We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recently discovered” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ma Ma Gui

Ma Ma Gui
Banco National Main Road, Playa Samara, Costa Rica
26562347
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 49 restaurants in Playa Samara
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Playa Samara
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Recently discovered”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I only recently discovered Ma Ma Gui, but it is now on my "once a week" gotta go list! A smallish place with a cozy "bistro" feel. Sit outside streetside or move indoors for the comfortable seating, relaxing music, soft lighting and nice decor. Try the tacos (totally different than anything you may expect, paper thin crust pizzas or the flank steak with melted blue cheese on top. My only downside, and it is minor, is that sometimes the owners get too busy socializing with the guests and service to others suffers for a bit - but I stilll go back for the great food and atmosphere.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

97% Recommend
    66
    38
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best pizza ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This was the cheapest pizza I found and by far the best! I'm a sucker for a sexy thin crust and this thing was wafer. Eggplant, bacon, garlic, goat cheese...nomnomnom.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lomito with blue cheese sause is one of the best meals and deals in Samara.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

A small and cousy restaurant in the center of samara. The owners and staff make you feel wellcome from the first visit on and the food makes you go back. Fast and good service combined with reasonable prices and excellent food makes it on the best places in Samara.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“open late, good people watching”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

A great place to sit and watch the town pass by. I've only ever tried the pizza which has a paper thin crust...try the one with eggplant and goat cheese, mmmm. A good place for games; chess, checkers etc.

Also, it's the only place in town that serves food until midnight!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Magical place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

French chef's and owned, this place hums with understated beach expat style. People speaking all languages, chess boards and wine glasses sitting on low Turkish tables and high benches where you can watch locals and travellers alike putter past. Gourmet pizzas and salads alike are yummy and really affordable. We looked forward to our evenings here all week

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ma Ma Gui also viewed

Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Ma Ma Gui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ma Ma Gui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.