We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Found!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villas Playa Samara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villas Playa Samara to your Saves list
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3km South From the Center of Samara Going Towards Playa Carrillo, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Playa Samara
Atlanta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Paradise Found!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I have travelled to so many places around the world and generally like to go somewhere new each time we venture out. Villas Playa Samara, a boutique resort in Samara, Costa Rica, has completely my traveling world view forever! I have been back there time and time again because it is just, well, it is just incredible. So, where does one start...with the horses running up and down the beach each morning,with the full moon beach parties at night, with the sunset walk to the quaint little town of Samara and all its artisans and great dining, with the zip lining, volcano tours, and "fording" of shallow rivers to get across the road on your exploration to the next little beach town...where does one start? I love this place and I love the family who owns it! I really can't believe that we found it and I will always and forever be returning as often as I possibly can!

Room Tip: If you are in a larger party (6 to 8) there is a 3 bedroom villa at the end of the property that is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    103
    64
    47
    76
See reviews for
130
159
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Recently spent a week at this resort. The accommodations were wonderful (2 room villa). The locale was beautiful...right on the beach. Staff was courteous, accommodating and professional. The restaurant breakfast was very good. Dinner buffet was lacking but there are many restaurants to visit in town.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy, California, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I think this is advertised as a 4 star. A soft 3 at best. Great location. Uneducated management. 4 star pricing everywhere. Majority of staff seemed to feel tips were entitled, not earned. A true 50/50 hit or miss on service. Rooms are not sealed ( By that I mean insects, lizards etc. do have free reign to come and go as they please) The only thing that kept them out of our bedroom was the A/C (also a bit sketchy at times). Now having said that, and going forward knowing that, we had a very good time. The Monkey tours girl was incredibly polite, helpful and professional (even though we were NOT even a part of that tour.) We rented an ATV in town (From Tony at the rental attached to the Mexican restaurant [Coco's?) and went to beaches and dinners on our own. Having transport, we made our own adventures and met a lot of locals form the states that hooked us up with what to do in the area.

Room Tip: Don't have very high expectations and you wont be disappointed. Managements' cavalier attit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

I really liked that place. Very nice and with some good services. The rooms are clean and the food is good. We had a lot of rain but we were still able to do some nice activities and relax. We arrived there after the Monkey Tours trips and I will definitely recommend to everyone to do this tour.

Room Tip: Beach front is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altona, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Villas Playa Samara for 3 weeks. The villas were alright. There were definitely some glitches, but the town of Samara got hit by a large earthquake just over a year prior, and they are still recovering.

Our first villa's AC quit two days in a row, but within an hour each time it was fixed. It also had a smell problem coming from the sink, which is not all that uncommon outside Canada or the States. This was easily temporarily remedied by leaving a trickle of cold water going in the bathroom sink, but should be fixed permanently as I believe it would be a very simple fix.

Our second villa was beachfront, and we have no complaints about that one.

The food was excellent, and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Beachfront is best. Would definitely stay again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Nelson, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

My family and I went to this resort and had a wonderful time. After researching several different vacation spots, we were excited to go to Costa Rica. We were hesitant to take our older children because of the previous reviews we read on the internet about Hotel Villas Playa Samara, and we even considered cancelling the trip. After we arrived at this resort, my husband and I didn't understand why people had such negative experiences. The resort was beautiful, our villa was nice, the beach amazing, and the staff incredible. We went horseback riding on the beach, We walked along the beach to Samara a couple of times, had dinner while we were there, bought a few local artist's creations. We even rented kayaks and kayaked to Chora Island, where we all snorkeled. Our family is very active, and we had a fantastic time at this resort, the location is perfect. We went on a one day excursion to the Arenal Volcano, although if you are susceptible to motion sickness, bring Gravol (the road to the volcano is very winding). On this day excursion, we also went to The Baldi Hot Springs, and to La Fortuna Waterfalls, which was so beautiful and quite unexpected. The resort itself was very clean, well-kept, and overall beautiful. The sunsets on the beach were gorgeous. The maid kept up with our villa, even though our family is a family of five, with three active older children. The food was quite good, the service fantastic. We read reviews about the service being slow, but we didn't have any problems with the servers, or service. They were even accommodating to our youngest son's picky palate. The language barrier at times was a little difficult, but is to be expected traveling to a foreign country. The staff were absolutely lovely to us, especially with our children, and made us feel very welcome in their country. Although we could understand their frustration, with some other guests being quite rude, and unhappy no matter what the staff did to please them (some people just seemed to have forgotten their manners entirely and made us feel uncomfortable, being tourists ourselves). Our family loved the entire experience and loved the resort. We felt very safe, which as parents, we were worried about traveling to a smaller resort. A huge thank you to Diego, Stephanie, John, and Warren. These staff went above and beyond for our family! We went on vacation to give our children an opportunity to experience another country, culture, language, people, and to have memories. We did go to Costa Rica to sit in the villa for the duration of our trip. We read people had issues with the villas not having televisions. If this is an issue for you, maybe save yourself some money and watch travel shows on the television! Our family absolutely loved this vacation, this resort, and we all had such a wonderful time.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Garden Villa, a minute walk to the beach. The villa was not far from the Main Area e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Norway, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We got flats close to the beach and hammocks on the patio was great. The view was beautful. But when you book and pay rooms for 4 single people you expect to get a bed for everybody. We didn't. We got 2 flats in two different villas with only one bed in each flat and a kitchen without any glasses, cups and so on. One of the flats didn't have any towels when we arrived and when we went to the frontdesk we were promised to get towels immidiately, which didn't happen at all. We was also promised that they would open up the extra bedroom in connection to the flats we already got, which didn't happen either. We went to the frontdesk to get towels and keys, but they just told us to relax, someone will come, don't come back here and complain anymoore! The result was that two of us had to sleep on a sofa! The next day we went to the frontdesk again to complain with the result of angry replay from the staff, but after a couple of hours they came an unlocked one of the extra bedrooms. When we got back from beach, we didn't have any towels at all. Again we went to front desk to ask for better service and again we was told with angry voice not to come to frontdesk to complain anymoore. The answer about towels was that they had to wash and dry them before we could get them back. We got them after several hours, after we was at the front desk once moore complaining. We never got the last bed we were promised. Breakfast was good With a lot of fruits, eggs, bread, coffee and so on. The restaurant service at dinner was an catastrofy. It looked like the waiters was brand new and didn't know anything about service which also was very slow. We observed several guests leaving their tables because they didn't get any service. We wanted both starters and dinner. We got dinner for 2 people at the table first(we were 4 people). When we asked for our starters the waiter didn't understand what the problem was but he took the dinnerplates out again, and we waited over 40 minutes for our starters. Then it was time for dinner and 2 of us got their dinner, cold cause it was the same food we got earlier and was send out with message to make new food. Dinners for the rest of us wasn't coming and when we asked for it they hadn't started to make it yet. Everything was a disaster and we just wanted to go. Samara beach is a great place, the cabins located right on the beach and has a wonderful view. It is a pity that the place will be destroyed by lack of equipment, poor service and unskillful waiters. Recommend no rent at this location with the current owners

Room Tip: If you go here we recomend cabins close to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villas Playa Samara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villas Playa Samara

Address: 3km South From the Center of Samara Going Towards Playa Carrillo, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villas Playa Samara 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a hotel with fully equipped villas and deluxe rooms. We are located in front of the beach very close yo downtown Samara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and BookIt.com so you can book your Hotel Villas Playa Samara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villas Playa Samara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.