We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'd move if it wasn't for our job!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fenix Hotel - On The Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Fenix Hotel - On The Beach to your Saves list
Fenix Hotel - On The Beach
100 Mts Sur de Pulperia Stephanie | Samara de Nicoya, Playa Samara 5235, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Playa Samara
San Francisco, California
1 review
“We'd move if it wasn't for our job!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Thanks again to Phyllis and her crew. Our 8 days stay was complimented by their gracious hosting, total attention to cleanliness and of course the perfect beach setting. Renting the second room for our 20somethings gave us each an the extra space to chill though we only used one kitchen. All enjoyed the hammocks & watching the sunset from our own private beach. Fenix is a convenient base for fun outings & beach dining but a10 minutes walk so its quiet & more local.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    68
    3
    3
    4
See reviews for
130
143
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grecia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My adult daughter and I just spent five days at the Fenix Hotel on the Beach. We love Playa Samara for it's calm, safe waters and soft sand. We stayed in the deluxe apartment, which has amazing kitchen amenities and air conditioning...a very comfortable room, indeed. There was enough ocean breeze that we would guess the non-air conditioned apartments stayed quite comfortable as well. The pool is small, but you are right ON the beach. The units all face each other in a u-shape around the pool, but still feel private. Guests can choose to visit with one another around the pool at tables in front of their rooms. Alternately, there are LOTS of comfortable loungers, tables, and benches scattered through the palms in front of the beach. We loved spending entire days right on the beach, choosing sun or shade at will. Guests may choose to socialize around the pool or on the beach, or to hide away among the palms at the ocean's edge. The owners, Phyllis and Bill, are friendly, fun and helpful. It's an easy walk to town, and, if you are lucky, Phyllis and Bill's daughter will be baking some scrumptious pastries. We also bought fresh fish, ceviche and other goodies from recommended sellers without ever leaving the beach. We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We absolutely love staying @ the Fenix when we go to Samara! As a matter of fact, we now make it a point to go to Samara whenever we come to Costa Rica just so that we can go to the Fenix. This small hotel is right on the beach. It is the perfect mix of a rustic, "Tico" feel with enough modern conveniences to keep you comfortable. Upon our arrival, we were greeted by the owners, who, along with a staff member, helped us to our room with our luggage and a few groceries. Each morning we enjoyed our coffee while sitting on cushioned lounge chairs with the ocean waves just steps away. During the days we often took advantage of Jessica's fresh pastries, or spinach quiche delivered right to our door. And if you like ceviche, you can get the best right here, also offered right on the premises almost daily. We keep cooking to a minimum (we're on vacation, right?), but did take advantage of using the charcoal grill one evening. Walking the beach is always enjoyable. But it is also wonderful to just sit in the shade, or gently swing in a hammock and watch the people, or occasional horses + bike-riders go by. Most evenings we again found ourselves by the shore watching beautiful sunsets over the water. I don't know how many times we asked ourselves, " Does it get any better than this?" We are already counting the days until we can return next year!

Room Tip: Rooms 1-5 are more rustic, with no A/C, but with screened windows + ceiling fans, very comfortable f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Fenix Hotel in October of 2012. We absolutely loved every minute of it. We stayed for 4 nights while we were in Playa Samara. The hotel is the perfect distance away from the town to get away and have some peace and quiet. The hotel was totally affordable and since we went during the off-season, they offered to even move a little on the price. Such a great experience!

The hotel is beachfront with it's own little cabanas that you can sit underneath and soak in the sun. We were able to enjoy the beach and really unplug. I really recommend staying at this hotel if you just want relaxation and getting away from a city.

The couple running the place are super nice and are from the States. They moved out there in the 90s and love it. They were able to point us in the right direction to see some of the local monkeys. Also, they have a pet squirrel who is super cute to take pictures of.

The beds were comfortable and the shower has a good amount of pressure. They live on a legit Costa Rican street which was cool to get emerged in the culture of things.

