We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Came for 1 night --- stayed for 2” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara to your Saves list
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Samara, Playa Samara, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pasadena, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Came for 1 night --- stayed for 2”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

It's a great place at a reasonable price. The grounds are beautifully maintained. My room in the new building was fine and comfortable. Good TV and coffee maker. Everything was fine except the seriously eroded and deeply rutted driveway. (it really should be paved!!). Otherwise great. The full breakfasts were tasty and more than ample. Price was $45.00 per night. Just a couple of blocks from the beach. I planned to stay just 1 night but it was so nice that I stayed 2 nights. I'll be back for a more extended stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    47
    7
    4
    5
See reviews for
51
94
24
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

This clean and friendly hotel is situated just a couple of blocks from the beach away from all the evening hulabaloo in Samara. A quick walk to the beach or restaurants. The room was clean and air conditioned...the pool was crystal clear, cool and refreshing. Plenty of towels available, wireless internet available for free if you find a spot close to the office and breakfast includede with the room. I'd stay here again great value for the price. If you have "mobility" issues you might not like the steps or slippery walks to get to the rooms...but otherwise this multi-lingual/multi-cultural spot worked for me.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2009

Some people like it, but we positively had the worst night here and I can't recommend the place at all.
In the midst of dry season heat our air con failed and there was no one at reception at night who could help us to fix it. Our bathroom smelled rather badly of excrements and the whole place has a retro feel.

The breakfast served had definitely seen better days. The butter had a deep shade of yellow and was off. The bread and jam tasted super artifical.

But then its kind of cheap and when the air con works you may not feel as bad as we did. Personally I prefer Hotel Giada, which is a few minutes closer to town...

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michaela52, Inhaber at Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara, responded to this review, September 10, 2011
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your review at Tripadvisor,we welcomw every review.
You stayed in the High Season in the Hotel If an AC gets broken at night ,in Costa Rica you cant get imediately somebody who fix things ,and if there was another room available we offered the room to the Guests.But whenthe place its booked,the only thing you can do is offering an discount,i am sure we did that,when you think our breakfast is artificial ,like you wrote,i really dont know where you had breakfast ,we have many guests,they love our breakfast,but anyway,you didnt,so we will work to do things better.
Thank you very much.
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2009

This hotel was great. It was super clean and fresh and bright. It has 2 different buildings. The main building has the lobby, a pool and the restaurant. Then down the road is another building with like 8 rooms 4 on each level and a pool. We stayed in that building. It was great. The pool was awesome. My son could go swimming and we watched from our small porch.

It was about a 10 minute walk to the town and beach. We felt super safe walking at night.

The breakfast was really nice. We liked how they had a honesty bar at the pool with cold soda and beer. You just write down what you took and what your room is and they charge it to your room.

This was the first hotel in our whole trip that had air. But watch out if you leave on at night it can get really cold.

We loved here and will stay again.

  • Liked — Everthing
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2008

Belvedere's website claims it is "only 2 min. walking distance from the beach" and has "a breath-taking view over the whole bay". Actually, it's several blocks from beach, restaurants, and shops, and the last 2 blocks I walked when returning for the evening were quite deserted, except for the young drunk men. Not what a woman travelling alone looks for in a hotel....

There is a view of the ocean from the upper front room where breakfast is served, after which your view is restricted to the pool (which is fine, but not what I'd anticipated from their website's description). The aircon was extremely loud and not very effective, the tv remote didn't work, and there was an extra charge for using the key to the room safe. The breakfast was lovely, with several nice choices available.

I enjoyed Samara, and happily spent a few more days at another hotel that really was "2 min. walking distance from the beach", close to everything, offered beach towels and a combination room safe at no extra cost, and had effective aircon and a lovely breakfast, all for roughly the same price.

  • Liked — breakfast with a view
  • Disliked — found better value, comfort, and location elsewhere
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2008

Very nice garden and the rooms are clean.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2008

My wife and I stayed here for a week over New Years with four children. We had two rooms right by the pool. The hotelier is German, speaks fair English, and was distant but helpful.

Arriving at the Belvedere is a little intimidating as you go up a short dirt road, making you think "uh oh". But the place itself is nice, especially the second building by the pool. As always in CR, we met a lot of people from all over. The kids enjoyed the troop of monkeys that were hanging around near the pool.

The rooms were clean and adequate, and were serviced everyday. Beer and soda are in an outside unlocked refrigerator, and you bought them on the honor system. Breakfast, included, is very pleasant on a porch with a view of the ocean.

The beach is a five or six minute walk, and is just awesome, a really excellent family beach. There are plenty of restaurants of all price ranges nearby. There is one ATM machine in Samara, at the bank, and beware that sometimes it runs out of money at night. There is a nice little grocery store near the beach. There is a terrific American educated doctor in town, as we discovered after one of the girls stepped on a sting ray in Nosara.

Samara is a great town, and it will take you about 2 minutes to see the entire commercial district. I will say that on a holiday night (New Years Eve) I was a little nervous about walking our four teen age daughters from the beach back to the hotel, as there were more than a few drunken young guys on the streets, but that is common anywhere.

I found Samara by using Google Earth. I was using it to fly up the Pacific coast of CR, and I saw these two beautiful half moon bays next to each other, and I decided that it would be a great place to vacation. Turned out to be true.

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara

Address: Playa Samara, Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Playa Samara
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Belvedere Playa Samara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.