We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Lagarto

El Lagarto
Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 49 Restaurants in Playa Samara
Cuisines: Barbecue, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Bayport, New York, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The drinks and food were very good. Interesting butter concoction on the baked potato. I think I'm more a plain butter and sour cream chic. The steak was tasty, but too fatty for me. However, the other dishes were delicious. My daughter and friend had the oysters and they were fresh and tasty. The atmosphere was amazing and I would go back there again. You do need reservations however.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    106
    43
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Service, Great Food, Great Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

My husband and I will be back for the best steak and fish we've had so far, with perfect service and a great view of the ocean, too.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Yes, the prices are up there for the area...but it is worth it. beautiful location right on the beach. And the food is the best in town.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Crazy Atmosphere and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Went to dinner one night here and it feels as though you are dining on caveman furniture. It's all made of large pieces of wood and the plates are even slabs of wood. The food was excellent as was the service and we were sad we only got to have one meal there.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holderness, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Upscale wood grill on the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Nice beach setting restaurant. The grilled fish, squid, and shrimp were excellent, but the grilled chicken was to-die-for! I don't usually get excited about chicken, but this was like no chicken I have ever tasted before. We will have to go back to Costa Rica just for the chicken at El Lagarto!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Lagarto also viewed

Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to El Lagarto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Lagarto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.