We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect hotel experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa Samara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
Save
You added The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara to your Saves list
on the road from Samara to Carrillo | 150 meters from the ICE Tower, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Playa Samara
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“The Perfect hotel experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

We spent six glorious days at this wonderful, intimate hotel. Doug and Rosie, the owners/operators, have gone to great lengths to create a visually attractive, customer focused boutique hotel. They arranged day trips, spent personal time and made sure that all of our needs were met.
Service was first rate by North American standards and we highly recommend this little gem of a hideaway on the Pacific Coast.
Can't wait to get back!
Brenda and Jerry

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    47
    11
    2
    4
See reviews for
125
307
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

We came to Playa Samara after a week's stay in Playa Hermosa where we had a great experience we didn't think could get much better. Our 6 night stay at the Hideaway proved us wrong. Not only did the Hideaway Hotel exceed our expectations, it truly "raised the bar" for our future travel in Costa Rica.

The location is ideal--away from the commercial activity of Playa Samara and close to two beautiful beaches (Playa Samara Sur and Playa Carrillo). Although not directly on the beach (it's about 500 ft. away down a quiet road), the gardens and pool form a beautiful tropical environment that is most inviting (complete with Howler Monkeys). The 12 guest rooms are in two buildings which are designed in such a way that each room has a balcony or terrace and feels very private. A third building completes the compound and contains the office and indoor/outdoor restaurant.

As an interior designer, I could really appreciate the rooms. They have been done in a clean, contemporary style with pleasing colors and materials. They are very spacious with a separate lounge area and contain all the expected ammenities including TV and mini fridge. The bath was equally spacious and featured a great walk-in shower. If you have traveled much in Central America you will really appreciate the cleanliness and high level of maintenance evident here.

The Hideaway's restaurant is good. We sampled quite a few menu items and all were prepared fresh and attractively served (the guacamole and home-made ice creams were particular favorites).

The owners, Rosy and Doug, are friendly and ready to answer any questions. They obviously take great pride in their hotel and make you feel very welcome. The staff are equally accommodating and are very well trained in serving the guests' needs.

The Hideaway is a true jewel that stands out for its great design and atmosphere and for its relaxed, attentive service. I consider it a great value and highly recommend it to anyone seeking an attractive, comfortable and conveniently located hotel in this beautiful part of Costa Rica. My wife and I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellfleet, ma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

My wife and I just returned from vacation in CR. We stayed at the Hideaway for three wonderful days. The beautiful Playa Carillo is just 5 minutes down the road with shade palms and great waves. Playa Samara right next door has a fun vibe. Rosy and Doug are great hosts offering travelers a comfortably small hotel with great hospitality. Be sure to try out Doug's signature brownies or his "Hideaway Sunset" before dinner. The room was great but mattresses are hard in CR, not quite what we're used to at home. That said, we loved it all and plan to return at the first opportunity.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2010

We stayed at the Hideaway for three days and had a great time. The owners and staff are all very service minded and friendly. The hotel is new, the pool is big enough for a little swim and the rooms are airy and clean. The beaches are only a few minutes away, and to walk into Samara (on the beach) takes about 45 minutes, by car it is about 7 minutes. This is a great place if you are looking for a quiet holiday, but again, it is only a short ride to Samara if you're looking for restaurants and more people!
Doug's mango drink is a must!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2010

This is a special, memorable place. As the Brussels family wrote (we visited at the same time as they), this is a very welcoming, comfortable hotel. The rooms are beautifully designed, with ample space, loads of light, comfy furniture, and a luxurious layout. The bathrooms, for example, have huge walk in showers, yet privacy built into the design.

The newly built hotel is exceptionally designed to be communal, yet offers privacy amidst beautiful landscaping. (My wife marveled at all the flora that she can't grow in Wisconsin ;))

Complimentary breakfast at the Hideaway Hotel is great, beyond what you could get at most hotels -- and served on the patio by the pool!

The hosts (Rosy and Doug) are extremely accommodating. For example, I cut my foot on a hike and Doug lent me his own shoes. When was the last time anyone heard of such sole-ful care.

To summarize, this is a great place that met the needs of all of us, including our teenager and 7-year-old,. The location is a two minute walk from the beach, and short rides (bus, drive, walk, etc) to fun destinations. We surfed at Jesse's Gym (fabulous); ziplined at Wing Nut (family-run, so fun); ate at Shake Joes, Cafe Esmeralda, and other local establishments.

This hotel was a great find and we're really glad we stayed here.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samara, Russia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2010

We stayed at the hotel the first days of New Year. I guess it's the best place in Samara for calm holiday. One minute drive to amazing Carillo beach. Doug and Rosy are very attentive to their guests. The staff at the hotel were very welcoming and made us feel comfortable in the hotel. My sons and I were enthuse over Rosy's baking and ice cream.
We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

We stayed 9 days in this freindly home like hotel. We have 4 children (2,4,7,11) and children and adults alike enjoyed every minute. The rooms are causy and clean, The food is very good but most of all the staff, Rosy and Douge were the most freindly people we met. They were always helpfull with good advices, Freindly assitance and even let us use some of their personal staff.
The hotel is located 2 minute walk from an amazing beach. We traveled around almost every day: Dolphin watching was great (we saw many), Surfing was very good (We recomand Jessi surfing school) but most of all we enjoyed Playa Barigona, It is 20 minutes drive to the north and with no doubt one of the most beutiful beaches we have ever been too.
We can recomand the Hideway hotel to any traveler but most of all for families looking for safe, Freindly small and relaxing place to stay and feel home away from home.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara

Address: on the road from Samara to Carrillo | 150 meters from the ICE Tower, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Hideaway you will enjoy the privacy of our exclusive location on Samara Beach in Costa Rica. BOOK DIRECTLY WITH US writing an e-mail to get BETTER RATES! We offer 12 hotel rooms and a Penthouse suite with 3 bedrooms. The Hideaway appeals to travelers looking for a luxury hotel, who appreciate extra amenities. Our quiet location close to Samara & Carrillo offers relaxation and privacy, plus easy access to exciting activities. Our boutique hotel on Samara Beach is uniquely situated on a one-acre private lot, approximately 1-minute's stroll to the ocean. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.