We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good breakfast spot” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sol y Mar Cabinas Rooms & Restaurant

Sol y Mar Cabinas Rooms & Restaurant
400m Oeste del Banco Nacional, Playa Samara, Costa Rica
+506 2656-0925
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 45 Restaurants in Playa Samara
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Spanish, Costa Rican, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night
Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“good breakfast spot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

They make good Gallo Pinto (traditional Costa Rican breakfast of mixed rice and beans with other seasonings.) Go early because by 10 am the pinto may be gone.

Not the best for lunch and dinner food in my opinion and even a little pricey for a local joint, but if you find yourself dining here in the later hours try the arroz con camarones (fried rice with shrimp) or the ceviche. Avoid the hamburger/chicken sandwich.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Golfo de Chiriqui National Park, Panama
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

The upstairs loung is the best around the sunsets are amazing

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Horrible food!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We ate here yesterday after a long walk on the beach. My husband and I shared a Palmito salad which was good. I ordered Spaghetti Napolitana (with tomato sauce) and it was like eating sea water. It was beyond salty. My husband ordered a chicken sandwich which basically consisted of a bun, a few pieces of pulled chicken, lettuce, tomato, and tons of mayo! This is possibly the worst restaurant I have ever eaten at!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidSolymar, Gerente at Sol y Mar Cabinas Rooms & Restaurant, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Google Translation
Hola Megan D. Sol y mar ha cambiado de administración. Estamos seguros de no defraudarte en tu visita. Por ejemplo los emparedados son preparados con los mejores productos, con la presentación mas cuidada. Con todo nuestro cariño en cada plato, tanto para comer en el restaurante como para llevar.

David & Yolanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The best pescado (fish) I had in Samara”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Good food and generous portions. Comfortable seating and attentive service. We visited Samara for five days and I usually eat fish for lunch and dinner and this fish was my favorite in Samara.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Authentic, delicious, and inexpensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

The food was YUMMY! It also was one of the least expensive restaurants we found. The only downside is that it is not directly on the beach. Great place to eat, regardless, and very relaxed.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sol y Mar Cabinas Rooms & Restaurant also viewed

Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Sol y Mar Cabinas Rooms & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol y Mar Cabinas Rooms & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.