We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel on the "outskirts" of Samara” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Giada

Save Saved
You added Hotel Giada to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Giada
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main street, Playa Samara, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 15 hotels in Playa Samara
Dortmund, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice Hotel on the "outskirts" of Samara”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This hotel is located at the beginning of the main street of Samara. The distance to the beach is about 500 m.
The hotel is nicely designed, with an actively maintained garden and two pools (one small, one medium sized).
The rooms are not very spacey, but with a nice decor, and each room has either a portio, or a balcony. The rooms are air-conditioned.

Positive:
- nice funiture & decor in the rooms
- AC
- Safe
- TV
- Pool area directly accessible from ground level patios
- free Wifi

Negative:
- Not overly friendly personell at the service desk (we came to early, our room was not prepared, but no efforts were being made in order to speed things up, although hotel was not fully booked, and after walking through the town for one hour we came back but were ignored, we had to ask again for our room, then we got the keys)
- The sideroad behind the hotel is pretty busy, so you get some noise from that side
- No fridge
- a little bit too pricey (like most CR hotels are)

Overall not a bad place to stay, above average.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giorgio c, Manager at Hotel Giada, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. We was glad to have you here at Hotel Giada and that you enjoyed the hotel as well as Playa Samara. The problem with the front desk upon checking in we will look into this to see what happen, Thank you for staying in Hotel Giada and we hope that you will return as well as returning to Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    85
    22
    4
    1
See reviews for
25
80
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monteverde, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel various times and have been very happy. Conveniently located, quiet, nice pool, good food and helpful staff. The beds are comfortable, the ac/ good and plenty of hot water for showers. Best of all just 2 minutes walk from the beach. The hotel also has wifi.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giorgio c, Manager at Hotel Giada, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. We was glad to have you back at Hotel Giada and that you enjoyed your stay here. Looking forward to your return trip to Hotel Giada as well as Playa Samara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Clean and decent size rooms with fans. Great location, two great pools, attractive garden and plants everywhere, very friendly staff. Some rooms on the second floor have balconies facing the pools.
Affordable and with good breakfast included.

This is a good choice!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the restaurant are quieter. Rooms on the second floor and facing the pool have a nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giorgio c, Manager at Hotel Giada, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We was glad to have you here at Hotel Giada and are glad that you enjoyed the hotel. We hope you will return to Hotel Giada as well as Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alajuela, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The hotel is nice except we had no hot water, no phones in the rooms. If you have a problem you to go to the front desk. The hot tub is not hot. I think I would check out another hotel when I come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giorgio c, Manager at Hotel Giada, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. If we would of know that you did not have hot water we would of fix the problem. Yes we do not offer telephone due to the hotel offer WiFi with no charge. Sorry we do not offer hot tube we only offer Jacuzzi at outside temperature. Thanks for staying at Hotel Giada and we hope you will be back again as well as back to Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed for 5 days on the recommendation of a friend. The rooms are clean and a decent size, with fans, a/c (although we didn't use ours much), and hot water. We had a patio right on the pool side, and the rooms were very quiet even though we were so central on the property. The location is fantastic, very central to Samara downtown and all the restaurants, stores and the beach. The breakfast is simple but offers options for everyone. The staff are friendly and very helpful. We would totally stay there again. A great value for the money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giorgio c, Manager at Hotel Giada, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We was glad to have you here at Hotel Giada. We was glad that your friend told you about Hotel Giada and that you enjoyed the hotel. We hope you will be back to Hotel Giada as well as Costa Rica someday. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane Valley, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed about 8 days at Hotel Giada in July, 2013. It is in town and close to everything, including the beach, which is about three city blocks away. The pools are excellent and staff seems to always be working on keeping the grounds, rooms and building neat and clean. The restaurant offers a free breakfast with a choice of three options and they do a great pizza business judging by the number of people dining and picking up orders to go. The WIFI was EXCELLENT and we had great connections at all times which is important to us when we travel. The only down side we found was that the rooms did not have refrigerators and ice at the hotel was hard to come by. We solved the problem of course by buying an ice chest and then purchasing ice from one of the local stores. The hotel could enhance their service by simply installing an ice machine for their customers but we also recognize that we may have stayed longer than their average customer.

Would be stay there again? Yes, unless we could find a similar hotel in town with the same features and a refrigerator or ice machine--trivial perhaps but important to us as we travel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giorgio c, Manager at Hotel Giada, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We was glad to have you here at the hotel and that you enjoyed the hotel. I will get with the owner on the ice machine to see if it would be possible to put one in the near future. We hope you will be back to Hotel Giada someday as well as Costa Rica. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We decided to free wheel it this vacation not prebooking any hotels in Costa Rica. Highly recommended by the way. We originally planned on staying here one night but loved it so much we stayed and extra night. The place was very clean with a beautiful pool and tropical surroundings. We watched two aquana's (sorry bad spelling) while swimming in their pool and listened to beautiful birds. It was only a short walk down to the beach. We had a comfortable king size bed and air conditioning. Our view overlooked the pool and had a balcony. One night we ordered the 2 for 1 pizza deal (very tasty). The other night we drove 10k to the next town that had a great bbq/steak place. The price we paid included a breakfast for both of us that included anything on the breakfast menu with a drink. The staff were very helpful and friendly. My wife and I would definately stay at this hotel again! By the way the night before staying here we stayed at Playa Nigra, a nice quiet place about 90k by paved road or 30k by 4x4 only road. We had a 4x4, had to cross 3 rivers and almost didn't make it across one. You may want to take the paved way, expecially in the rainy season when we were there. Oh and one more thing, the rainy season was not that bad at all, beautiful mornings, afternoons then evening rain/storms most days. Both places are easy driving distance to the Liberia airport (2 hr PlayNigra Max, 3 hr Play Samara max) PlayaNigra to Samara 1 to 2hrs paved 3hrs 4x4 road.

Room Tip: We liked our room overlooking the pool on the 2nd floor. Sorry can't remember the room #.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giorgio c, Manager at Hotel Giada, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We was glad to have you here and that you enjoyed the hotel & restaurant. We to see you back at Hotel Giada son and hope will return to Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Giada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giada

Address: Main street, Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Giada 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Giada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giada Hotel Playa Samara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Giada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.