We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food, shame about the wait!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Esmeralda

Casa Esmeralda
Samara Beach | 300 Mts. Oeste Correo Postal, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
506 2656-0489
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 49 restaurants in Playa Samara
Cuisines: Italian, Costa Rican, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Very good food, shame about the wait!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

We ate here as people have highly recommended the seafood including lobster. The restaurant was busy and most people appeared to already be eating however for whatever reason it took over an hour to receive our order including 45mins for some garlic bread. By this point we had almost polished off a bottle of wine. When the food did come it was tasty but much of the seafood was on the verge of being overcooked which let the side down slightly. The whole grilled snapper was the best part in our view.

To sum up, the restaurant is definitely worth a visit for the good food but they really need to work on their prep times!!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    151
    85
    14
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Menlo Park, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food and best value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I cannot find any cheaper place to eat in Samara than here. I loved the grilled fish dish which is 3200 colones (less than $7) which comes with salad, black beans, rice, plantains. I also tried the chicken with cheese which is ok. Too bad it was close on Sunday or I would go back 3 days in a row for dinner!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Best place in Samara”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is by far the best restaurant in Samara.
We had the lobster which was excellent as well as the seafood pasta. Even the casados are good.
Prices are reasonable but not cheap.
This is supposed to be the only local restaurant in Samara which makes us want to eat there even more.
Service friendly and genuine.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Easy to find, right in the main area of Samara. Food was pretty good. I had the spaghetti with seafood and was very happy with my meal. The others in my party thought the food was ok so I went with an average rating. Ambiance is nice. Pricing was good also.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The BEST place to eat in Samara!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We ate at Casa Esmeralda numerous times. Meals (chicken, seafoods, pastas) were always excellent. Service was very good, fast, and friendly. Prices were about the best in Samara. We would eat there again and again.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Esmeralda also viewed

Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Casa Esmeralda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Esmeralda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.