We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheriff Rustic

Sheriff Rustic
on the beach at the end of Main Street | near Chocco's and the police station, Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 47 Restaurants in Playa Samara
Cuisines: Costa Rican
Restaurant details
Rainbow City, Alabama
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great local food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Prices are reasonable. Right on the beach . Watch the surfers do their thing as well as teach students to surf. That's a hoot! Breakfast is really good as well.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    15
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Inexpensive, tasty and beautiful view of beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We were looking for comida tipica food in Samara,simple, clean and tasty and we found it here. Delicious casado vegetariano with views of the beach. Recommended! Only wish they were open for dinners...

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food in an interesting atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Sheriff Rustic is a nice little beach restaurant located in Samara Beach. It is open every day from 7AM to 5PM. The food is excellent and the prices are very reasonable. The staff is very nice and the service is great. They have great fresh fish at very reasonable prices. While not fancy, there is something about the atmosphere which is very relaxing and friendly. Of course, the view of the beach is great. This is one of my favorite restaurants. I recommend it to you and plan to return soon.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Simple soda with fresh good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We lunched at Sherrif several times, liking its beach location and fair prices as well as the tasty food. Fried rice with camarones (shrimps), French fries, pineapple smoothies were good but the Vegetarian Casado was the best I had in our 2 weeks in Costa Rica.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great breakfast for a great price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Started hunting for breakfast a little late, so I wasn't in the mood to look forever for a place, but I also wasn't interested in paying a ton of cash for the first place we could find on the beach. We saw Sheriff Rustic and took a chance. It was stellar!

I had the pinto gallo with eggs and tomato. Good sized portion that was delicious. The orange juice was a huge glass. The coffee was nice and strong. Service was remarkably good for Samara. And the four of us got out of there for less than $30.

I'm going back again to this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sheriff Rustic also viewed

Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Sheriff Rustic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheriff Rustic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.