If you are going to Playa Samara, stay here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed at the Fenix Hotel on the recommendation of friends. They did not do it justice! Yes, the rooms are modest and the kitchen amenities are quite basic, but the place is clean, cool, friendly, and most importantly, right on the beach. We loved strolling down the beach for meals - we absolutely could have cooked more in our room, but the ease and enjoyment we got from exploring Samara gave us a great excuse not to! We body surfed a few times each day, recovered by reading in hammocks, took surf lessons, went horseback riding on the beach and went for jogs in the morning along the beach. We planned to do far more, but the atmosphere was just so relaxing that our motivation sort of vanished! Phyllis was a great host - ready for a quick chat, informative, but also very respectful of our privacy. If you are planning on going just to Samara, you don't need a car, but we travelled all through the province, so we had one, but didn't really use it there. I was happily surprised with the daily cleaning service, and the honour bar is a nice touch. This was by far the best part of our trip, and I highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "deluxe" room which has AC, and is renovated tastefully. I would stay i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwyn, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My wife and I spend a lot of time travelling for pleasure. For beach vacations we usually rent a villa, but for our first trip to Costa Rica we opted for the convenience of a hotel. From reviews here we almost thought that the Fenix was too good to be true. It is TRUE and wow, is it good.

It really is right on the beautiful beach. We visited many bars and restaurants in Samara that were on the beach; all were fun and busy, but we were always glad to return to the peace and quiet of the Fenix just a wander down the beach from the "action" of Samara. It is truly peaceful here, with beautifully kept grounds, beach lounges, hammocks. Always a cold beer or soda are available in the utility room. They also have adequate Wi-Fi as surprisingly so does most of Samara. Lovely shade in the palms from the HOT sun. The grounds keepers do a great job keeping debris from the vegetation and surf under control. And then there is the small pool which is great for a refreshing dip just to cool off.

The owners are great; helpful and fun to talk with. It really feels like family here.

We stayed in the "deluxe" room, which means that it had a television (we watched part of a football game on Thanksgiving Day and watched half of an episode of NCIS - there are better things to do here than watch TV,) air-conditioning (which was nice, though probably not critical to have,) and some upgraded touches compared to the really nice standard, other 5 rooms. The bed was comfortable, the linens were always clean, housekeeping was perfect.

The ocean is right there, protected by a reef way out there and an island, so the water was always suitable for calm swimming and play. From the water the hotel disappears into the jungle. I was always thinking Jurassic Park when looking back at the landscape.

It took me awhile to write this. I really don't want any competition for a room reservation! But this place is heaven on earth to me. This is definitely not a place for those who want the noise of the all inclusives or the glitz of a pampering, big name resort. This is just simply a quiet, beautiful retreat in paradise.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We only stayed 2 nights because it was booked and I made reservations in August, so book early. The bed in our room was huge, and we had a fully-equipped kitchen. There is no AC but ceiling fans kept us cool. All rooms surround a lovely pool, and there's an honor bar with cold beverages. Best of all, it's just a few short steps to the beach, where you can lie in a hammock or lounge chair under palm trees. It's near the end of the beach so it's very quiet, but it's just a short walk to restaurants and shops. This is a great little hotel and I would highly recommend it to anyone who wants a great place on the beach.

Room Tip: There are only 6 rooms(I think) and all seem equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fenix Hotel - On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fenix Hotel - On The Beach

Address: 100 Mts Sur de Pulperia Stephanie | Samara de Nicoya, Playa Samara 5235, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa Samara
#3 Family Hotel in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the Traveler's Choice Award in 2009, 2012, 2013 and 2014! Beachfront hotel just footsteps from the ocean. Comfortable tropical rooms with full kitchens and separate bedroom. Lush gardens and a small pool. Movable wood sunbeds with thick cushions. Hammocks and BBQ. Ranchos and palm trees provide plenty of shade. Our deluxe room has AC and 42¨ widescreen TV. Our hotel has a comfort level that our guests enjoy, making it one of the best places to stay in Costa Rica. We have an honor system for beverages, boogie boards and pool. Over half of our guests are either referred or return for another stay. Ten minute walk to Samara central, on the beach. There is a small store and fish market in our neighborhood of Matapalo, along with fresh pastries and ceviche. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Fenix Hotel - On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fenix Hotel Playa Samara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fenix Hotel - On The Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.