We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, great location, fantastic management.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara to your Saves list
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Samara, Playa Samara, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very clean, great location, fantastic management.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Everything is great here. Places are spotless, pool is great and so its very flowery surrounding the areas around the pool. Located a tad away from the beach (like 3-4 min walk). Right in town, yet quiet. Very very recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The Belvedere Hotel is a wonderful place to stay! Impeccably clean, spacious, comfortable rooms. Very close to downtown Samara and Playa Samara, and yet you feel that you are staying in the middle of a lush jungle. Michelle and Manfred have created a little paradise on the hill above town!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, ont
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Friendliest owners, Manfred and Michaela. They are very hardworking and always smiling, to make sure that your stay is a great one. Everything is super clean. Beautiful pool and grounds wonderfully maintained. Very quiet but also in central location, 5 minute walk to the beach. And Samara has miles and miles of beautiful beach and is one of the safest beaches in Costa Rica....no rip tides like many other beaches! Learn to surf in Samara, or enjoy a wide variety of trips also available in Samara, without it being very touristy!
Their prices are very reasonable in comparison to other hotels. Best value. We highly recommend this hotel.
Rick and Hania

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hania G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Located on the edge of Playa Samara the Belvedere was a peaceful place to stop. It was spotlessly clean and our room was ready despite an early arrival. Our room opened on to a small patio and then straight into the pool. Room had a fridge, hairdryer and coffee maker. The owners were welcoming and helpful even providing glue to mend my husbands trainers. It was nice to have freshly prepared breakfasts rather than buffet style. The hotel is in 2 parts with 2 pools so there were just 11 rooms using our pool. 5 minutes walk to the beach in 32f is quite hard work so we found it easier to drive to the next beach, Playa Carrillo, where you can park on the edge of the sand and swim. 4 days here was just the tonic we needed. Beware mosquitos.

Room Tip: Rooms 15 - 19 have direct access to the pool and a small patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiden, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This place was a gem. We made our booking by e-mail the day before our arrival, and everything was ready for us on arrival.
Our room had been very lovingly prepared, and was very clean and comfortable. Michaela and Ralf (the German owners) were very attentive to our needs and you can tell that they both work extremely hard to make this hotel the success that it is.
Breakfast was excellent, served in a terrace at the top of the hotel complex with nice views over the Pacific.
The hotel is ideally situated, just a couple of hundred metres from the beach but still away from the main street which would certainly have been noisier.
The hotel has a nice pool and also offers a laundry service.
All in all, a great place to stay in what was probably the nicest town we stayed in during our holiday.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 14.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trollhättan Sweden
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This family-driven Hotel Belvedere has a "soul" created by the owners, Mikaela and Manfred.
Rooms, garden, pool, the five minutes walking distance to village and sea is perfect. The self-
-service bar "Trust and Karma" makes a feeling you belong to the family!

Leif, Sweden

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leif505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I stayed just for 1 night, but as soon as I arrived I got a really clear idea of the kind of hotel I was. Great staff, great breakfast, great price too. The owners attended me at the reception and guided me to my room, which by the way is right in front of the pool. The room was very clean, the bed was perfectly accommodated, it even had some flower petals on top.The whole room had an spring odor and that is really difficult to find. The bathroom had an odor sprayer, details like this would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Samara. Perfectly located just 100 mts from the bus stop and just 2 minutes from the beach. This is the kind of hotel that you really feel welcome and willing to come back again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
1.2 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 15 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 stars 659 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#12 of 15 in Playa Samara
3.5 of 5 stars 518 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#6 of 15 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 stars 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#4 of 15 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Flying Crocodile
Hotel Flying Crocodile
#5 of 15 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Samara Beach
Hotel Samara Beach
#11 of 15 in Playa Samara
3.5 of 5 stars 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara

Address: Playa Samara, Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Playa Samara
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Belvedere Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing