We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It really great and beautiful Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villas Playa Samara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villas Playa Samara to your Saves list
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3km South From the Center of Samara Going Towards Playa Carrillo, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Playa Samara
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“It really great and beautiful Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We recently stayed at the Villas for seven days. After reading all the bad reviews I was scared to see what I would find. I have come to the conclusion that some people will not be happy with anything and will find problems wherever they go.

We had a great time and while it was not perfect, I would definitely come back. I’ll try to not only review the place, but to give some advice to anyone looking to spend time here.

We were told check–in ends at 11pm. The hotel is 2 hours away by car from Liberia Airport. If you think you will arrive after 11pm, just call the hotel before you leave home and let them know. We did, and the night security guard had everything for us (our Key, guest bracelet and a porter to take you to your room). The next morning, we just had to stop by the desk again to leave our credit card and properly check in. There is no waiting in the lobby at all. The process took about 5 mins. Same goes for leaving the Hotel. We had be at the airport at 5:30am, they hooked us up with a really nice van and driver that took us. It was very clean and confortable ride.

Our Villa was immaculate. It was huge and clean and looked like it was just renovated. I did not enter any others so I can only speak for unit 40P. The outer hammock and yard was well maintained. The kitchen had everything. The fridge looked it was brand new. The showers did not have the high level of water pressure we are used to in the States, but they were fine enough to get the job done. The ACs were quiet and worked great. The only bug we found was one little spider on the window of one bathroom. Considering the outside was like a jungle I was really impressed how bug free our experience was. Room cleaning did not come everyday though. It came every other day for us, but we didn’t really care.

We ate breakfast at the hotel everyday. It was good. $10+tax per person, all you can eat. If you
We were in the middle and to the west side of the grounds. Our walk to the beach took less than a minute. There are wild horses that live on the grounds. If you like horses they are very cool.
Make sure you talk to the guys at Monkey Tours located in the lobby. We not only did some tours with them, but they really know the town and can help you find things you need.

Pro:
Clean
Safe
Quiet
Very Private
Very nice staff
Right in front of the little island for snorkeling
Short walk to the next beach over, Carrillo beach.
Tour company located right in hotel.
Good breakfast

Con:
½ hour walk from town.
2 hours from airport.
The Store, gym and inside restaurant were not yet finished.


Conclusion: Samara is in the middle of nowhere. The little town with all the bars and restaurants is a half hour walk or $8 cab ride away. If you are looking for a Quiet, safe getaway in paradise, then this is the place. At night it was so nice to have peace and quiet and total privacy. Just be prepared to find that some of the facilities are still down, but your Villa, pool, pool bar and service will be top notch. Take the 100% adventure tour package with the Monkey tours guys too, it’s totally worth the money. Best day ever.

Room Tip: Unit 40P is brand new. Kind if the middle between beach and pool. 1 min walk to each.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    85
    55
    43
    70
See reviews for
120
138
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My family stayed here the week of Christmas 2012, fully expecting a wonderful tropical holiday. What we encountered was everything but it. I did my reservation on September through American express Travel and called twice after the earthquake; first the hotel directly and then after to Amex and were assured that everything was in working order.
We arrived to chaos. The pool was under construction, with workers in various states. The walkways were dangerous, with bricks and ditch everywhere, exposed electric wires and electric saw. The entertainment room, meeting rooms, and store were virtual storage rooms. The restaurant and bar didn’t exist.

Check-in was stated as 2pm, we arrived at 3pm BUT we had to wait 4hours before we could get our room. The room given to us was not what we paid for; 2 Bedroom Luxury Beach front Villa. This Villa was in the back of the construction site, (with debris view) … I lodged a complaint with the front desk, with desperate team of inexperienced workers who were unfortunately trapped in the situation and couldn’t help.
Eventually we got to speak to the owner/manager, who without a shame gave length of lies, instead of solving the situation. He was claiming a natural disaster … force majeure… earthquake… which may happen BUT it was 4 months before our arrival. All I expected is a true discloser instead we received a fake story, a pure INSURANCE FRAUD.

I still can’t believe what management went to deceive us. Since it was a pick season we couldn’t find an alternative place and was forced to stay in that kingdom of lies. We didn’t get the 2 BR Villa we paid 359$ /night for but a 1 bedroom in a construction site… Our neighbored villa was under noisy construction from 6:30 AM to 9PM the all 4 days we stayed there… More important there was no safety measures taken, and my kid was injured by a rustic nail.
Even the Villa was beautiful at first glance. The water was shot down twice, the toilets never worked, our refrigerator had to be replaced, lights did not work, and many other minor issues had to be worked out. Service was completely lacking, though I believe they did try hard. For example, we went without drinks one breakfast service and without complete silverware sets at another. It was ridiculous! The maid service was laughable. They came in, made up the beds and some of the time gave us new towels and toilet paper. And in our stay they came twice without it being late afternoon and us having to ask for maid service. By the time we left the pool was in working order, though it was disgustingly white and murky looking. I learned later there was no filtration working.
For full disclosure I toured the hotel with the owner to show him all the safety problems and service problems. He offered to reimburse our initial payment and only charge 100$/night. It was the most expensive 100$ I ever paid…
Like I said, everything was ridiculous! The most frustrating part is that this ownership by greed and self-indulgence took a natural paradise and destroy it. The location is beautiful and management is criminal in the way they are running this place.

AS TRAVELERS OUR WAY TO IMPACT AND CHANGE THIS CRIME IS VOTING WITH OUR LEGS, PLEASE DON’T VISIT VILLA PLAYA SAMARA UNTIL OWNERSHIP/MANAGEMENT REPLACED!!!

Room Tip: Stay away from this Hotel;
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

During the holiday break my family and i stayed at Villas Playa Samara for two weeks. We picked this hotel because we had heard nice comments about it. We had a beautiful villa close to the garden and the nicest point about this hotel is that all the members of our family were together in the same place. Each villa has her own kitchen wich is very interesting. All the sraff was very nice and took care of us very well, the beach was also beautiful and spacious. Comparing to other famous all inclusive we were able to stay on the beach without beeing standing to close to other people from the resort. We also did some amazing activities with the monkey tours team that is staying directly on the site. We went to Monteverde (canopy tour), Ricon de la Viejra (adventure tour), horseback riding, fishing and kayak tour (Chora island tour)... All those activities were very interesting and it gave us the chance to see all the beautiful country of Costa Rica. Direclty on the site we also had the chance to see a bunch of monkeys, horses, lezard... , the city of Samara is also close from the resort and you can reach this place directly by the beach by walking. I had an amazing trip and i would stay there again. I recommend this place to all the people that want to explore the amazing country of Costa Rica. Pura Viva!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

It willl be hard to keep this short! We booked this place for 4 nights but left a night early. The check in process was a joke. No organization. I had to flag down the golf cart guy myself. The maintenance man had to fix our lock on the bedroom and we waited 25 min for that. No one gave us a key to the safe without us having to go ask. The patio was dirty with a hammock that looked like if we sat in it, it would break. It was told to me that "the kitchen would have everything we could ever need." No oven, no rice cooker, and of the 3 burners for stove top, only 1 worked. No pans, just pots. No soap or sponge to clean them and maid service did not do it. Pool was dirty with leaves and oily. Never "clear or sparkling". The food for lunch was HORRIBLE. The food at dinner was good. Their on premises shop/gym/entertainment room closed for construction. The internet only worked midnight-5am before the staff got on it. Our ocean view villa was #8, had a nice view and was large with 2 bdrms. The seating area had uncomfortable chairs, we found ourselves eating and sitting in bed to hang out. The beds were comfy with nice sheets. The shower never drained while you were in there, so you were ankle high while in there. There are a few nice people that work, Jose and Alex and Steven. Farida was helpful in the booking process, but when I mentioned all our problems, she had nothing to say to fix it and was rude. There is nothing near by to eat at or shop for so you are stuck there. We live in Samara PT and have fam and friends visit often. I would never recommend this place to anyone. Especially if you need internet, want a clean pool, with good food and helpful service for basics.

