We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in Samara” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Esmeralda

Casa Esmeralda
Samara Beach | 300 Mts. Oeste Correo Postal, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
506 2656-0489
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 47 Restaurants in Playa Samara
Cuisines: Italian, Costa Rican, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Windsor, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Samara”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We are writing this review in praise of Esmeralda's, the best restaurant in town. We have the good fortune of spending a lot of time in Samara each year. One of the many pleasures that it affords is being able to dine at Esmeralda's many times during our stay. The restaurant has a first class menu and serves well crafted dishes the ingredients being fresh and of high quality, with unique flavours and beautifully blended sauces all at a reasonable price. The level of service is excellent and the friendly and cheerful staff can't do enough to make a visit to Esmeralda's an experience to remember.

Dave and Liz. (Belvedere) Canada

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    87
    18
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cameron Park, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Average Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

A lot of people love this restaurant, but I really dont see the appeal... perhaps I just havent ordered the right food. Staff is friendly and its open all day, so that is a plus

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food reasonable price not much atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The whole snapper is excellent and a good deal, particularly when it is the special. All seafood is very good particularly the appetizers. Atmosphere is lacking, but service and food make it worth a visit

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good food at a good price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Although not your beach side cafe the food is excellent and reasonably priced. The most we paid was $40 for 3 courses and a drink for 2 of us. Staff were friendly and effecient and recognised us on our second visit. Seafood pasta was excellent. We eat here for the 4 nights we were in Samara. Very convenient for Hotel Belvedere.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best meal in Samara”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Although the location can't compete with the beach side restaurants like El Lagarto (second favourite), the food at Casa Esmeralda was awesome. I had the avocado fish (to die for), and they had an extensive kids menu as well. Good service, and really consistent food.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Esmeralda also viewed

Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Casa Esmeralda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Esmeralda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.