grandparents: hammocks and easy chairs under the shade of the palm trees, small pool right outside the doors of our rooms, boogie boards for the Pacific waves, and all just an easy stroll down the beach from the town of Samara. Phyllis was a gracious host, and gave us great tips on local attractions and activities (where to go snorkeling and fishing, and where to see crocodiles by the side of the road). The casual and intimate atmosphere of the Hotel Fenix helped us all relax and enjoy our vacation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    239
    63
    2
    3
    4
See reviews for
122
133
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

My husband and I are recently retired and are enjoying retirement in Costa Rica! We have just returned from spending 7 days in the Tortuguero area and 14 days at the Fenix Hotel in Samara. We spent our days walking on the beach, fishing, swimming, shelling and going on day trips up and down the coast. Samara Bay als offers wind surfacing, surfboarding, sunset cruising, snorkeling, scuba diving, etc. The Fenix is a very central location on the best beach in Costa Rica--no sharks and no dangerous currents. We were able to walk for meals, groceries, banking, entertainment or solitude with ease; Phyllis and Bill are available to provide information, advice, directions, trip planning, etc. any hour of the day. We love the open air ventilation and ceiling fan which provides a pleasant temperature throughout the day and night. The Fenix is tucked away among the coconut and mango trees for constant cooling shade with a wide beach in front for sun worshipping, meditation, yogo, massage, etc. The outdoor shower and swimming pool offer an oasis for exiting the beach and leaving the sand and salt out of the living quarters. We like to catch and eat fish when we are at the beach; the kitchen at the Fenix is well equipped for preparing breakfast, lunch and dinner. There is always hot water on demand for a shower and the staff makes up the rooms every day. My husband and I were very comfortable at the Fenix and can recommend this hotel for anyone who might like to stay in paradise. All is well in Costa Rica.

Room Tip: There are 6 rooms to choose from; all are equally nice. I like the one on the end because I have na...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We had a relaxing, wonderful stay at the Fenix. Phyllis could not have been more friendly and helpful with lots of "local" advice. The design of the place with the 6 units facing the pool with the beach beyond lent itself to friendly interactions among the other guests. As mentioned by others, the rooms are spotless and cooler than we anticipated at night. We really appreciated having the kitchenette and feasting every morning on homemade pastries from Phyllis' daughter. Hopefully we will make it back to Samara and the Fenix for another winter respite!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nebraska
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Just home from our stay and wanted to post before we got too busy. I'm going to do 5stars because of the whole experience. The accommodations were Average. While it was "older", everything was very clean. The bedding was comfortable. We had plenty of hot water. There are only 6 rooms so it is pretty intimate. The grounds & beach are very well taken care of. I know beach locations are hard to maintain because of the elements but we were impressed with the way they cared for everything.
We were surprised that so many of the guests did use the kitchenettes for meals. We just walked 15 minutes up the beach. If It were me, I'd make all the rooms Deluxe and only have a fridge & microwave. BUT, if I were Phyllis & Bill, I'd leave it just the way it is and keep welcoming back all the happy, satisfied guests that are return visitors.
What raised our opinion is simply the owners & staff. Phyllis & Bill make this hotel. Very welcoming, good people. The staff always greeted us with a smile and "Hola".
I will do a forum post about this but thought it should be in my review also:
We left a camera & lens in our room :-(. By the time we were in Nicoya our phone was ringing and ringing. Phyllis had been trying to reach us (there are dead spots in cell coverage)
The housekeeper had found the camera & lens and promptly brought them to Phyllis. Talk about the notorious "crime of opportunity" The camera could have just gone missing--who would know? We would not have missed this until we were home & long gone. This just shows what good people they have working for them!
When we go back, we hope they have a room available. Now if they could just do something about the roosters...;o)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Thanks again to Phyllis and her crew. Our 8 days stay was complimented by their gracious hosting, total attention to cleanliness and of course the perfect beach setting. Renting the second room for our 20somethings gave us each an the extra space to chill though we only used one kitchen. All enjoyed the hammocks & watching the sunset from our own private beach. Fenix is a convenient base for fun outings & beach dining but a10 minutes walk so its quiet & more local.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grecia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My adult daughter and I just spent five days at the Fenix Hotel on the Beach. We love Playa Samara for it's calm, safe waters and soft sand. We stayed in the deluxe apartment, which has amazing kitchen amenities and air conditioning...a very comfortable room, indeed. There was enough ocean breeze that we would guess the non-air conditioned apartments stayed quite comfortable as well. The pool is small, but you are right ON the beach. The units all face each other in a u-shape around the pool, but still feel private. Guests can choose to visit with one another around the pool at tables in front of their rooms. Alternately, there are LOTS of comfortable loungers, tables, and benches scattered through the palms in front of the beach. We loved spending entire days right on the beach, choosing sun or shade at will. Guests may choose to socialize around the pool or on the beach, or to hide away among the palms at the ocean's edge. The owners, Phyllis and Bill, are friendly, fun and helpful. It's an easy walk to town, and, if you are lucky, Phyllis and Bill's daughter will be baking some scrumptious pastries. We also bought fresh fish, ceviche and other goodies from recommended sellers without ever leaving the beach. We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We absolutely love staying @ the Fenix when we go to Samara! As a matter of fact, we now make it a point to go to Samara whenever we come to Costa Rica just so that we can go to the Fenix. This small hotel is right on the beach. It is the perfect mix of a rustic, "Tico" feel with enough modern conveniences to keep you comfortable. Upon our arrival, we were greeted by the owners, who, along with a staff member, helped us to our room with our luggage and a few groceries. Each morning we enjoyed our coffee while sitting on cushioned lounge chairs with the ocean waves just steps away. During the days we often took advantage of Jessica's fresh pastries, or spinach quiche delivered right to our door. And if you like ceviche, you can get the best right here, also offered right on the premises almost daily. We keep cooking to a minimum (we're on vacation, right?), but did take advantage of using the charcoal grill one evening. Walking the beach is always enjoyable. But it is also wonderful to just sit in the shade, or gently swing in a hammock and watch the people, or occasional horses + bike-riders go by. Most evenings we again found ourselves by the shore watching beautiful sunsets over the water. I don't know how many times we asked ourselves, " Does it get any better than this?" We are already counting the days until we can return next year!

Room Tip: Rooms 1-5 are more rustic, with no A/C, but with screened windows + ceiling fans, very comfortable f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fenix Hotel - On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fenix Hotel - On The Beach

Address: 100 Mts Sur de Pulperia Stephanie | Samara de Nicoya, Playa Samara 5235, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Samara
#2 Family Hotel in Playa Samara
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the Traveler's Choice Award in 2009, 2012, 2013 and 2014! Beachfront hotel just footsteps from the ocean. Comfortable tropical rooms with full kitchens and separate bedroom. Lush gardens and a small pool. Movable wood sunbeds with thick cushions. Hammocks and BBQ. Ranchos and palm trees provide plenty of shade. Our deluxe room has AC and 42¨ widescreen TV. Our hotel has a comfort level that our guests enjoy, making it one of the best places to stay in Costa Rica. We have an honor system for beverages, boogie boards and pool. Over half of our guests are either referred or return for another stay. Ten minute walk to Samara central, on the beach. There is a small store and fish market in our neighborhood of Matapalo, along with fresh pastries and ceviche. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fenix Hotel Playa Samara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fenix Hotel - On The Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Fenix Hotel - On The Beach to your Saves list