Room Tip: Ocean view is worth it, we stayed in villa 8B, which is close to pool where you can hear the music a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BradAnderson, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Villas Playa Samara, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Romy4424, I am sorry to say that it is a shame that you have to come down to such lies in order to get it your way! Our resort as always been supportive of complaints that we may have our customers are always right. But in your case it is a shame you came down to our resort in the beggining of january asking us for a great rate since your usual place that you stayed in Samara was over booked for 5 nights. You visited our property twice to make sure it was the right place for you. You negotiated us a great price since that we decided to extend to you since we gave you a rate of 139$US per night for a garden deluxe room. You then requested to have an ocean view we once again decided to help you out with no extra cost during the reservation process since we do everything posible to accomodate our guest! You visited and saw everything that we have in our kitchen in two occasions and you had no issues with anything since you decided to book. You then one day prior to arrival requested us again another special request to change your entry date by one day we once again tried our best to help you but by doing such move we had to give you another free upgrade to a two bedroom ocean view for the same price since for that next day we had no posibility on giving you a one bedroom ocean view! You did not have to check out one day before your were scheduled too you arrived one day late and it is once you were to depart that you came to use requesting a refund for your last night that you did not need anyway since you were suppose to checkout and we refuse to reimburse that last night since that would mean for us to loss the first night that you came in late and the extension night that you came to us trying to find all issues posible about the property that you did not have during your entire stay and you then threatened or staff that they give you an extra discount or a refund or you would charge your own way we now guest what you were refering to is trying to BLACKMAIL.... us with a terrible review on tripadvisor, for all the tripadvisor community! We have a brand new pool to offer you which is cristal clear! Our safe do not use key's but code, we guest our maintenance staff is not so bad I guest since we get problem solve in less than half hour! We offer free wifi thru out our property for all our guest to use! We are located at 2 kilometers from downtown Samara but we offer shuttle services or taxis to go there making not an issue but an attraction for vacationer since we offer you an almost private beach with no distraction! It is a shame their is no guestadvisor site since we could inform the ENTIRE hotelier community to not accept as a guest anywhere!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec, Quebec, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Just got back from a beautiful week in Playa Samara. We picked up this hotel as a recommendation of some friends, and it was a great choice. We were given a beautiful beach front villa where we were able to see an amazing and breathtaking sunset every afternoon. Luis and Jorge at the bar were great. They served us fresh coconuts that they had just cut down from the palm trees. We also did some amazing tours with the Monkey Tours team that is on site. We did the Chora Island tour where we kayaked to the island in front of hte hotel and snorkeled, it was beautiful. We also did the Boat safari and pottery tour where we saw a bunch of cocodriles and monkeys, the wildlife was amazing. I can't wait to go back... I already miss it... I recommend it to every one that are looking for an incredible time in paradise. Pura vida to everyone back there.

...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BradAnderson, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Villas Playa Samara, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Bryan,

We are really happy to read your review and to see that you had a great time at our resort! We certainly hope to have you back very soon among us and I will let know all our team that you had a great time with the tours and that you enjoyed our fresh coconut's (PIPAS) like we call them!!! See you again in paradise!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed here in January 2013. We were surprised to see that a lot of the hotel was having reno's. The gym was not available and there was a lot going on around the front desk/kitchen area. No biggie though, we still really enjoyed our stay. We stayed in one of the beach view cabinas. It was very clean and perfect for my family and I. We just were part of the breakfast plan, which wasn't amazing but still good. The bartenders at the pool were great! Our 4 year old daughter managed to wrap Jose around her finger. He was constantly making her and her brother special drinks and "pips frias", her favorite drink! She still asks to return and visit him, haha! The beach in front of the hotel is nice and you could walk into town along the beach. Playa Carillo is nicer though.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BradAnderson, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Villas Playa Samara, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Krista, thank you very much for your review! We are really happy to know that you and your family had a good time at our resort and that even thought we were completing our reno you were able to have a great time enjoying our property! We are really happy to read that you daughter enjoyed our PIPAS frias they are cut down directly from our palm tree in the property! I really hope that you will be able to visit us in the neat future and we recommend all our guest to visit playa carillo which is just next door to us it is great that you enjoyed it! I will let Jose know about your review that will make him really happy and we will check on the breakfast so this one can end up been great!!! Our warmest regards from Samara! Pura Vida from Samara!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My partner and i have travelled to +50countries and in all our travels this has to be the worst hotel and service we have ever experienced.

My partner and i booked to stay at this hotel for four nights during Dec 2012. Upon our arrival, we were welcomed with construction and noise to boot which continued to ring loud throughout the duration of our stay. Check-in was stated as 2pm, however, we had to wait 4hours before we could get our room.

The room (pool view room) given to us was not what we paid for. This room was screamed 1star motel and worth no more than $60/night. I lodged a complaint with the front desk, who stated that they had `given away`our room (which were paying $300/night for). Hence, i asked to speak to the manager and was told she was off-site. This turned out to be a lie as she was there the entire time. Eventually we got to speak to her and she arranged for another room for the following nights.

We ended up staying in the `crappy` room for the first night and just as we thought things could get no worse......our bed broke and collapsed hitting the floor hard....the head-board ended up falling on top of us. It took them 3hours to fix and we ended up sleeping at 3am. No apolgies or customer service recieved!

There was construction happening all over the place - very unsafe with machinery and tools lying around. Staff was very un-helpful and rude. Food was terrible and the make-shift dinner was set amongst the construction. The rooms are in a bad way:
1) Our bathroom drain clogged
2) No soap was replaced during our stay
3) No phone in room
4) Poor rooom finishings - things falling apart
5) Toilet wouldnt flush

Please look at the photos and in all seriousness stay away from this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villas Playa Samara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villas Playa Samara

Address: 3km South From the Center of Samara Going Towards Playa Carrillo, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villas Playa Samara 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a hotel with fully equipped villas and deluxe rooms. We are located in front of the beach very close yo downtown Samara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villas Playa Samara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villas Playa Samara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.