We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quieter than most, great staff, good location in a small village” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Samara Inn

Save Saved
You added Hotel Samara Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Samara Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 metros oeste Banco Nacional | Playa Samara, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 15 hotels in Playa Samara
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Quieter than most, great staff, good location in a small village”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights toward the end of my stay in Costa Rica. Breakfast is included with a choice of 4 different options, which is unusual in smaller hotels (most serve the "Tipico" breakfast of eggs, gallo pinto and toast).

The hotel is situated at the southern end of the beach, opposite the horse field, which is about 700m away from the main street. This is not a problem, as unlike a lot of other places in Costa Rica, the whole town is on flatground. The beach is 350m away, just around the horse field.

The rooms are in good order with a great shower, very efficient A/C and TV. They can get a little noisy, with the road adjacent and the ever present cockrels behind the hotel letting their presence be known, at most times of the day. As others have already mentioned, the rooms have tinted glass windows and door looking onto the balcony/walkway, which can make it less private than those with solid walls and an opaque door; they do, however, have black out curtains, which also help to keep the rooms cool.

The pool is an absolute dream, with a jacuzzi function available, to shake out the cobwebs in the morning.

The staff, particularly Daniella and Christina, were utterly helpful. Having found I could not get a "gringo" bus back to San Jose, they helped me organise a taxi at the cheapest price available. Thank you, I made it!

All this at a really competitive price would make it a good choice to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are similar, so no real difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    21
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
8
22
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The staff members were pleasant and responsive, the breakfast was good, the little pool is lovely. Our room was spacious and clean. The hotel was designed with a sense of style, and the balcony and common areas are beautiful. I do wish there were a way to keep the room curtains open without feeling like we were part of a window display.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

It was such a cozy lovely place. Not a luxury hotel but I would sacrifice that for the excellent service and safety.

Pros:
-I accidentally forgot to lock the safe one morning and left it wide open with money, passports, iPad. When I came back, nothing was stolen. It is a very, very safe hotel.
-The staff was sooo nice and accommodating! They treated you like family! I needed some water and the lady at the front desk went to the kitchen and poured me some water herself.
-They lend you free bikes
-They cook you breakfast and if you want something extra, just ask!

Cons:
-Bathrooms had a sewer smell and could not get rid of it!
-10 minute walk to town and the beach. Location was a little isolated.
-At night I found a silvery bug crawling next to me. Needless to say I freaked out but did not see it afterwards.

Room Tip: Second floor balconies are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Lovely place. A bit out of town, but that ended up being wonderful as the town is small. Walking back from the beach at the end of the day was one of my favorite things from the vacation. This is one place I got to use my Spanish and felt more local than other places I stayed. Lovely view from the breakfast restaurant. One caveat: the balcony glass window is the entrance, which means that unless you close your curtains, anyone around can see you in your room. Luckily i was there when there were few other guests.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

A really nice hotel quite close to the beach. We stayed here for 3 nights on our visit to playa samara. The hotel is clean, cosy, comfortable beds and has really friendly staff. We could recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

I recently stayed at the Hotel Samara Inn for 5 days. I was in a room on the lower level, but the balconies on the upper level rooms looked really nice! It was clean, had hot water and A/C. This hotel is well located - it is about a 5 minute walk from the town (lit and safe at night), has close beach access, and is around the corner from this great cafe/take out restaurant called Monkey's (which has amazing breakfast pastries for about $1!). The staff was really friendly, and the pool, while on the smaller side if you like to swim in pools, was very inviting and relaxing. I ate dinner and breakfast at the outdoor restaurant - both meals were delicious. I would absolutely stay here again!

Room Tip: the balconies for the upper level rooms looked nice! I was right outside/level with the pool, so ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

My wife, 2 daughters and I stayed in Suite B and loved this hotel! We liked it so much, we stayed 2 separate times on our trip to Costa Rica. The proximity is great because it's really close to the beach but away from town (approximately 10 minute walk). The staff were helpful, the rooms were very clean, and the breakfast was very good. My daughters swam in the pool everyday and loved it! There are 2 GREAT sodas between the hotel and the ocean.

The only negative is that the road in front of the hotel is loud but we NEVER heard it in our rooms because of the layout of the hotel.

Room Tip: Suite B was great with kids because it had 3 beds total and a nice sized bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Samara Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Samara Inn

Address: 500 metros oeste Banco Nacional | Playa Samara, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 hotels in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Samara Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Samara Inn we are pleased to host you and to provide you with great place to stay in this natural paradise.14 charmining rooms with a/c, cable tv,hot water, private bath and balcony. Everythings there is for your comfortable and pleasant stay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Samara Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Samara Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.