We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach walking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Samara Beach

Samara Beach
Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Attraction details
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beach walking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We all went beach walking looking for shells. We found a few and the beach was very clean and pretty to be on even in the evening after dinner. Most of the eating places are located on the beach which is very nice at night.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    109
    27
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Beach Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

If you go to one beach in Costa Rica, go to Samara! We visited many more Northerly beaches (Conchal, Hermosa, Coco) but Samara was the best by far.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Too touristic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We traveled to Samara after Mal Pais and Playa Samara is 'just' one big beach full with tourists.
It is a nice beach, but there is just another atmosphere than in Mal Pais.
You can see the shops and restaurants aren't typical and on the beach there was trash.
We went to the nearby Playa Buenavista, which is so calm, without any shops. And so beautiful!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I love samara. Perfect size. Good food, nice locals and great sunsets. There so many places to stay for under 100 bucks you can surely find what you want

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Loved this beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This place is so lovely. So quiet and family oriented!
Great place to learn how to surf, in the afternoon the waves start to become higher and you could take surf lessons. I do recommend Ticos-Surf School with Christian; he was very kind and professional. If you do not surf the first day, he will make sure you come the next day and practice again for no extra cost. 
Full of coconuts trees along the beach! They do provide a beautiful and natural shade. However, if you have kids, be careful, because coconuts will fall from time to time. It did happen to us...Thanks God no one was hurt.
We did the kayak to the small island in front of the beach, it was a great exercise!
Great beach to relax! The town is small and rustic. No big resorts nor crowded.
Everyone is friendly and you could walk everywhere for shopping or dinner.
We stayed at Casa del Mar.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Samara Beach also viewed

Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Samara Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samara Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.