We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Salads and great seafood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Esmeralda

Casa Esmeralda
Samara Beach | 300 Mts. Oeste Correo Postal, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
506 2656-0489
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 49 Restaurants in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian, Central American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
seattle
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful Salads and great seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The salads were monstors and delish. i had fresh fish with shrimp and a red sauce on it. It was soooo good.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    104
    24
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edina, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Consistently Very Good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Everything we tried, we loved! The prices were very reasonable as well. ($10-12 per entre) Clean, modern and the best food in Samara

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Without a doubt, the best restaurant we ate at.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

If it's not on the menu, Jefe Anna will cook whatever you like. Wonderful menu, everything cooked to perfection, but if you wish to create your own salad or pasta or whatever, Anna will do whatever it takes to please your palate. My dinner was so good, even though the place was crowded, I had to yell into the open kitchen a big thank you for providing the best meal I'd had in two weeks. (And we ate out a lot!)

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Good Food, Crummy Ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Though this place needs a makeover to make for a more memorable dining experience, we received great service and loved our meals. Fish and shrimp with avocado sauce was my favorite meal on our trip. Margaritas were good, though a tad salty, and I received a complimentary shot of sugar cane liquor for my birthday!

The price was very very reasonable. Our bill included two meals (fish and shrimp), four beers, and two margaritas for $35.

(FYI, this place will also prepare the fish you catch for a price far lower than what our hotel was charging!)

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Simple place, delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

This is a simple place, at first hand it doesn't look anything special, but the food is great!

We tried some pasta with seafood, at a very decent price and the taste was excellent. If you are looking for a quiet small place, with decent prices and excellent food this is the place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Esmeralda also viewed

Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Casa Esmeralda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Esmeralda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.