We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for your money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lo Que Hay

Lo Que Hay
Across the street from Casa Del Mar, Playa Samara, Costa Rica
+506 2656 0811
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 49 Restaurants in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $2 - $9
Cuisines: Mexican, Pizza, Hamburgers, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Lo Que Hay (It Is What It Is) is a lively beachside bar, serving tapas, tacos, nachos, and more. We've got delicious food, excellent views, and live music twice a week. Add in our extensive cocktail menu, ice-cold beer, and super staff, and we bet you'll feel right at home here. Bienvenidos!
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good value for your money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Good location, right on the beach. Nice view to sea and tables are located under the trees.
Tacos are tasty and so is grilled avocados.
Only negative thing is "funny" waiter who tries to comedian with his continuous "funny" jokes.
Just be a waiter and do your job.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    114
    20
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rainbow City, Alabama
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I personally do not understand why this restaurant is rated 8th of 44. The food was just OK, not bad by any means and the prices were really reasonable. I had the chicken burrito which was good but it one of the higher priced items at $7.00. All it came with was chips. My friends had the tacos and grilled avocado which once again was just OK. The worst part was 5 of us were served and finished eating before the last person was served his pizza. Totally inexcusable and the waitress said it happened frequently. Food for $ value is very good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowen Island, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location at the beach, reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We had a good lunch here - very much enjoyed the tacos and quesadillas. The prices weren't too bad and the view was looooovely. A great place to hang out and soak up the sun. I'd recommend it for sure.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Our Samara hang out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We loved Lo Que Hay. Great drinks, good food (loved the grilled avocados), nice people. We'd sit out on the beach and the wait staff would bring us food and drinks. Couldn't ask for more!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great tortilla chips but truly awful meat”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

This restaurant is on the beach front so the view is fantastic and means that even if there is a long wait (which was our case, as a large table had just ordered), it's easy to be patient. We ordered the steak burrito and 3 tacos (steak, vegetarian and chorizo). The steak in both the burrito and the taco was beyond bad. Imagine eating the soles of your shoes. Then add the occasional nerve/piece of fat. Oh, and no flavor to make up for the chewing nightmare. Stick with the tortilla chips and go somewhere else if you want anything more substantial.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lo Que Hay also viewed

Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Lo Que Hay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lo Que Hay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.