We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Samara Tree House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Samara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Samara Tree House Inn
Save
You added Samara Tree House Inn to your Saves list
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   Playa Samara, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 27 Playa Samara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Montreal, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Loved the tree house. Great location, on the beach, near restaurants and right across is a grocery store.
Staff is nice and helpful.
Setting is amazing, from the pictures, what you see is what you get.
If you go during rainy season, there will be a lot of flying ants in your room t night, it you spray off 1/2hr before you go to bed, you will get rid of most of them.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    53
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
29
167
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

My review is a little late, had troubles with my Trip Advisor account.

This was our 2nd visit to Samara, we like it very much. When we were there last year we really liked the what we saw from the beach and thought that if we come back we should try it. Not that we didn't like where we stayed last year ( because we really did like it) but just to try. Because of a cancellation we were lucky to get room #3, it had the least obstruction to the ocean and beach.

We were there for 3 nights total. We arrived in the early afternoon, Heidi was there at the reception, greeted us, settle dour bill and showed us around. She is very friendly and helpful. I was not feeling well when we arrived, I was very dehydrated, Heidi pointed to the doctor in town and he gave me 2 bags of I.V. fluid and was OK in a couple of days! Thank you!☺

It was a one bedroom all wood paneling, kitchen, fridge stove, bathroom. It had all of the amenities you needed. The window facing the beach was great, you could see everything happening outside on the beach and we never closed the window, we just kept the fan on at night. It was enough. It was also great to fall asleep listening to the waves. The grounds are always well kept.

Under the room itself was a concrete pad with a table and chairs to have breakfast in the morning. It had a BBQ and 2 hammocks which was great for just hanging and doing some reading. The pool was very nice when you were hot to cool off. People were lounging around and talking with each other.

The staff were very friendly. You have the option of not have your room cleaned (which we did) for 3 days. To be a little more sustainable. We just asked for towels on the 2nd day.

You are very close to the center of town. There was a grocery store across the street if you really needed something, but a little expensive. There was a cheaper one through town.

I would definitely stay here again, it so convenient for everything.

Heidi was so kind to call the Ostional Reserve to see if the turtles were still coming ashore. They were still coming a shore but not in the large numbers. Heidi recommended that we try and be there for 6:00 p.m., so were decided to drive and have a look. Glad we did, it was awesome!! Thanks again!

If you decide to go, take the paved road instead of driving through town, you have to forge a river and the water may be a little high, as we found out. Also if you are not used to driving at night it could be a little nerve racking☺

Great experience, looking forward to going back!

Room Tip: We stayed in room #3. It had the best view. Unobstructed view to the ocean and beach. If you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Staying in Samara, and particularly at Samara Treehouse, was the highlight of our trip. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The location is perfect...right on the beach, by great restaurants and across the road from a convenience shop. I loved everything about the experience here, and will definitely be back...already making my plans.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi C, Manager at Samara Tree House Inn, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for the great review! I agree - I am recently back from a visit to the hotel and it is always a difficult place to leave! We hope to welcome you back again soon. Warmly, Heidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Nassau, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

This was our third time staying at the Tree House and it has the best location on the beach. The new owners are doing a great job and all the staff is wonderful. For anyone who has stayed there in the past, children are now allowed, it will be a major consideration for us in the future.

Room Tip: We love the pool room, it has a/c
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi C, Manager at Samara Tree House Inn, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you so much for the kind review! However, just to clarify regarding children at the hotel, our regular policy is that we can not accommodate children under the age of ten, as it is a small hotel and many of our guests are looking for a quiet stay. Thank you for returning to the Treehouse again, and we hope to welcome you back in the future! Warm regards, Heidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

This was our first night in Costa Rica. What a nice surprise. Clean, wonderful people and a big window view (with no glass) of the gorgeous coast. We immediately took naps in the hammocks hanging under our "tree house" and slept to the sound of the waves during this nap and later in our beds at night. The place is clean, artistic and so beautifully situated. One regret: only one night.

Room Tip: Make sure to request the view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi C, Manager at Samara Tree House Inn, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for the great review! We hope that you are able to stay for more than one night on your next visit! :-) Warm regards, Heidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Incredible place smack dab on the beautiful Samara Beach. Four tree houses and two apartments adjacent to the pool on ground level (for people like me who can't do stairs). All have the same basic layout. Fully equipped kitchen, nice lounging area, trippy bedroom, very nice bathrooms... your own hammocks outside, bbq and sink under your treehouse with bay windows that look out at the ocean and incredible sunsets. Great for people watching and body surfing. You are literally about ten steps to the sand and another ten to the cresting waves. Fantastic staff... thank you all for the most exquisite experience of all the hotels we stayed at. This was icing on the cake. The exteriors and interiors are so beautiful, the eye does not know where to look first. Each room is as if it were hand made. The attention to detail is extraordinary, the art work made me drool. In the heart of busy Samara beach, yet after 10PM all is quiet. Jeez... I could go on and on about this place. We simply loved everything about it! This is what makes unforgettable memories!

Room Tip: This place is always booked well in advance, so prepare early. Try to get any of the tree houses, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi C, Manager at Samara Tree House Inn, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Phil, thank you so much for the kind review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay, and yes, we have the best staff of any hotel that I know of in Samara!! :-) We hope to welcome you back again soon. Warm regards, Heidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

We LOVED our stay at Samara Tree House and would easily stay here again. The location is absolutely perfect as it is directly on the beach with a great open view of it. The area is completely gated. The woodwork is beautiful. The tree house comes with a full kitchen with everything you would need and a large fridge (but not full size). There is no air conditioning but there are 3 fans in the bedroom and one in the livingroom. Breakfast is served for you in your own eating area below your tree house. Pool and grounds are looked after daily. There is also security overnight. You can walk anywhere you need in Samara.

Restaurants we would recommend are : Coco's Mexican Restaurant & Esmerelda's. YUM!!!!!!
Ps. Take a drive to Carillo. Beautiful beach there as well.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi C, Manager at Samara Tree House Inn, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you so much for the generous review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Treehouse and hope to welcome you back again soon! Warmly, Heidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Samara Tree House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samara Tree House Inn

Address: Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Samara Tree House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Samara Tree House Inn. We offer six luxury tree house style apartments right in the heart of Samara Village. We are located directly ON the beach and in the middle of town, close to numerous activities, shops and restaurants, including surf rentals and lessons next door. These charming tropical hardwood units all have WiFi and are situated amongst beautiful tropical gardens and an idyllic pool with a shallow area for sun tanning while partly submerged in the water. Wake up every morning to breakfast, the sound of the waves, and the cool breeze of the ocean. Don’t walk by and wish you had stayed here. DO stay here! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Samara Tree House Hotel Playa Samara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samara Tree House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.