We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoy , enjoy , enjoy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara to your Saves list
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Samara, Playa Samara, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Playa Samara
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
“enjoy , enjoy , enjoy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Beautiful and quiet Hotel 200 meters from the beach. Walking distance to the village.
Nice rooms with private bath, hot shower, a/c, refrigerator and safety box. Each room has his own little garden. Huge swimming pool, jacuzzi and community terraces surrounded by a lush tropical garden.Amazing custom decoration everywhere. Delicious breakfast with coffee, orange juice, fruits , eggs, gallo pinto , muesli ........
You will notice that the owners are always around and looking that everthing is perfect.
They are always available to their hotel clients . If you are looking for a quiet and lovely place in Samara - go there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    40
    6
    4
    5
See reviews for
44
84
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

The hotel is situated slighly elevated at the border of the town but you can reach the beach on foot in 5min. The staff is very friendly and competent. Breakfast is served (no buffet) but there is always plenty to eat. Therefore there is nothing to complain about.
Considering the room however, which was clean and nicely decorated on arrival, I was a little bit disappointed. The A/C was working and it was clean, but compared to the rooms of the other members of our group the room was more a hole than a room. Not enough place to open my suitcase, only if I put it on the bed. The bathroom was also tiny and there was no fridge and no safe in the room neither. I could however deposit my valuables at the reception.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

This is a good budget hotel with a lot of facilities and very solid round experience. The rooms were clean and airy enough with a well functioning air conditioning (rare place where the air conditioning is placed in a way that you don't get ill). The hotel provides breakfast on a lovely veranda with a great view and a very nice pool which is large enough to swim in and has lounge chairs around it to catch some sun.
The location is slightly away from the main street which is probably not bad for a good night sleep. Samara is tiny so it is still within 10 minutes walk of all restaurants.
It is not located on the beach though, the beach is about 10 minutes walk through the city.

The wifi is available in the hotel although like in a majority of places, the signal was not strong enough to catch in the room. There was always a possibility to sit near the pool which had plenty of chairs and tables and where the signal would work well.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Wow , thinking back to the month we spent at this fabulous Hotel ,I find myself running out of superlatives to lavish on this place . Michaela and Manfred, the owners of this special Hotel , have created a little Paradise . We rented one of the appartments , which was great for an extended stay, and just drifted into ecstasy . I would like to say thank you so much Manfred and Michaela for one of the best "Overwinterings" we have ever had !

Viva la Pura Vida at Hotel Belvedere !!!!!!!!!

Lee Morris , The Netherlands .

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

My wife and I have been regular visitors to Samara staying at the Hotel Belvedere for at least a month for the past 10 years. Each year we find the hotel just as charming as it was on our first visity. Michaela and Manfred work very hard to maintain a very high standards and still manage to create a relaxing atmosphere. Indeed, it is difficult not to relax and feel completely at ease when surrounded by beautiful gardens and have the use of two large clean pools. There is also a huge breakfast in a casual setting overlooking the bay. The hotel is a short walk to the lovely beach of Samara. We look forward to many years of enjoying the Belvedere experience! Well done Michaela and Manfred!!
Dave and Liz, Windsor, Canada

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

This very friendly family hotel is everything you need for a holiday,. We had a lovely room overlooking the luscious and well maintained tropical gardens. The pool was very clean with plenty of shade. From here you can hear the waves crashing on the beach. You can reach this beautiful beach full of waving palmtrees within 5 minutes. We stayed at this hotel for 4 weeks and i could have stayed easily another 4 weeks.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homburg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012 via mobile

....ask for rooms in Belvedere II (new hotel)...great rooms, great breakfast, great services, good beds, wonderful garden areal, cosy atmosphere........................................................................?.........................................................?......................................................................

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara

Address: Playa Samara, Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa Samara
#4 Family Hotel in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Belvedere Playa Samara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.