We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view was breathtaking.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa del Mar Samara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Casa del Mar Samara to your Saves list
Hotel Casa del Mar Samara
50 mt Este de la Escuela de Samara | Playa Sámara,Guanacaste., Playa Samara, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 27 Playa Samara B&B and Inns
King, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The view was breathtaking.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

We stayed at the Hotel Casa del Mar for two nights while we were at Playa Samara. This was a reasonably priced room with a communal bathroom/shower. The room was small with no air conditioning but the ceiling fan provided enough cool air at night to be comfortable. There was a porch with chairs where you could sit and watch the people and the ocean. The pool was small but felt good after a hot day on the beach. The staff was very helpful and courteous. The room was very clean as well as the bathroom. I would recommend them to anyone wanting to stay on the beach. Very affordable.

Room Tip: Don't let the communal bathroom scare you away. It is very clean and convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    5
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
new york
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

We found Casa del Mar by accident and it turned out to be a great stroke of luck! We loved it (and the surrounding area) so much, we extended our stay by two nights! The staff was friendly and helpful, the breakfast hot, fresh, abundant and delicious, the rooms and common areas were spotless (someone was always cleaning something!), the a/c was cold, the water was hot, and the location right across from LoQue Hay and the beach was fantastic! What else could you ask for? ! If (when) we go back to Samara, we will certainly stay at Hotel Casa del Mar again. (NOTE... please remember where you are- this is not the Holiday Inn in a big city in the US - yes....we did find a few ant-like creatures in the room and yes, the water pressure could have been stronger and the beds softer - but remember- you are in a small beach town in Costa Rica! If you want fancy, go to Hawaii!! ) As local bed and breakfasts go- this was perfect!

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015 via mobile

Love this place! Staff is very friendly, breakfast is great in the morning, awesome hang out spots in the center garden or on the balcony. Rooms are nice and neat, nothing fancy. Shared bathroom, but never had to wait or even saw another person on our floor. Can't wait to come back and stay here!!

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

The beds are very comfortable, A/C which is a luxury, a pool and breakfast. There is a sweet courtyard where guests can hang out and the hotel provides cushions that the guests can take to the beach to sit on. Very accommodating and friendly

Room Tip: I think they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

Casa has a great location directly across from the beach and very near several restaurants. We enjoyed the falafel place and smoothie bar around the corner. There are two beach restaurants nearby though one is on the pricey side. The hotel itself is clean and modern with a friendly staff. We chose the breakfast ($5 per day per person) in addition. The breakfast included fresh fruit and eggs or cereal. In life, the little things matter; the housekeeper folded my partners nightgown while we were away. A fantastic value!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015 via mobile

This was a perfect place for us in samara. The beach is right across the street. The rooms were always clean and the AC works well! Which was important for us and our 10 month old. The owners were always helpful. The location is key there. No thrills but definitely worth it's value. We will definitely be back to stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

We stayed at the Hotel Casa del Mar in Samara for 3 nights. This is certainly one of the cleanest and most carefully maintained hotels I've experienced. Located right in the middle of the bustle of beachfront Samara, this little gem of an oasis has the most courteous and helpful staff and ambiance. There is always someone quietly tending or cleaning the courtyard and the pleasant open air lobby. This place is immaculate, the breakfast is delicious and plentiful. The American breakfast included a ridiculously huge pile of bacon, some of the best fruit we had in Costa Rica, (and that's saying something), and fresh, local eggs. The rooms here are spacious, spotless, bright and airy. The wifi worked the entire time, (only place in CR we stayed that did)... It was so nice just to pop across the street to the "tiki bars and the GORGEOUS beach. It took us a day to figure out that there are wooden lounge chairs reserved for hotel guests right next to the fun little cafe/bar across the street. It's also really fun how much of a community vibe there is here. We found an endless stream of helpful suggestions and tips from locals, other guests and the staff. The best tour of our trip hands down, was the Jungle Waterfall Hike offered by Mystic Tours. If you want an incredible "real" Costa Rica experience (not at all commercialized), take this tour!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Casa del Mar Samara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa del Mar Samara

Address: 50 mt Este de la Escuela de Samara | Playa Sámara,Guanacaste., Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful, quaint Bed & Breakfast on the breathtaking Guanacaste Coast, Costa Rica. We offer rooms to fit any traveler's needs; from back-packer style rooms with shared bath to fancier rooms for a couple or family. No matter what kind of room you choose you can count on it being clean and our staff to be friendly! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Casa del Mar Samara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa del Mar Samara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.