We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, but expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gusto creativo italiano

Gusto creativo italiano
next to Banco de Costa Rica | Playa Samara, Playa Samara sjo1000, Costa Rica
0050626562219
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 47 Restaurants in Playa Samara
Price range: $12 - $18
Cuisines: Sushi, Italian, Mediterranean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: The Gusto Creativo Italiano Restaurant, in Samara Costa Rica, is distinguished for its refined italian, creative and exotic cuisine in which the real protagonist is fish.We open for Lunch with fresh salads, bruschette and sandwiches, for Aperitif in italian style with international and tropical cocktails served with snacks and for Dinner with its warm atmosfere and excellent cuisine. Great music, latest videos, free Wi-Fi and a small art gallery are waiting to Gusto.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun, but expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Gusto Beach is really cool and I enjoyed the treehouses and tiki decor. They get what Locanda does well quite wrong tho - the drinks are expensive if not at happy hour, you have to pay for the beds on the beach, and the food is good, just nothing to write home about. The crab salad was actually kind of gross, but the tuna tartar made up for it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    60
    29
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“great location, great beach lounges, poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Initially, we liked it a lot. What a prime spot. Nice Pizza. Good drinks.

With time, you would have thought the staff would have started to smile a little, or at least warm up as much time as we had already spent there. By our third visit, that did not happen. So we went somewhere else. On a future trip, would not likely go back. But maybe, someone else will be working there by then.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Almost NO service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Love the setting, food is decent, but the service was horrible! We waited so long for anyone to even greet us and give us menus. The food from the kitchen came promptly, but our server was so busy chatting away with staff and completely ignored us. I do not like to ask for my bill and wait 20 minutes. I asked for the bill again, waited 20 more minutes... Had to got to bar to retrieve and pay the bill as my kid was sleeping at the table. Third time here in Sámara, sorry to say that was our last time eating there. Cannot even rate it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“My daily dose of hedonism.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I visited Gusto at least once a day over the 8 days I was in Samara.

I'll keep it simple... the food was very good (the pizza was amazing even on "free pizza" night)
The drinks were phenomenal.
The setting is pure beach paradise.
The service is laid back, but I wasn't in a hurry to go anywhere anyways :) And to be serious, service is laid back everywhere in Costa Rica, if you're in a hurry... travel somewhere else.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Great location on the beach, nice view, had tuna steak, pesto pasta, and wasabi tuna and all were great. Service is typically more "relaxed" in Costa Rica so don't expect people to be rushing with your order or chq. Not the cheapest in Samara but enoyed the atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gusto creativo italiano also viewed

Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Gusto creativo italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gusto creativo italiano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.