We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara

Save Saved
You added Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Samara, Playa Samara, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 15 hotels in Playa Samara
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Peaceful and welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Located on the edge of Playa Samara the Belvedere was a peaceful place to stop. It was spotlessly clean and our room was ready despite an early arrival. Our room opened on to a small patio and then straight into the pool. Room had a fridge, hairdryer and coffee maker. The owners were welcoming and helpful even providing glue to mend my husbands trainers. It was nice to have freshly prepared breakfasts rather than buffet style. The hotel is in 2 parts with 2 pools so there were just 11 rooms using our pool. 5 minutes walk to the beach in 32f is quite hard work so we found it easier to drive to the next beach, Playa Carrillo, where you can park on the edge of the sand and swim. 4 days here was just the tonic we needed. Beware mosquitos.

Room Tip: Rooms 15 - 19 have direct access to the pool and a small patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    38
    6
    3
    5
See reviews for
38
81
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Heiden, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This place was a gem. We made our booking by e-mail the day before our arrival, and everything was ready for us on arrival.
Our room had been very lovingly prepared, and was very clean and comfortable. Michaela and Ralf (the German owners) were very attentive to our needs and you can tell that they both work extremely hard to make this hotel the success that it is.
Breakfast was excellent, served in a terrace at the top of the hotel complex with nice views over the Pacific.
The hotel is ideally situated, just a couple of hundred metres from the beach but still away from the main street which would certainly have been noisier.
The hotel has a nice pool and also offers a laundry service.
All in all, a great place to stay in what was probably the nicest town we stayed in during our holiday.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 14.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trollhättan Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This family-driven Hotel Belvedere has a "soul" created by the owners, Mikaela and Manfred.
Rooms, garden, pool, the five minutes walking distance to village and sea is perfect. The self-
-service bar "Trust and Karma" makes a feeling you belong to the family!

Leif, Sweden

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I stayed just for 1 night, but as soon as I arrived I got a really clear idea of the kind of hotel I was. Great staff, great breakfast, great price too. The owners attended me at the reception and guided me to my room, which by the way is right in front of the pool. The room was very clean, the bed was perfectly accommodated, it even had some flower petals on top.The whole room had an spring odor and that is really difficult to find. The bathroom had an odor sprayer, details like this would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Samara. Perfectly located just 100 mts from the bus stop and just 2 minutes from the beach. This is the kind of hotel that you really feel welcome and willing to come back again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I was thrilled to find Hotel Belvedere! My room was charming and spotless. The owners and staff were very kind and helpful. I think my favorite part was the great breakfast, served in an outdoor dinning room with a great view of the ocean.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yucaipa, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

The hotel is in a great location - close enough to walk to the small town or beach yet just enough distance for peaceful reflection in the morning and evening. The setting is just what I wanted - in the middle of gorgeous jungle plants/trees and flowers with occasional visits by raucous monkeys and shy iguanas!
Hotel Belvedere is very lovely and the owners (Manfred and Michaela) are friendly and kind - taking great care to make sure their guests are happy and satisified.
The two pools are lovely, the grounds are clean, and the rooms are immaculate. Breakfast was wonderfully delicious (fresh picked fruit every morning) and the dining room - set on the second floor - has a marvelous view of the town and and the Pacific Ocean.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Hotel is just up the hill from the beach, which makes it very quiet and tranquil. Yet, the beach and restaurants are an easy and quick walk.

The room was clean with a refrigerator and air-conditioning. The breakfast was delicious, with a menu that you could choose from several freshly prepared items. The breakfast room had a nice view. Both pools were very pretty and refreshing. There was also an honor bar for $1 beers.

The hosts were very kind and accommodating. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Guidebooks seem to say to choose a room in the new wing, but the ones in the original wing appear to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara

Address: Playa Samara, Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Samara
#3 Family Hotel in Playa Samara
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Belvedere Playa Samara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.