We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ocean View, Walk to Beach, Pool, AC - Casa Papaya

Enjoy morning coffee on the Master Terrace with a terrific ocean view.
Enjoy morning coffee on the Master Terrace with a terrific ocean view.
Enjoy morning coffee on the Master Terrace with a terrific ocean view.
Relax in the shady Rancho (covered terrace) in front of the 'get cool pool'.
Cook at home in fully equipped kitchen - small private refrigerator, with full size shared at Rancho
Futon in living area is perfect for a single adult or two children.
Queen size pillow-top bed.  Air-conditioned M. Bedroom
Playa Samara
|
Rental Home – 
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
David B
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Would not recommend.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012 for a stay in April 2012
7
people found this review helpful

We rented Casa Papaya for the second half of our trip to Costa Rica but left after just a few hours. The house was filled with bugs and only got worse when the sun went down. It turned out that the main doors to the house don’t actually seal at the floor or with each other, leaving a quarter-inch opening all around. We also discovered a number of window screens that weren’t secured, either, so as soon as we turned on the lights the whole place turned into an entomologist’s dream. Bugs were streaming in everywhere. There were huge spiders in the bathroom, cobwebs in the drawers and two lizards that jumped out of cupboards. Unfortunately we couldn’t close up the windows as it was 85+ degrees with high humidity and the house has no air conditioning.

The owners obviously know about the bug problem as the two beds and futon each have bug netting. If you read the guest book, however, you quickly learn the nets aren’t always effective – several visitors warned not to walk in the house with bare feet at night due to the scorpions and one teenage guest woke up in the morning with one on his chest. At about 8pm, with my wife and three young kids huddled together on the futon, swatting bugs and sweating in the heat, we decided we’d had enough and drove back to Liberia that night to a place we’d stayed at earlier. I handed the keys to the owners who live on the property, said we couldn’t stay due to the safety and comfort of my family and asked them to be in touch with their thoughts on an equitable resolution. I have traveled all over the world and stayed in all kinds of conditions, but this was too much. It’s the only place I’ve ever felt strongly enough to leave.

When I reached out a week later their response was appalling. They suggested our plans were never to stay in the area after all (even though we’d signed a rental agreement), that we didn’t have the fortitude to stick it out due to our “sensitivities”, and that because we chose to leave Samara altogether rather than staying somewhere else in town played into whatever refund they were willing to offer us. Our 4-year-old daughter was crying uncontrollably and her brothers wouldn’t leave the couch. It was dark in a town we’d never been to. Would you roll the dice on finding a new place down the street that may/may not be better, or would you go back to a place you’d stayed before that you knew you could get a good night’s sleep and re-group?

Fortunately, our vacation ended on a high note after finding a great villa in Playa Hermosa. There were plenty of bugs there, too, just as there had been at the other places we stayed in Costa Rica, but we were able to keep most of them outside. In all, we spent about four hours at Casa Papaya instead of our planned six days. We were refunded 37 percent of our total rental fee.

We are recommending Costa Rica to all our friends, but I wouldn’t recommend this place to anyone.

