We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent typical food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Esmeralda

Casa Esmeralda
Samara Beach | 300 Mts. Oeste Correo Postal, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
506 2656-0489
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 50 Restaurants in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pasta, Central American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Doing business, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent typical food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Not really on the beach but they serve an excellent and typical food. The fish with shrimps and tomato sauce was really delicious as well as the grilled fish served with rice, beans and sweet plantains. The service was also great and our dishes reasonably priced. Not the ideal place for dinner, but the food is really worth going there, so just try it!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    108
    24
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This restaurant had amazing gnocchi with gorganzola cream sauce, and they delivered to our bungalow at El Pequeno Gecko Verde.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Very good food, shame about the wait!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

We ate here as people have highly recommended the seafood including lobster. The restaurant was busy and most people appeared to already be eating however for whatever reason it took over an hour to receive our order including 45mins for some garlic bread. By this point we had almost polished off a bottle of wine. When the food did come it was tasty but much of the seafood was on the verge of being overcooked which let the side down slightly. The whole grilled snapper was the best part in our view.

To sum up, the restaurant is definitely worth a visit for the good food but they really need to work on their prep times!!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food and best value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I cannot find any cheaper place to eat in Samara than here. I loved the grilled fish dish which is 3200 colones (less than $7) which comes with salad, black beans, rice, plantains. I also tried the chicken with cheese which is ok. Too bad it was close on Sunday or I would go back 3 days in a row for dinner!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best place in Samara”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is by far the best restaurant in Samara.
We had the lobster which was excellent as well as the seafood pasta. Even the casados are good.
Prices are reasonable but not cheap.
This is supposed to be the only local restaurant in Samara which makes us want to eat there even more.
Service friendly and genuine.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Esmeralda also viewed

Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Casa Esmeralda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Esmeralda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.