We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent food, not-so-great service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Las Brasas

Las Brasas
L'esquina norte de la cancha de futbol | (Samara Main Street), Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 61 Restaurants in Playa Samara
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Seating, Waitstaff
Description: http://samarabeach.com/lasbrasas/index.html
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Decent food, not-so-great service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Had dinner here with my family on a weeknight. Husband had the lobster, which was pretty good. Grandpa had steak, which he enjoyed. The kids had simple stuff like ravioli and spaghetti. No complaints. The calamari appetizer was very good. It's a cute place and I think we would have enjoyed ourselves a little more if the service had not been so slow and unfriendly. It was clear that our waiter did not like waiting on families with children. Also, we were the only ones in the restaurant since it was kind of early for dinner, and our food still took forever to arrive!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hnm90807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We came here with our friends from our hotel. I had the seafood pasta which was delicious. My fiance had the steak with was pretty undercooked. He asked for them to take it back and cook a bit more. They brought it back out and it was still just as pink. He wasn't able to finish it because it was making him feel sick...

Our friend had the lobster which was stuffed with a delicious sauce and all types of seafood! It looked and tasted delicious. Three out of our four plates bought were great so overall this place was ok/good. I would eat here again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelBlonde526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Okay, nothing special and a bit overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Food was okay. Nothing special and definitely more expensive than other restaurants we ate at in Samara and Playa Carillo. Service was lovely, the usual for Costa Rica. We did not choose to go back other evenings.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank A N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
111 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent paella”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Excellent food. We stayed 5 nights in Samara and went 2 times to this resaturant. The paella we had on New Years eve was great, altough the portions were quit small. Not cheap...Friendly staff.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank William_Decoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadera, Israel
Level Contributor
137 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“drinks were good food average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

service- good but a little on the slow side (a good 45 minutes before we have seen our food reach the table)
drinks -were really good and very reasonably priced 2500 colones (about $5)
food -was fair, we ate three types of fish, one in green sauce, one grilled and one in garlic sauce. they all came with fries and a small salad ranged from 4000-5000 colones ($8-$10).
i have seen fish prepared more moist.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gl0betr0tterny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Brasas also viewed

Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Las Brasas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing