We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and consistent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Ancla

El Ancla
175 meters east of the main beach entrance, Playa Samara, Costa Rica
506 656-0254
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 47 Restaurants in Playa Samara
Cuisines: Costa Rican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
oregon
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good and consistent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We ate here four different times, four different meals, and each time we were not disappointed. I think El Ancla is slightly over-priced because of its location right on the beach, but they have a varied menu, and the food is good. Not gourmet, and not excellent, but consistently good. Service and atmosphere are good, too.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    37
    19
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“skip it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband and I visited Playa Samara in April 2012 and considered El Ancla for dinner one evening. We decided to leave after being sat though, as the restaurant was far from clean. All of the table clothes were stained and dirty, the menu we received had food stuck to it, and the view of the kitchen left much to be desired. If you are looking for a meal in Playa Samara try Tabanuco or Gusto Creativo instead.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milwaukee, WI
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great place to relax!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Nice place to hang out on the beach. They have games that can be played while enjoying your refreshments. I wish I would have found this place sooner.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

My friends and I grabbed a quick lunch here on our last day. I split the chicken/beef nachos and the caprese salad. Both excellent! My fiance got their club sandwich which was loaded with all types of good stuff including fresh ham and an egg!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“The best seafood in region!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Every time I am in the Samara beach area I go to EL ANCLA. The seafood is very fresh and great. The atmosphere is terrific as you are right on the beach. The lobster dinner is an experience! Thank you "EL Ancla" for always being there!.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Ancla also viewed

Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to El Ancla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Ancla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.