We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise - great value, genuine service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sol Samara

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sol Samara to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sol Samara
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Samara, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Playa Samara
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise - great value, genuine service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We booked with Sol Samara through hostelworld.com last minute for dates over Christmas - we were in need of accommodations and scooped up this deal with guarded expectations. To our suprise, our expectations were exceeded by this hotel with the exception of it's location. It was a bit far out of town and if we didn't have a rental car, there would have been some serious commuting time on foot to and from the town of Samara via the beach.

However, if you have a car and can confidently navigate Costa Rican roads in the dark, then this place is a pretty good deal. The rooms were a nice size, clean and tastefully decorated. The a/c made a difference in the muggy air and we slept like babies each night. Breakfast was included and provided a few different options to choose from and included coffee and fresh juice. This helped save time and money hunting for food in town and allowed up to get a quick start on the day. The pool, while small and tucked away, was a great way to refresh yourself after a day at the beach.

All in all, we really enjoyed our time here - the staff were all really friendly and genuine and I felt like we ended up in the right place in the end.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    30
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
39
50
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here two nights and thoroughly enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere of a cozy beach hotel that didn't feel like a tourist trap. It's located a short drive (or nice long walk on the beach) from the minor hubbub of Samara's center, as well as a short drive in the other direction to tranquil Playa Carillo (which is somewhere definitely worth spending a lazy day under palms sipping rum and pineapple juice,or your beverage of choice). It's certainly not the fanciest of the places we stayed on our trip, but it's clean, cozy, and the staff is very friendly and attentive and will help you to arrange whatever excursions you'd like while there. We liked that the location, nestled among a small fishing village where we encountered chickens and dogs along the short walk to the beach, allowed us a little local flavor but some travelers expecting a more resort-like experience hidden from such things could be disappointed. All in all, it was a fantastic time and great value and we'd stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We had a wonderful stay last month at Sol Samara. The staff was wonderful and the location is quite lovely. They also planned our wedding and we were married on the beach right down the road from the hotel. The wedding was perfect...a very magical sunset ceremony...complete with flowers and tikki torches! We even had dinner on the beach and the food was delicious. We highly recommend this hotel, good food, clean/comfortable rooms, charming little pool, steps from the beach and a great place to relax and get away from it all!!!!

Room Tip: We had the double room at the very end of the second floor. Wonderful balcony to sit on in the even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

My husband and I were booked the stay three nights here as part of a trip through Gate 1 Travel. When we arrived, the staff was kind and the hotel room itself was clean.

We wanted to walk down to the beach which was only a couple hundred feet away. During the walk, we passed by roosters, dogs, etc. Honestly, it was okay as we understood at that point we were in a more local area. We were told there were a few beach-side bars and even had a map to show where they were - there was absolutely nothing on the beach (except a bunch of closed down buildings).

We ended up leaving that night, mainly because we were told there was scuba diving in the area (we had even located a dive shop before we left), but once we got there, were told there was definitely no diving nearby.

If you're looking for a laid-back, rustic location, then I'm sure you'll enjoy the hotel and the area. We were just expecting something different and it didn't match up with the plans we had made for that part of our trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Hotel Sol Samara is a little ways from the main beach but there is a secluded beach with fishing and snorkeling around the corner. the hotel staff are really nice and will help you book activities, taxis, or restaurants. We really enjoyed the zip lines and the snorkeling. Highly recommended if you have a car or don't mind walking to the main beach.

Also, there is a pool. It is hidden away in the back.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tres Rios Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

And also we had a very nice 4 days over there, we visited playa Carrillo and it is only 5 inutes from Sol Samara. Really we did enjoy the place ! Thanks

Room Tip: Second floor is better !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director Comercial at Hotel Sol Samara, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear friends of Sol Samara Hotel
For us it is a joy to know that your stay in our hotel and the beautiful beaches of Samara and Carrillo Puerto was pleasant. Thank you very much for helping us build a image with your comments. We are committed to strive every day.
We look forward to see you back in our hotel.
Sol Samara staff .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We stayed two nights here and enjoyed it immensely. The staff were so accomodating in helping me make calls to the US to check on my son who had been hospitalized in my absence. The breakfast was excellent, our room was clean, the air conditioner worked great - what more can you ask for? Staff helped us book an ocean kayak tour and gave us directions and a discount coupon for an excellent restaurant. We enjoyed the beaches at Samara and Carillo. I would not hesitate to stay here again, and I hope to on my next trip to Costa Rica. Pura vida!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Consuhotel, Director Comercial at Hotel Sol Samara, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for helping us build a positive image. We pledge to work every day to achieve it.
For us it is gratifying that your expectations have been met in our hotel and the beautiful beach in Samara.
We hope to see you soon

Sol Samara Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sol Samara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sol Samara

Address: Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sol Samara 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sol Samara is located within walking distance of Playa Sámara and very close to Puerto Carrillo Beach, two of the most beautiful beaches in Costa Rica and Central America, according to expert travel critics such as Trip Advisor.You will be greeted at our hotel with authentic Costa Rican charm and courteous service, making you feel at home from the moment of your arrival. Hotel Sol Samara offers within its facilities an open air lobby cafe/lounge, a restaurant specializing in fresh seafood and a pool. Rooms offer new features such as flat screen TVs, telephones and air-conditioning, all of which can be left behind at your choice to fade into the relaxing tropical paradise Samara Beach.From the hotel, you can enjoy unforgettable tours and guided activities such as kayaking and snorkeling trips to Isla Chora, turtle observation tours to Playa Camaronal or Ostional National Park, tours to Palo Verde, guided trips to the Barra Honda Caverns, Dolphin watching tours, bird watching tours on bike, tours with the crocodiles and many adventure activities like the fun banana boat ride and the innovative Stand up and Paddle in Playa Sámara. You can simply relax in our facilities or explore this vast beach and enjoy the extraordinary sunsets of Playa Sámara, participate in the traditions and culture of the Sámara community and surrounding villages as well as the colonial city of Nicoya. Observe and share experiences with local families and learn about artisan lobster fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Sol Samara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sol Samara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.