We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“skip it” 2 of 5 stars
Review of El Ancla

El Ancla
175 meters east of the main beach entrance, Playa Samara, Costa Rica
506 656-0254
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 49 Restaurants in Playa Samara
Cuisines: Costa Rican
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“skip it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband and I visited Playa Samara in April 2012 and considered El Ancla for dinner one evening. We decided to leave after being sat though, as the restaurant was far from clean. All of the table clothes were stained and dirty, the menu we received had food stuck to it, and the view of the kitchen left much to be desired. If you are looking for a meal in Playa Samara try Tabanuco or Gusto Creativo instead.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    42
    20
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
milwaukee, WI
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great place to relax!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Nice place to hang out on the beach. They have games that can be played while enjoying your refreshments. I wish I would have found this place sooner.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

My friends and I grabbed a quick lunch here on our last day. I split the chicken/beef nachos and the caprese salad. Both excellent! My fiance got their club sandwich which was loaded with all types of good stuff including fresh ham and an egg!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“The best seafood in region!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Every time I am in the Samara beach area I go to EL ANCLA. The seafood is very fresh and great. The atmosphere is terrific as you are right on the beach. The lobster dinner is an experience! Thank you "EL Ancla" for always being there!.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, NJ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Decent food, but be prepared to wait one hour+ for your food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Food was ok but our party of 7 waited about 90 minutes to get our food. They kept telling us it was coming soon, so we kept waiting. Our children were famished and I was about to cry from frustration. It felt like there was one guy in the back preparing. Also stay away from the Alfredo sauce, you will get a heart attack. Maybe if you go at a non-meal time like before 11am or after 3pm it would be ok. We went at 1:30pm.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Ancla also viewed

Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to El Ancla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Ancla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.