We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite stop in Costa Rica” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fenix Hotel - On The Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Fenix Hotel - On The Beach to your Saves list
Fenix Hotel - On The Beach
100 Mts Sur de Pulperia Stephanie | Samara de Nicoya, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Playa Samara
Chicago
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our favorite stop in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

I spent eight days traveling throughout CR with a few friends staying in a different place each night. Our two nights in Samara being the only exception. Our hosts Bill and Phyllis were great, treating us like old friends from the moment we arrived after a long, hot, dusty day on motorcycles. Our comfort was their first concern and we were quickly shown our rooms and a tour of area. It may seem small but we really appreciated their "honor" system for purchasing beverages. The rooms were all within a few feet of the pool and the atmosphere was one that made it very easy to stand around and chat with other guests. If that's not your thing, you could kick back on a hammock or go for a swim on the fabulous beach. The sunsets were amazing. One of the guests in our group would have liked for there to be air conditioning but I never felt it to be an issue even though the temperatures were in the 90s on both days. Each day during our stay, a young man came around selling fresh pastries that were terrific, and added another positive memory.

This was my fourth trip to Costa Rica and, while I enjoyed many memorable stops, this is one place that I will be sure to return to.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    76
    3
    3
    5
See reviews for
144
154
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chorleywood, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

My husband and I spent two week at Fenix Hotel and had a very pleasant time. As we are both in our seventies we wanted a quiet hotel on the beach with pleasant walks and this was perfect for us. It is also ideal for families with young children as the beach is very safe, gently sloping and no currents.
Our hosts were very welcoming and very helpful in every way. The well equipped apartments are very close together and one needs to be prepared to chat and make friends which suited us. However in the garden there are tables and a barbecue and plenty of seating for sunbathing and quiet reading. We used to take our cups of tea to the beach as the sun rose and then in the evning a drink to watch the beautiul sunset.

The nearest shop is only a few minutes walk away and a 15 minutes walk along the beach takes you to the small town,with restaurants and two supermarkets.

We would very much recommend Fenix Hotel to anyone who would like a
quiet pleasant place on a beautiful beach where you can be sure of a friendly welcome.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

We have stayed here twice and both times have really enjoyed the setting, the well kept rooms, and the interesting people you meet. The hotel is intimate, the rooms are clean and spacious. The kitchen allows you the opportunity to cook if you don't like to eat out every night. Many people cook fish bought from the local fishermen caught that same day. This is a great place to stay for longer stays or with a family, we're recommending it our family. Samara offers plenty of activities or you can just relax in the shade and beach watch. Nearby Carrillo beach is one of the most beautiful beaches in Costa Rica. Phyllis & Bill are relaxed and attentive. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at the Fenix. Samara area was the highlight of our C.R. visit. For us the Hotel location was the perfect distance from town.. just a short beach walk and I liked that it was located in the palm trees next to a tiny fishing village.

I think the best paired guest to the Fenix is one whom is easy going and looking to avoid t.v, make a few meals on their own and stay on a natural beach setting.. rather than one who needs a large pool type of resort. The best for us was having the mini-kitchen that had EVERYTHING you needed/ utensil wise in order to make meals and coffee. I loved that there was even a pitcher so I could make my Sangria. The plastic items were a lil dated but that made us feel better about taking the cups down to the beach to enjoy our drinks while sitting on the cushioned lounge chairs or hammocks while enjoying amazing sunsets!

We felt like we were staying with a cool Aunt and Uncle in Costa Rica. Phylis was always checking in to assure we had everything, giving the local tide info and great tips on day trips. The hotels bodega was a nice touch, conveniently on site although we did not use it much, it was a NICE extra perk to know you can buy drinks which you may have forgotten and even borrow boogie boards for free. It is an older property with a smaller style pool but it was very clean and all we needed for a quick dip when the surf was looking rough one day.

While you stay here you will actually start waiting anxiously for the "vendors" to show up. That never happens anywhere, it does here! The ONLY Vendors on this side of the beach are the incredible pasty chef who comes by late mornings with an amazing fresh baked box of (some even hot) goods for sale, a ceviche vendor lady with yummy fresh lime goodness and a fisherman boy selling fresh caught whole and fillets if you want to grill yourself something on the Fenix's BBQ .

You will hear the surf and the Howler Monkeys from your room, Iguanas sun themselves on your roof and crawl by, the tides go in and out! Relax and Enjoy.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

Fenix on the Beach is a great place to stay. Situated on a lovely sand beach we enjoyed the beautiful sunsets. We had a lovely modern appartment and Phyllis was very helpful and welcoming. Lots of nice small restaurants nearby.I would definitely recommend a stay.
Jo, Switzerland

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallatin Co, MT
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

We stayed 6 nights and enjoyed the spacious, clean rooms with great kitchen facilities and comfortable beds. Beautiful, well-kept gardens; small, but clean and refreshing pool; excellent location right on the beach. Good Tico restaurant next door and the restaurants of the town of Samara within walking distance, as well as locally made morning pastries and ceviche available. Not your boring mega hotel, but an low-key, intimate location where the owner bends over backward to make your stay more enjoyable. Met some wonderful fellow travellers there.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

I am a single traveller who is on a work vacation, meaning I need to put in a few hours on the laptop a day while on vacation. I normally don't write these things but I stayed here for 10 days in January and liked it so much I came back for another week in Feb. I chose Samara and the Fenix because it is right on an excellent swimming beach (no rip tides) and for a novice surfer like me it has decent waves (if you're advanced you prob need to go elsewhere). The hotel is right on the beach too so - my requirments for my place was to be able to walk out the door and go swimming. But mostly, I found the Fenix to be ideal for solo working travellers - great 1MB internet that is working 99% of the time (rare in Central America), a nice communal feel to it - all the rooms surround a little refreshing pool and people take their tables outside, so it has the feel of a hostel where you can chat to your neighbours and not feel isolated like a normal hotel room. They have laptop sized safes which is reassuring. The kitchens have everything you need to prepare great meals as eating out alone is something I do rarely. The best part though is the owners. Very friendly and willing to do what it takes to make you feel at home - they lent me their soldering iron to repair my headphones, got me an extension cord so I could use my laptop outside, and even let me tag along to Nicoya one day so I could check out the town (plus also excellent local knowledge). As I solo traveller this place was perfect for me and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fenix Hotel - On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fenix Hotel - On The Beach

Address: 100 Mts Sur de Pulperia Stephanie | Samara de Nicoya, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Playa Samara
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five time winner of the Traveler's Choice Award in 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, and 2009! Beach-front hotel just footsteps from the ocean. Our front yard is sand. Three ranchos with palm trees provide plenty of shade. Hammocks, moveable sunbeds, small pool, gardens and BBQ complete our front yard. All of our rooms are comfortable and tropical with fully equipped kitchens. Each room has a separate bedroom. The deluxe room has AC and widescreen TV. Standard rooms have upper and lower screened windows and two ceiling fans. Most of our guests return or recommend their friends due to the comfort level. We have an honor system for beverages and free use of boogie boards. An enjoyable 15 minute walk to Samara Central on the beach. There is a small store and fish market in our neighborhood of Matapalo, along with local deliveries of fruits and ceviche. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fenix Hotel - On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fenix Hotel Playa Samara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fenix Hotel - On The Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.