We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on the beach, not for everyone, but excellent for some” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Las Brisas del Pacifico

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa Samara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Las Brisas del Pacifico
Save Saved
You added Hotel Las Brisas del Pacifico to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Samara, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Playa Samara
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Right on the beach, not for everyone, but excellent for some”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed two days the hotel is right on the beach. The beach is nice quite and unspoiled. Rooms could use an update. Restaurant rocks. Pool scene very quiet and relaxed. Guest seem to be hiding through out the day giving a very peacefull feel

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    40
    22
    16
    22
See reviews for
24
45
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Hampton, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed for only one night, thankfully, in January (2013) as we were passing through. As many reviewers noted, the location is ideal and quite beautiful. However, the owner is terrible. He sits in the center of the pool/bar/restaurant area at a wood table (all the surrounding tables are plastic) with his cigarette, guard, drink, and disgusting emphysema cough. While his depressing presence totally ruined my time there, the worst moment was watching him (78 years?) stumble away with a young girl (16 years?) who clearly showed up around 9 pm to escort him out. What a horrible experience.

Room Tip: Don't stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed three nights with three teenagers. Pool is fine (for kids) and the location is on the beach.

This place is simply lacking management. The German owner sits at a table all day and smokes (even when guests are eating at the next tables) - at 11 a.m. he adds beers. Strange people are hanging around (friends of the owner, guards?) It could be a perfect place, but sadly it isn't. Breakfast is a joke. The room price is pretty high, but if you like to have two pieces of toast you have to pay extra. If you like to use the safety box in your room you have to pay $3 per day. Beach towels are $1 a day.

Rooms need maintenance and the staff has very little service manners (and I'm not expecting a lot - just a smile now and then).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Texas, United States
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

excellent staff with a friendly smile. The pool is great and the beach is even better. We stayed for 8 days during the slow season. We had the entire place to ourselves for much of the time. The rates are very reasonable, rooms are more than adequate, and the location is awesome. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Samara.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Cocles
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Very nice hotel, right on the beach! Nice rooms, beautiful tropical garden which is well
maintained. Personel very, very nice - they took good care of us. Rates are absolutely
correct. I recommend this hotel anytime.

Room Tip: Ask for the bungalows around the pool which are very close to the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Sabana, San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Hotel Las Brisas Del Pacifico is a beautiful, private, beach-front hotel with a laid-back vibe and a location that is to die for! My husband and I were looking for a different and peaceful vacation, and found exactly that in this home away from home! Located a couple hundred meters out of town, Brisas del Pacifico is nestled on a quite, long beach with an ample amount of sunshine, flora and fauna. From the beautifully kept garden and pool to the exotic palm leave beach umbrellas, a comfortable and inviting environment is created for all types of visitors! We will definitely be returning in the next couple months to this little piece of paradise!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed three nights at the Las Brisas del Pacifico. It was comfortable, clean and had very courteous staff. The pool was nice and the beach location was ideal. The beds were only satisfactory and could use an upgrade however.
This property is so well situated. Close to the town of Samara but not too close. An easy 5 min walk down the beach to whatever you need yet quiet and comfortable at night to sleep.

The only drawback in our opinion was the definite lack of a decent restaurant. The one there has so much potential but does not provide a good menu or any vibrancy. A little attention to details like an improved menu and some music and lighting (similar to a lot of others down the beach that had our lunch and dinner business) would go a long way to improving the experience. It is obvious that ownership there would rather run it bare bones instead of investing a bit to compete with the better dinner alternatives down the beach.

All said though, it was a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Las Brisas del Pacifico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Brisas del Pacifico

Address: Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Las Brisas del Pacifico 3*
Also Known As:
Las Brisas Del Pacifico Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Las Brisas del Pacifico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.