We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa del Mar Samara

Save Saved
You added Hotel Casa del Mar Samara to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Casa del Mar Samara
50 mt Este de la Escuela de Samara | Playa Sámara,Guanacaste., Playa Samara, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 23 Playa Samara B&B and Inns
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We did a room w/o A/C and a shared bathroom but had an ocean view with no extra cost to have that ocean view! If you want a quieter room and one with your own bath and with A/C you'll be further in the back of the place and NO ocean view.
The staff was SUPER friendly.
Great restaurant right across the street ON the beach.
Safe parking inside a gated area.
Easy beach access…chairs included.
Grocery store right next door.
If I am ever back in Samara, this is where I will stay, for sure.

Room Tip: We did a room w/o A/C and a shared bathroom but had an ocean view with no extra cost to have that oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    36
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
52
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This is a nice little hotel that costs very little to stay in. If you're looking for a five star experience with tons of luxuries, this isn't the right place for you, but if you're looking for a pleasant, quiet place to rest at night, this one is great. The staff is helpful and friendly and the price is right, and I had a great time using this as my base of operations for my travels around Samara.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

After exhaustive research on Costa Rica in general and Playa Samara in particular, we stopped by this fantastically clean & friendly B&B, and booked the rest of our stay here. Every single detail exceeded our highest expectations.
Our first contact, Laura from Lake Como, who serves as the weekend receptionist, charmed my husband by showing the very best room 19, a perfect match for our need to sleep 3. The view of the pounding surf directly across the very lightly trafficked street, the crisp, white linens, the polished natural wood floors, and for my traveling companions, a softly humming efficient air conditioner sealed the deal. For me, the daily hot breakfast, refreshing large whirlpool, free beach loungers with comfy pads, and breathtakingly beautiful views were icing on the cake. Our traveling companion, Tawnya, delighted to the sassy rescued parrot in residence, Bella, who slyly imitated the guests who graced her presence.
The gracious hosts were continuously working hard to keep Casa Del Mar in perfect condition, We even shared a game of Euchre with the retired owner, who claimed he hadn't played in45 years then proceeded to beat my girlfriend and I with the help of my husband and a mischievous twinkle in his eye! Meanwhile the ever smiling, ambitious staff primped and cleaned all day long. The breakfast ladies served up fresh and delicious hot breakfast choices and the coffee pot was always percolating.
I cannot forget to mention the rest if the reception crew who unfailingly answered our every question and shared their local knowledge and tips, guiding us down a nearby path to a small, open air tico cafe where we enjoyed the best ceviche of our lives!
Just next door down is a local grocery where we found reasonably priced snacks, wine, and other sundries. Less than a block's walk to town brought us to the colorful, sleepy main street where we enjoyed shopping, restaurants, and the ATM (which surprisingly dispensed both local currency and American dollars accepted everywhere.)
The beach in front surely one of the prettiest ever, graced with tall, shade giving palms, powdery fine sand, gently rolling waves safe for all ages and beloved by local surfers each afternoon as the tide rolls in.
In the breezy lobby there is a cooler filled with beer and sodas for very low prices available all day long. Beach towels also provided so no need to pack or purchase. The wi-fi signal was strong throughout and a decent sized fridge is in each room. If I have missed any small detail, feel free to email me a question.
Hotel Casa del Mar ought be on everyone's bucket list, especially those looking to completely decompress. As the locals say, "Pura Vida!"

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We'd made a reservation at the hotel so you'd think they'd be expecting us. We arrived at the hotel early around 11:00am and we told our rooms would only be ready for 2:00 which is check in time. When we went back at 2:00pm our rooms were still not ready. The cleaning staff are the same that run the kitchen and guess they were quite busy for breakfast so they hadn't had time to do out room. At the price we pay $85 per night you'd think they would have more staff to have rooms ready on time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Best location in town, SERIOUS. Great value, fantastic cleaning, joyful people.

All around, pretty much one of the most enjoyable for a good price. Not luxury though, but has everything you need for sure. My fav spot.

Room Tip: I personally like the upper floor. Who doesnt?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Perfect choice in Samara! My husband & I were in room 5 (shared bathroom) and it was absolutely perfect value for being right on the beach. Exotic bird chirping woke us up to tender morning light, a couple of minutes later we were on the beach for a morning swim!
Great breakfast, awesome service, friendly staff... Don't hesitate!

Room Tip: # 5 doesn't have a bathroom, but does have a sink & mirror. 1 queen, 1 double. we really enj...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Excellent choice for playa Samara in Costa Rica. I loved the place.
The staff is excellent, spoke english, assisted with everything I needed. This place houses a cold water jackuzzi. In front of every room it had a mini hammock with some chairs and a table. Rooms are great, air conditioner, private bath, the best stay in Costa Rica during my trip. There is a parking lot which belongs to the hotel right across fromt he street, with private passage to the beach. Few options of the restaraunts in front and around the hotel. Town or should i say, a village, is withing 50 meteres away, practically u staying in downtown of Samara. Few banks, also be aware that BCR ( one of the banks) was not able complete my withdrawing transactions, no idea why. Second one.
In hotel i learned that as long as there are Cirrus sign on the bank of your convenience and credit card, you are good. Majority of Eurpean cards with Maestro signs was denied.
Returning back to the hotel, there is a few options you can have. With our without air conditioner and the breakfast. I paid 85 dollars for private bath, air conditioner and breakfast included room. And like i've mentioned i had the best time of my life

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Casa del Mar Samara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa del Mar Samara

Address: 50 mt Este de la Escuela de Samara | Playa Sámara,Guanacaste., Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful, quaint Bed & Breakfast on the breathtaking Guanacaste Coast, Costa Rica. We offer rooms to fit any traveler's needs; from back-packer style rooms with shared bath to fancier rooms for a couple or family. No matter what kind of room you choose you can count on it being clean and our staff to be friendly! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Casa del Mar Samara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa del Mar Samara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.