3 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 3 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
3 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 2 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils 3 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
1 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The pool.
Liked least: The bugs, being insulted by the owner in correspondence afterwards.
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 21, 2012
VWhen this renter returned the keys upon leaving, he gave us a very different description than his review. He said Casa Papaya was a lovely house, that he and his sons would be happy to stay, but that his 3 year old daughter was terrified of bugs and the geckos. He said maybe they could come back when she was a little older. He gave us no opportunity to go and see the problem (and fix it) – the car was loaded and they were leaving. We can understand a child’s discomfort with Geckos and bugs. Many visitors embrace Costa Rica’s biodiversity while it’s a shock to others. But the characterization that this house was a bug lovers’ dream is very unfair. The property is well screened and maintained. Please read the dozens of other positive reviews of this property posted over many years and on many websites for more perspective.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Walla Walla
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012 for a stay in December 2010
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Amigaamy
Glen Mills, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“nice setting, but noisy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012 for a stay in December 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Casa Papa;ya is nicely situated in the hills above Playa Samara, a fairly long walk to the beach and a long uphill walk on the way back, but it definitely has a nice garden setting and is a nice spot to relax. The casita is quite nice, although the downstairs bedroom is quite small, really not much bigger than a closet. The upstairs bdr. has a nice veranda with a spectacular view. No need for a/c, as there are ceiling fans and nice breezes through abundant windows. The entry gate needs a security light at night for operating the padlock. It is extremely noisy with constant worker noise, howler monkeys, and other wildlife chattering all night - forget about sleeping in or even napping. Burning was also common and very annoying. Kithcen was fairly well-equipped, and the owners provided assistance and good recommendations for things to do. I would recommend it for someone who does not need to stay close to the beach, and it is big enough for a small family.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The views and the pool.
Liked least: Very noisy and lots of bugs.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Slojanna
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Ocean breezes, comfort in a warm tropical setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011 for a stay in December 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a two week trip to Casa Mango/Casa Papaya. The two vacation rentals are ideally situated just a bit up the hill from town, allowing for cool ocean breezes away from the sometimes steamy beach. Lovely garden setting. The two houses each provide privacy, but share a delightful pool and outdoor seating area. I rented one of the houses, but for larger groups I think you could rent both. It was a very relaxing stay. Each morning I would watch the parrots take flight, enjoy the sound and (sometimes view) of Howler Monkeys, and wonderful sunrises. Each evening would be a spectacular sunset, with parrots and other birds.

Playa Samara is not a town overrun by tourists.. There are plenty of restaruants and services there, but not so crowded with tourists as other areas on the Nicoya Penninsula. Each morning I'd go for a long walk on one of the two great beaches in the area, and usually see less than a handful of people. Usually just the fisherman bringing in the morning catch for local restaurants.

Besides the beach walks, we did have a great time exploring the area. Hiking in the jungle to see wildlife was a treat. We also took a horse ride up into the hills and on the beach. My cousin took an ultri-light helicopter tour with the Flying Crocodile and loved it. If you're looking for a relaxing vacation, in a small quiet part of paradise, I'd definitely recommend Casa Mango or Casa Papaya in Playa Samara.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The comfort of the house and gardens
Liked least: A bit out of town, but then that made it more private and relaxing too.
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Germany
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011 for a stay in July 2011
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Family with young children
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
GeezerKel...
Kelowna
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Casa Papaya...Yes Please.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011 for a stay in February 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Another fantastic trip to Costa Rica. Casa Papaya was an amazing place to hang your hat for 2 few weeks. Howler monkeys were our built-in alarm clocks as well as the early-rising community surrounding this oasis. Beaches were fabulous at both Samara and Playa Carrillo. Saw some crocs. at the river in Playa Carrillo. Check out Popo’s for kayaking and surfing. Very interesting guy. Dinners at el Colibri in Carrillo were amazing (Argentinian).

Steve and Lavae have some great art that’s worth checking out. Shopping in Samara is minimal in the way of tourist trinkets.

Weather was hot and sunny every day.

Boyd and Cheryl,

West Kelowna, BC, Canada

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Pool and comon area
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Stephane...
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Best place to stay in Costa Rica!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011 for a stay in January 2011

We have been in Costa Rica for the past three years and always stay at Casa Papaya, the house is just perfect. We always see monkeys right beside the house, the view is great and the place is very quiet. We love to eat breakfast under the palapa or diner with the great sunset. The pool is perfect for hot afternoons or after a day of exploring Samara. The beach is superb and great to learn surf also great for kids because of the smaller waves. We recommend it to are friends and family and will probably return again this year lets say we just fell in love with the place!!!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: the peace and quiet!
Liked least: Having to leave!
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$99
/
Night
Week
Month
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Make Inquiry
this property has payment protection
Owner
Lavae A
Speaks English, French, Spanish
Listed since : Jan 2012
Response Rate: 75 %
Response Time: Within a day
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing