We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but poor customer service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa del Mar Samara

Save Saved
You added Hotel Casa del Mar Samara to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Casa del Mar Samara
50 mt Este de la Escuela de Samara | Playa Sámara,Guanacaste., Playa Samara, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location but poor customer service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We'd made a reservation at the hotel so you'd think they'd be expecting us. We arrived at the hotel early around 11:00am and we told our rooms would only be ready for 2:00 which is check in time. When we went back at 2:00pm our rooms were still not ready. The cleaning staff are the same that run the kitchen and guess they were quite busy for breakfast so they hadn't had time to do out room. At the price we pay $85 per night you'd think they would have more staff to have rooms ready on time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    34
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
51
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Best location in town, SERIOUS. Great value, fantastic cleaning, joyful people.

All around, pretty much one of the most enjoyable for a good price. Not luxury though, but has everything you need for sure. My fav spot.

Room Tip: I personally like the upper floor. Who doesnt?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Perfect choice in Samara! My husband & I were in room 5 (shared bathroom) and it was absolutely perfect value for being right on the beach. Exotic bird chirping woke us up to tender morning light, a couple of minutes later we were on the beach for a morning swim!
Great breakfast, awesome service, friendly staff... Don't hesitate!

Room Tip: # 5 doesn't have a bathroom, but does have a sink & mirror. 1 queen, 1 double. we really enj...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Excellent choice for playa Samara in Costa Rica. I loved the place.
The staff is excellent, spoke english, assisted with everything I needed. This place houses a cold water jackuzzi. In front of every room it had a mini hammock with some chairs and a table. Rooms are great, air conditioner, private bath, the best stay in Costa Rica during my trip. There is a parking lot which belongs to the hotel right across fromt he street, with private passage to the beach. Few options of the restaraunts in front and around the hotel. Town or should i say, a village, is withing 50 meteres away, practically u staying in downtown of Samara. Few banks, also be aware that BCR ( one of the banks) was not able complete my withdrawing transactions, no idea why. Second one.
In hotel i learned that as long as there are Cirrus sign on the bank of your convenience and credit card, you are good. Majority of Eurpean cards with Maestro signs was denied.
Returning back to the hotel, there is a few options you can have. With our without air conditioner and the breakfast. I paid 85 dollars for private bath, air conditioner and breakfast included room. And like i've mentioned i had the best time of my life

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

We spent just recently 3 days at Casa del Mar, and we certainly loved this place.
Our room was very spacious, 2 bedrooms, 1 full bathroom and a/c. No TV in the room...but honestly, we didn't miss it at all.
Carolina and Laura the clerks are very friendly and helpful. You can tell they love their job.
There is no safe in the room, but we gave them our valuables to be locked in their office, if it's fragile they will write a note and if cash will be placed in a separate envelope with the amount written.
Overall we felt very safe.
The hotel provides a semi-private beach, just across a quiet road. At the beach there are complimentary chairs, chaises and pillows.
The breakfast is very good. Again, great service. Everyone has a smile on their faces.
Santos, the gardener, every morning keeps the place groomed and clean. He was kind and opened a coconut for us one day.
There are many coconuts trees along the beach...please be careful if you have kids, because coconuts will fall from time to time...it did happen to us. Thanks God no one got hurt.
We took a surf class just in front the hotel at Ticos-Surf School with Christian. He was very patient and kind. If you don't surf the first day, he will offer you a second class the next day for free. :)
A cheap place to eat in the area? Soda Los Colochos, very close to the hotel and where the locals go.
Have a fun and blessed time in Sámara!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My friend and I stayed in a private room with shared bath with fan. The room has a sink which is convenient. The balcony was outside our room and can be noisy at night as people were chitchatting. The hotel has a private beach access area and provides complimentary beach chairs on a first-come-first-serve basis. The staff was friendly and helpful. I did not try the breakfast since it costs additional $6+. Overall, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The room we opted for was one without air conditioning or private bath. Room was a bit small and basic, but clean, comfortable and quiet enough. Restaurant and staff were so-so. The best features were front porch, extreme proximity to the beach, and Bella the entertaining resident parrot. There are better deals in the area, but still within a few minutes of the beach.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Casa del Mar Samara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa del Mar Samara

Address: 50 mt Este de la Escuela de Samara | Playa Sámara,Guanacaste., Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful, quaint Bed & Breakfast on the breathtaking Guanacaste Coast, Costa Rica. We offer rooms to fit any traveler's needs; from back-packer style rooms with shared bath to fancier rooms for a couple or family. No matter what kind of room you choose you can count on it being clean and our staff to be friendly! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Casa del Mar Samara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa del Mar Samara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.