We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and modern” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Samara Inn

Save Saved
You added Hotel Samara Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Samara Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 metros oeste Banco Nacional | Playa Samara, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 15 hotels in Playa Samara
Eureka, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Clean and modern”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Extremely clean and modern hotel, but a bit far from things. Breakfast good, staff very friendly. We liked walking short distance to beach by Cangrejal to snorkel at low tide. Quite lovely. Also, Watch out when you are intimate as the bed moves all over the room . Lol.

Room Tip: Number 11 has security light on walkway, a little bright. Also noisy during the day when mechanic s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    20
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
7
19
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester NY
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were only here one night but found the staff every helpful, the breakfast was good with 4 types of food to choose from and the pool, while small was very enjoyable. It is on the outskirts of town a short walk to the beach and town. Quiet and friendly. I would definitely stay again.
The only thing I didn't like was that all of the rooms have a full wall of windows facing the balcony. Unless you wanted guests walking by to see you, the drapes needed to be kept closed at all times.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights toward the end of my stay in Costa Rica. Breakfast is included with a choice of 4 different options, which is unusual in smaller hotels (most serve the "Tipico" breakfast of eggs, gallo pinto and toast).

The hotel is situated at the southern end of the beach, opposite the horse field, which is about 700m away from the main street. This is not a problem, as unlike a lot of other places in Costa Rica, the whole town is on flatground. The beach is 350m away, just around the horse field.

The rooms are in good order with a great shower, very efficient A/C and TV. They can get a little noisy, with the road adjacent and the ever present cockrels behind the hotel letting their presence be known, at most times of the day. As others have already mentioned, the rooms have tinted glass windows and door looking onto the balcony/walkway, which can make it less private than those with solid walls and an opaque door; they do, however, have black out curtains, which also help to keep the rooms cool.

The pool is an absolute dream, with a jacuzzi function available, to shake out the cobwebs in the morning.

The staff, particularly Daniella and Christina, were utterly helpful. Having found I could not get a "gringo" bus back to San Jose, they helped me organise a taxi at the cheapest price available. Thank you, I made it!

All this at a really competitive price would make it a good choice to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are similar, so no real difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The staff members were pleasant and responsive, the breakfast was good, the little pool is lovely. Our room was spacious and clean. The hotel was designed with a sense of style, and the balcony and common areas are beautiful. I do wish there were a way to keep the room curtains open without feeling like we were part of a window display.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

It was such a cozy lovely place. Not a luxury hotel but I would sacrifice that for the excellent service and safety.

Pros:
-I accidentally forgot to lock the safe one morning and left it wide open with money, passports, iPad. When I came back, nothing was stolen. It is a very, very safe hotel.
-The staff was sooo nice and accommodating! They treated you like family! I needed some water and the lady at the front desk went to the kitchen and poured me some water herself.
-They lend you free bikes
-They cook you breakfast and if you want something extra, just ask!

Cons:
-Bathrooms had a sewer smell and could not get rid of it!
-10 minute walk to town and the beach. Location was a little isolated.
-At night I found a silvery bug crawling next to me. Needless to say I freaked out but did not see it afterwards.

Room Tip: Second floor balconies are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Lovely place. A bit out of town, but that ended up being wonderful as the town is small. Walking back from the beach at the end of the day was one of my favorite things from the vacation. This is one place I got to use my Spanish and felt more local than other places I stayed. Lovely view from the breakfast restaurant. One caveat: the balcony glass window is the entrance, which means that unless you close your curtains, anyone around can see you in your room. Luckily i was there when there were few other guests.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

A really nice hotel quite close to the beach. We stayed here for 3 nights on our visit to playa samara. The hotel is clean, cosy, comfortable beds and has really friendly staff. We could recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Samara Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Samara Inn

Address: 500 metros oeste Banco Nacional | Playa Samara, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 hotels in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Samara Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Samara Inn we are pleased to host you and to provide you with great place to stay in this natural paradise.14 charmining rooms with a/c, cable tv,hot water, private bath and balcony. Everythings there is for your comfortable and pleasant stay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Venere, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Otel so you can book your Hotel Samara Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Samara Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.