We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent food, can take a long time though” 4 of 5 stars
Review of KaiBella - CLOSED

KaiBella
Main Street, Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“excellent food, can take a long time though”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

we had a delicious meal. we ordered takeout around 8 and then went upstairs to bar arriba while we waitied. the food itself was delicious and an amazing presentation. my only problem was how long the food actually took. i guess there was only one woman cooking and they randomly got busy but it took over an hour. would def go back, a little earlier next time.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    12
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
“Suprised by these rave reviews”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I love Thai food and after being in Central America for 5 weeks I was ready for a change from Beans and Rice.

As mentioned the restuarant is set back from the road and can get hot. They do try to set a nice atmosphere with what they have to work with. The service was slow, even for Costa Rica standards. My friends appetizes OK, chicken Satay. I ordered the Pad Thai and couldn't eat it. It seemed that they ran out of the right ingredients or something for Pad Thai because it was very off. I asked two friends to also try my dish, incase it was just me, and they wouldn't eat it either.

Maybe we had an off night for this restaurant, but it was the worst meal I had in Central America.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We had a nice night out at KaiBella. The food was excellent. It was great to find vegetarian options. We tried 4 different meals and some apps and everything was great!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbrook, Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Be prepared that if you are there in the summer that you will be hot and sweaty. There are no fans and since this is set back off the road there is no breeze. I enjoyed my appetizer, but I ordered my curry too spicy. I only got a 2 in heat, 1 is the lowest and I could only eat half of it. The over all atmosphere is ok and the food was good. Our waitress was very nice, the restaurant was busy so it probably took about 30 minutes to get our meal, but it felt longer because it was so uncomfortably hot.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“KaiBella a real Gem!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

A wonderful dining experience. My only regret with KaiBella was that I didn’t have time to sample ALL the food on the menu! Such a variety of tasty eats from Thai to Caribbean to somewhere in between! Not only was the food healthy and flavourful but the presentation was truly something to behold - artfully arranged dishes with an edible flower on each plate, accompanied by a delicous tropical smoothie. mmmm..I'm salivating just thinking about it! In addition to the great food, I really appreciated the friendly service and relaxed atmosphere. Having dined at KaiBella both on my own & in a group, I was always made to feel welcome. A true gem in Samara. Can't wait til my next visit!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KaiBella also viewed

Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KaiBella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.