We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Oasis by the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sol Samara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Sol Samara to your Saves list
Hotel Sol Samara
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Samara, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Playa Samara
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful Oasis by the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed at Sol Samara for 2 nights and were very happy with our stay. The rooms are contemporary and all have garden views and are very clean. It is just a very short walk to Playa Samara, or you can also walk to Playa Carillo which is a more beautiful beach, but a 20 min walk. For us it was no problem and it was an easy walk. Sol Samara is about a 7 minute drive to Playa Samara or you can walk along the beach to get to Samara. We didn't do it, but were told by fellow travellers it only takes about 25 minutes, plus it is a beautiful walk.

We had dinner one night which was really good and we also had breakfast each morning which was included in the room price and this was also delicious!

The front reception is very kind and helpful. Leo was always willing to answer questions I had or help to book transportation to our next destination.

I would highly recommend staying at SS for its peaceful surroundings (ok there are roosters that crowed every morning, but just bring earplugs as you could get this anywhere in CR), good food, fresh exotic fruit juices, beach location and friendly staff.

Very good value for money.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room on the 2nd floor ( there are only 2 floors) as you get a nice veranda with chai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    31
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
39
50
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
staffordshire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Going to Hotel Sol Samara is like visiting a friend in an out of town are. It is great fot peace and quite, close to a great beach, you can 'borrow' thier Kayake and slide across the water or take a light chair and relax under the palm tree on the beach or in their lovely garden. HOWEVER, you need a car to get to town as it is 2.5 km away, otheriwse it is ideal for what its offer....Will stay there again

Room Tip: You need a car if you want to get to town as it is 2,5 km away
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and were very pleased. The rooms were clean and the pool was great for a refreshing dip. Food was good (had dinner one night) and it was just a short walk to the beach for fabulous sunsets. You do need a car if you want to go into town - or you can walk along the beach to town, maybe 1/2 hour. The young man who worked during the evening was very attentive and a very hard worker - wish I knew his name. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada,Deep River
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We are Canadian and we stayed approximately 6 nights at Sol Samara in Samara Costa Rica. I noticed another person referred to it as a little gem of a hotel. I would agree with that description. The rooms are quite new with a TV and AC. You can sit outside your room and read a book. The pool is small but absoulutely spotless and it is just right after a swim in the ocean which is about a foot ball´s length away. You can easily walk to the town by way of the beach. The best part of this hotel is the staff they make you feel you are at home. The food is good and very inexpensive. Leo will help you with any day trips you wish to take and always with a smile on his face. We are leaving today and we will definitely remember this little gem of a hotel. I would rate it excellent.

Sandra McIlquham and Richard McIlquham

Room Tip: Room was located upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We booked with Sol Samara through hostelworld.com last minute for dates over Christmas - we were in need of accommodations and scooped up this deal with guarded expectations. To our suprise, our expectations were exceeded by this hotel with the exception of it's location. It was a bit far out of town and if we didn't have a rental car, there would have been some serious commuting time on foot to and from the town of Samara via the beach.

However, if you have a car and can confidently navigate Costa Rican roads in the dark, then this place is a pretty good deal. The rooms were a nice size, clean and tastefully decorated. The a/c made a difference in the muggy air and we slept like babies each night. Breakfast was included and provided a few different options to choose from and included coffee and fresh juice. This helped save time and money hunting for food in town and allowed up to get a quick start on the day. The pool, while small and tucked away, was a great way to refresh yourself after a day at the beach.

All in all, we really enjoyed our time here - the staff were all really friendly and genuine and I felt like we ended up in the right place in the end.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here two nights and thoroughly enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere of a cozy beach hotel that didn't feel like a tourist trap. It's located a short drive (or nice long walk on the beach) from the minor hubbub of Samara's center, as well as a short drive in the other direction to tranquil Playa Carillo (which is somewhere definitely worth spending a lazy day under palms sipping rum and pineapple juice,or your beverage of choice). It's certainly not the fanciest of the places we stayed on our trip, but it's clean, cozy, and the staff is very friendly and attentive and will help you to arrange whatever excursions you'd like while there. We liked that the location, nestled among a small fishing village where we encountered chickens and dogs along the short walk to the beach, allowed us a little local flavor but some travelers expecting a more resort-like experience hidden from such things could be disappointed. All in all, it was a fantastic time and great value and we'd stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We had a wonderful stay last month at Sol Samara. The staff was wonderful and the location is quite lovely. They also planned our wedding and we were married on the beach right down the road from the hotel. The wedding was perfect...a very magical sunset ceremony...complete with flowers and tikki torches! We even had dinner on the beach and the food was delicious. We highly recommend this hotel, good food, clean/comfortable rooms, charming little pool, steps from the beach and a great place to relax and get away from it all!!!!

Room Tip: We had the double room at the very end of the second floor. Wonderful balcony to sit on in the even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sol Samara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sol Samara

Address: Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sol Samara 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sol Samara is located within walking distance of Playa Sámara and very close to Puerto Carrillo Beach, two of the most beautiful beaches in Costa Rica and Central America, according to expert travel critics such as Trip Advisor.You will be greeted at our hotel with authentic Costa Rican charm and courteous service, making you feel at home from the moment of your arrival. Hotel Sol Samara offers within its facilities an open air lobby cafe/lounge, a restaurant specializing in fresh seafood and a pool. Rooms offer new features such as flat screen TVs, telephones and air-conditioning, all of which can be left behind at your choice to fade into the relaxing tropical paradise Samara Beach.From the hotel, you can enjoy unforgettable tours and guided activities such as kayaking and snorkeling trips to Isla Chora, turtle observation tours to Playa Camaronal or Ostional National Park, tours to Palo Verde, guided trips to the Barra Honda Caverns, Dolphin watching tours, bird watching tours on bike, tours with the crocodiles and many adventure activities like the fun banana boat ride and the innovative Stand up and Paddle in Playa Sámara. You can simply relax in our facilities or explore this vast beach and enjoy the extraordinary sunsets of Playa Sámara, participate in the traditions and culture of the Sámara community and surrounding villages as well as the colonial city of Nicoya. Observe and share experiences with local families and learn about artisan lobster fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelBookers and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sol Samara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sol Samara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.