We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding food and presentation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Lagarto

El Lagarto
Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 50 Restaurants in Playa Samara
Cuisines: Barbecue, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
cape cod, MA/naples, FL
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and presentation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My husband and I ate here just last night and can't say enough positive things about our experience. The atmosphere on the beach is incredible and the service matched the ambience. We both chose the 'surf and turf 2' -- steak and shrimp--and it was delicious along with a tasty, cheesy baked potato and grilled eggplant. Presentation on handmade, wooden platters was unique. We will definitely return!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    196
    86
    34
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
1 review
“Genius”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is such a creative/genius way to cook. We visited the Manuel Antonio location and it was the perfect spot to watch the sunset. I had a NY strip, cooked to perfection and full of flavor. The potatoe was one of the best I've ever had. Loved it

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leitrim, Ireland
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

This is really hidden away, we only decided to look for it from TA reviews. Thank you TA excellent food and service.A little walk on the beach however it is lit. The steaks were delicious. Yes its a little expensive compared to others . The portions are a godd size though.Dont miss is. They give you a 20% off voucher for next time too.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“nice friendly resto”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Good value for money - not exactly cheap but marvellous place, at the beach. Nicely furbished with wooden chairs, very good meat, excellent calamares, grilled veggies. We also loved your piña colada, margarita and caipi's ;-)!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“very good beef”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

we always go to Lagarto when we feels like eating a good steak! nice location on the beach and under a big tree, nice atmosphere and good service

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Lagarto also viewed

Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to El Lagarto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Lagarto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.