We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy Villas Kalimba” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas Kalimba

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Samara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villas Kalimba
Save
You added Villas Kalimba to your Saves list
Playa Samara, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 27 Playa Samara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Enjoy Villas Kalimba”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Just returned from a very enjoyable week's stay at Villas Kalimba. We stayed in a well appointed pool-side, self contained, 2 bedroom villa which was very comfortable. The swimming pool and its surrounds are attractively landscaped with an abundance of luxurious tropical plants. The staff are very friendly and Roberto is always cheerful and ready to help the guests in any way he can. The visit was for our son's beach wedding with the reception held in the pool-side dining area and catered by Roberto, in excellent style, to everyone's satisfaction.
A choice of bars and beach restaurants is available across the street with the walk to the beach being, perhaps, 50 or 60 meters!

Room Tip: Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    65
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
272
141
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We spent three nights at the Villas Kalimba last week. The villas are made up of six adorable, well-appointed cottages situated around an enticing and attractive swimming pool. The service was stellar especially from Diego, the front desk clerk. The owner, Roberto, enjoys cooking so he occasionally cooks for villa guests. The dinner he made during our stay was magnificent. The starters alone rivaled any cruise ship dinner I've ever had in presentation and taste. The main course, pasta with shrimp and asparagus, was also wonderful. My husband and I would definitely stay at Villas Kalimba again!

Room Tip: I was only in our villa, but I would guess there is no advantage to one of these villas over any oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Beautiful accommodations and wonderful staff that will go the extra distance to ensure you all have a great time. The Bruga villa was gorgeous, with a great private pool and garden - a tremendous value. The weather was predictably awesome every day. A big thank you to Roberto, Diego, and Mario - we miss you guys! Ivonne, Jonathan & family

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No. California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We loved Villa Kamar. It's huge! Our own private family compound, with privacy security walls, and gates, we didn't have to worry about our vehicle or belongings. This villa is right next door to Villas Kalimba and managed by them. 5 bedrooms, 5 bathrooms with true indoor/outdoor living and a private pool. We had maid and pool service every day and were right across the street from the beach. Minutes to everything, markets, shops, restaurants. You can't go wrong with this place and we were so sad to leave. Diego and Roberto took excellent care of us and answered any questions we had immediately. No negatives about this place at all. Book it!

Excellent closet space in each room with great bathrooms/showers. All rooms opened to the pool. All bedrooms had ceiling fans and a/c.
This was the first family trip, (with my parents, my hubby and I, my sister and a friend), that we have ever taken. It was so much more relaxing than descending on some poor family members house for the holidays! Everyone pitched in, but no one had to do much, or have all the stress of incoming family. I think this is how we'll do it in the future and this was a great place to have a get together! The only trouble we had was that Samara is a little hotter than some of us handle well. The pool was a great place to cool off, but just be aware - Playa Samara is hot!
As an extra - I lost my camera somewhere in Playa Samara. I emailed Villas Kalimba to see if it had shown up there, that maybe I had just missed it when packing. They didn't have it, but Diego even went to the local police station for us to see if it had shown up! I have never had someone go so out of the way for me before. Incredible! Thank you Diego - you're awesome!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Five couples just returned from Costa Rica. After an eight day tour we wanted a place to unwind. We could not have picked a better place to stay. Samara is a very nice beach town. Everyone is so nice. Staying at Villa Kalimba was like having your own private resort. There is a pool that is shared with only six villas and the beach is across the street. Everything is convenient and within walking distance. Roberto,the owner, is a wonderful person. Roberto and his staff treat you like you have known them for a long time. We were lucky enough to have dinner that Roberto prepared one evening. It was fantastic. We had risotto with seafood. Wish I could cook like that. After staying there for a few nights, I know we picked the best place in Samara to complete our vacation.There were monkeys in the trees behind the property every evening. Birds and iquanas were always present. What a great place. It was really hard to leave and go elsewhere. Thanks to Roberto, Diego and the rest of the staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Our stay in Villas Kalimba was fantastic.Roberto and his staff are the most hospitable.that is why we keep coming back year after year.The weather is great.The people you meet are from all around the world.Cant wait to go back.ciao john

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

The lush tropical landscaping around the villas and pool make this place a dreamy oasis. It is on a street lined with bars, restaurants, grocery stores - but as soon as you enter the gate you are in a tropical retreat. The large pool is beautifully landscaped with large rocks and palms, and it is clean and refreshing. During our stay we met interesting and friendly (but quiet) guests from around the world. The rooms are well thought out, each villa's dining area is outside which is lovely; air con, overhead fan, hot water and good wifi are welcome perks in Samara. I think this accommodation would be particularly wonderful for families with young children or two couples traveling together. In our case, we were just one couple so we didn't make as much use of the eat-in facilities as a family might. But we enjoyed the proximity to the beach, the beautiful landscaping, and the nearby natural center with its organic produce, yoga class and refreshing fruit and veggie coolers. Altogether, a very satisfying stay in Samara.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas Kalimba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Kalimba

Address: Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are just steps away from one of the most beautiful beaches on the Pacific Ocean and within easy walking distance to restaurants, bars, shops, grocery, and other services. Our villas feature fully equipped kitchens, air conditioning, cable TV, telephone, internet connection, in-room safes, and 24 hour security. We offer a perfect and safe place from which to explore the many attractions of the area, or for relaxing in the swimming pool and inviting jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villas Kalimba Hotel Playa Samara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas Kalimba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.