We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, fresh, homestyle cooking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Esmeralda

Casa Esmeralda
Samara Beach | 300 Mts. Oeste Correo Postal, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
506 2656-0489
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 47 Restaurants in Playa Samara
Cuisines: Italian, Costa Rican, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good, fresh, homestyle cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

This was the first place we ate in Samara, on the advice of Dr. Freddy Soto (a charming local physician if you are in need of a doctor while on vacation). It was, as advertised; simple, local style food, cooked with fresh ingredients. Although it is not on the beach, it has a nice "casa" sort of feel to it. We were the first ones there the night we went, but it quickly filled up with locals and tourists alike. I wasn't feeling great that night so I had a simple chicken and rice dish with salad on the side. It was very tasty without being over done. My husband had pork with rice and beans which he said was very good too. Wines by the glass were some of the best we had, very reasonable and nicely chilled. Although we were a couple, I think this would be a great place for families. It was very family friendly, the menu had lots of good options for kids and it was very reasonable. We would definitely recommend dinner here if you are visiting Playa Samara.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    87
    18
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guelph
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Busy restaurant but no reservation necessary. Short wait. Service average. Food good. Fish soup was very good. Very affordable. Atmosphere noisy. Enjoyed our evening.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good Italian Food with a Costa Rican Spin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

The service and the food were very good at this restaurant about a block and a half off the beach. Everyone's meals were very yummy and all plates were clean at the end. The server was very wonderful to bring out our daughter's food 1st. I would recommend this little restaurant to anyone. Please note that they are closed on Sundays.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Broad Selection of Food for the Family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Casa Esmeralda was recommended to us by our hotel. While the outside isn't much to look at, the restaurant had the right amount of hustle and bustle appropriate for our family of four, including our 5 year old son. The menu choices were pretty broad--seafood, pasta, typico... My son scarfed down a gigantic plate of spaghetti with meat sauce. I had a house-recommended pasta with a shrimp and mushroom wine sauce. The other two in our party ordered rice dishes with shrimp and vegetables. There were definitely no complaints at our table! Of all the places we ate during our 5 days in Samara, this was one of our favorites and a very easy place to take the family.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good in Samara terms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Not very happy with the food in Samara. Casa Esmeralda was good enough for a second visit. Had fish and shrimp in tomato sauce the first time. Quite salty, but ok. Had rice a la Esmeralda the second time. The place is always full around 7.30 so be on time!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Esmeralda also viewed

Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Casa Esmeralda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Esmeralda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.