We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and authentic neighbourhood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sol Samara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sol Samara to your Saves list
Hotel Sol Samara
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Samara, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Playa Samara
1 review
“Charming and authentic neighbourhood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Hotel Sol Samara is a little ways from the main beach but there is a secluded beach with fishing and snorkeling around the corner. the hotel staff are really nice and will help you book activities, taxis, or restaurants. We really enjoyed the zip lines and the snorkeling. Highly recommended if you have a car or don't mind walking to the main beach.

Also, there is a pool. It is hidden away in the back.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    31
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
39
51
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tres Rios Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

And also we had a very nice 4 days over there, we visited playa Carrillo and it is only 5 inutes from Sol Samara. Really we did enjoy the place ! Thanks

Room Tip: Second floor is better !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director Comercial at Hotel Sol Samara, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear friends of Sol Samara Hotel
For us it is a joy to know that your stay in our hotel and the beautiful beaches of Samara and Carrillo Puerto was pleasant. Thank you very much for helping us build a image with your comments. We are committed to strive every day.
We look forward to see you back in our hotel.
Sol Samara staff .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We stayed two nights here and enjoyed it immensely. The staff were so accomodating in helping me make calls to the US to check on my son who had been hospitalized in my absence. The breakfast was excellent, our room was clean, the air conditioner worked great - what more can you ask for? Staff helped us book an ocean kayak tour and gave us directions and a discount coupon for an excellent restaurant. We enjoyed the beaches at Samara and Carillo. I would not hesitate to stay here again, and I hope to on my next trip to Costa Rica. Pura vida!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Consuhotel, Director Comercial at Hotel Sol Samara, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for helping us build a positive image. We pledge to work every day to achieve it.
For us it is gratifying that your expectations have been met in our hotel and the beautiful beach in Samara.
We hope to see you soon

Sol Samara Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

I stayed at Hotel Sol Samara in April 2012 as part of a tour group. Of the month that I was away, this particular hotel provided the best and most professional service of all. Jesus was an absolute star and greeted us all by name every day and couldn't do enough to help. The hotel was in a great location right next to the beach and not too far a walk to town. The meals at this hotel were delicious and I highly recommend this hotel to everyone. The pool was lovely, quiet and clean and the family who manage this hotel were friendly and always accommodating.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

This hotel was extremely disappointing to us and we moved after the first night. We were booked here on a trip through Gate One Travel. We were to stay three nights here and expected it to be the same level as we had encountered previously. To start, the area is "rustic". You walk five to seven minutes down a dirt lane to the beach on which we encountered dogs, roosters, iguana and even a wandering horse- Lots of local color here!! The rooms are small with no place to put your luggage on, and no dresser drawers, but they are very clean as we found everything to be in Costa Rica. The reception staff spoke very limited english, but made a great effort to be helpful when they knew we were unhappy with the accomodations. The female manager/owner came to the hotel, but she too spoke limited English. We spoke with with Leo the next morning and he was in another town. The reception/breakfast room/restaurant was completely open and we found it to be uncomfortably hot. Perspiring while eating breakfast doesn't lend itself to an enjoyable experience. There is a large grassy yard which all rooms look out on, but we didn't find it at all scenic although we did enjoy watching the cat lounging around all the chickens. The beach at Samara is lovely and when we moved to Flamingo Beach we missed the water and wide beach. At the beach near Sol Samara there were no lounge chairs at this location to enjoy the beach, however the hotel did offer plastic upright chairs which were around the tables on the lawn. We were traveling with my in laws and they were equally disappointed.with the hotel and I thought this review might be helpful to others.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Consuhotel, Director of Sales at Hotel Sol Samara, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Dear Guest:
Thank for taking the time to write your feedback to us, we learn every day from you and get motivation from this to improve every day.
We are sorry about the mistake of your agency booking you in our hotel that is a 3 star hotel instead of a 5 o 4 star as you expected and mentioned from the beginning of your comment.
Bellboys, air conditioned restaurant, lounge chairs at the beach and concierge service are not part of our services and we don’t offer such in any of our advertising ,web page etc.

We wanted to make you feel as good as possible among us with was on our reach by offering you a free dinner, no charge update to our master suite and make the necessary phone calls to your agency to get you a superior hotel in a different destination since Samara do not have 5 star hotels.
Samara is a beach town full of Costa Rican flavor and hotels are managed by local families mainly.
We will definitely continue working on improve our English skills, thank you for your comment and most important we hope you and your family had an enjoyable vacation in Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodø, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Hotel Sol Sámara is a little paradise situated in the midst of the locals 100 yards from the most beautiful 5 km long and wide, breathtaking beach Playa Sámara. The hotel staff and the boss are so friendly and helpful, and they do everything to make you feel comfortable and at home!
It takes a car- or bus ride to get there, like almost one hour from the nearest bigger town, Nicoya, so it is situated quite far away from the tourist tracks which is nice if you enjoy more remote areas. It is a very quiet place, the nearest village with some small shops, is 3 kms away. There are several, nice restaurants in that village. You can walk along the beach to get to the village, it takes like 30-45 minutes. Or you can take a cab for 2000 colones (3 dollars). The staff will happily help you out to phone for a taxi. Life in the area is easygoing and slow. It is a remote area. You can breathe deeply here and relax. Beautiful sunsets. You almost have the beach for yourself. It is a perfect place to go surfing and swimming, and a lot of surfers stay around the village 3 kms away from the hotel. You can walk along the beach and contact the surfing offices directly. We went out on the Pacific Ocean to go fishing, we saw those big sea turtles swimming around in the ocean, there are whale and dolphin trips. We were 8 people (2 adults, one kid and 5 teenagers).
What really made our 10 days stay very beautiful and warmed our hearts, was the warmth and service provided 24/7 by the staff. They did everything for us! It was like beeing home with someone caring for us all the time. The rooms are nice and clean with very good AC, internet ok (falls out sometimes), the food excellent!! After we had been fishing, they prepared meals for us with our fish. Christmas Eve and New Years Eve was something special. They arranged meals and party just for us. I have never experienced such a serviceminded staff! They will be in my heart forever.
It is a place for rest, peace, beeing taken care of. Enjoy Sámara, the hotel, the staff and the surroundings!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Consuhotel, Director of Sales at Hotel Sol Samara, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Dear friends, we really apreciate your comments.

It´s a big joy for all of us to hear that your and your family stay at the hotel, and at the beautiful beaches of Samara and Puerto Carrillo was so pleasant .

Your feedback commit ourselves to strive more and more each time.

We hope you come back soon.

Best regards,
Sol Samara Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Our stay in the Solsamara hotel was excellent, Leo at the reception was extremely helpful with lot's of attention. He was a precious help for booking and advising us for hotel in Arenal. Everything was booked and he manage to find us the best, The same for our planes tickets.
It make a real difference when staff are professional.
I highly recommended this Hotel also for the situation, only 100 meters from the beach, delicious pancake and price for value and service.
Thank you Leo.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sol Samara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sol Samara

Address: Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sol Samara 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sol Samara is located within walking distance of Playa Sámara and very close to Puerto Carrillo Beach, two of the most beautiful beaches in Costa Rica and Central America, according to expert travel critics such as Trip Advisor.You will be greeted at our hotel with authentic Costa Rican charm and courteous service, making you feel at home from the moment of your arrival. Hotel Sol Samara offers within its facilities an open air lobby cafe/lounge, a restaurant specializing in fresh seafood and a pool. Rooms offer new features such as flat screen TVs, telephones and air-conditioning, all of which can be left behind at your choice to fade into the relaxing tropical paradise Samara Beach.From the hotel, you can enjoy unforgettable tours and guided activities such as kayaking and snorkeling trips to Isla Chora, turtle observation tours to Playa Camaronal or Ostional National Park, tours to Palo Verde, guided trips to the Barra Honda Caverns, Dolphin watching tours, bird watching tours on bike, tours with the crocodiles and many adventure activities like the fun banana boat ride and the innovative Stand up and Paddle in Playa Sámara. You can simply relax in our facilities or explore this vast beach and enjoy the extraordinary sunsets of Playa Sámara, participate in the traditions and culture of the Sámara community and surrounding villages as well as the colonial city of Nicoya. Observe and share experiences with local families and learn about artisan lobster fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelBookers and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sol Samara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sol Samara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.