We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Las Mariposas Hostel is just alright with me!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Las Mariposas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Las Mariposas to your Saves list
Las Mariposas
100 m. norte de Intercultura | 100 m. norte de Intercultura, Playa Samara 0000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 25 Playa Samara B&B and Inns
Eugene, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Las Mariposas Hostel is just alright with me!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Great place to stay, inexpensive, clean, well-run, one block from the beach. Highly recommended. No insects, friendly folks. No complaints. Can even hear and see the Howler Monkeys sometimes............................................

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    10
    4
    7
    6
See reviews for
3
12
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

My stay at las mariposas was wonderful! First,the location is great - just a couple of blocks from the hustle and bustle of downtown and steps from the beach and intercultural language school. The double room and apt. i stayed in were very clean,comfortable,and simply, but nicely decorated. There is a wonderful open air kitchen and two communal areas outdoors with hammocks and picnic tables that were gathering places for meeting lots of interesting people. The grounds were beautifully landscaped with tropical plants and flowers, chickens and sweet dogs roaming freely, and an occasional iguana lurking about. You could hear monkeys howling and roosters crowing most mornings. The host, leonie, was very efficient, accommodating, and friendly. She had a wealth of information to share about the area. She hosted weekly dinners and arranged trips to nearby beaches that i wouldn't have otherwise known about or been able to get to. If you want total privacy and quiet, this is not the place for you. But, if you are looking for an inexpensive and unique experience in samara, and a chance to meet fellow travelers, this place is great! i hope to visit again, soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I are currently backpacking across costa rica and this was one of our favourite hostels we have stayed at so far! It has a very relaxed vibe to it, lots of hammocks for lounging... The owner and staff are very friendly and helpful and the price is great for the area! Compared to other places we looked at upon arriving this was the most reasonably priced by far (35$ for a private room... Includes wifi, hot water showers, kitchen access, free use of the bikes... Basically all u can ask for in a hostel) The feel of this hostel is very home like... You end up eating dinners with everyone at the picnic tables and playing games or if you're into going out to party like we are there are tons of bars around as well! You will wake up to the sound of roosters and howler monkeys in the morning ( we saw several during our stay here) but that just adds to the charm of the place... I mean how many places can u say you've stayed at having monkeys swinging by?? We were only going to stay for 2 nights and ended up staying for 4 and we were sad to leave and would have stayed longer if we could! All in all it was a great experience and I would recommend las mariposas to any backpackers visiting samara!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

The place is nice, couple hamocks to relax, great commun area, and a kitchen for cooking, friendly staff, for that It's worth the money. But, in our opinions it could be nicer. First, the room upstairs (up the kitchen) was not so clean, no linen until we ask two time for getting it and then a member of the staff just throw them on the bed, without making it!! The room also had a lot of dust in the shelf, and we had to putt our mosquito net, even if they have screen on window's. It's old but with some basic repair, and better attention to the guest, it could be a better place. In the commun area, I can stop thinking about the sticky pic-nik table with a full ashtray!. We also saw a girl smooking in the kitchen in front of the manager, disgusting! Well, in average, an OK stay, maybe they were short of staff that time...? Hope my review's gonna be constructive because they have a very nice spot!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I ended up staying at Las Mariposas for 5 weeks and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The hostel centrally located in the small, lazy beach town of Samara which exemplifies the pura vida lifestyle. The hostel itself is only 100 meters from the beach and the beach can even be seen from the rancho through the lush landscaping of the property. This place is perfect for travelers on a budget because it is super close to a grocery store and guests have full access to a great kitchen, which is super great because eating out can add up. Leonie, the owner, is a super rad lady who is very helpful and will bend over backwards to make sure that you're comfortable and enjoying yourself. So if you're looking for a peaceful time in paradise, Las Mariposas is your place.

Room Tip: The dorm is a great value, but if you value some privacy grab a private room for a couple extra buck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Las Mariposas is the best hostel i've been to (and i've been travelling for almost 5 months already). within the first 10 minutes of your arrival, you'll just feel at home! it's the kind of hostel where everyone makes you feel welcomed, where you plan big meals all together ( in the last week we had mexican night, lasagna night and BBQ on the beach). the kitchen is GREAT! loads of plates and cutlery, pots and pans, and a stove that works!! also, Leonie (the owner) provide spices that you can use and trust me that's the first time i've seen that! the hostel is very clean and yoou can use the blue bike (for free) to do your grocery shoppng or simply explore the surrounding areas. there are also snorkelling geer for you to take with you to go on to the beach (which is 100 meters away from the hostel). it's not a hostel, its your house, for however long you want to stay!! and be prepared, it is HARD to leave this little paradise!! enjoy your stay! :D
ps: the mattress are SO COMFY!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavones, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

really nice place to stay... we just wanted to stay for 3 nights, ended up staying for 9 days..... everyone tends to stay longer there.... just a amazing place... free wifi, cofe, friendly people, and just everything you need... the place is runned by leonie and timo who really help you out with everything... all is just brand new... place just open a month ago and u really have some nice and clean beds mad of wood and new matresses... amazing place, friendly people,... believe me you stay longer there as you want!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Las Mariposas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Mariposas

Address: 100 m. norte de Intercultura | 100 m. norte de Intercultura, Playa Samara 0000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Mariposas is a charming property in the beautiful beach town of Samara, Costa Rica. If you are looking for an inexpensive place with lots of extra services.... this is the place to be! You have free Wifi access, a communal kitchen, bike rental and hot shower!The property can arrange lots of nice activities for a fair price and offers a delicious breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Las Mariposas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Mariposas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.