We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara to your Saves list
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   on the road from Samara to Carrillo | 150 meters from the ICE Tower, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Playa Samara
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I am actually a Samara resident and stayed here with my visiting boyfriend in the beginning of December 2012. I specifically chose to stay here (literally to "hide away" from everyone I know in Samara!) because I had heard from others it was a nice place, a little bit out of the center of Samara.

True enough, though Doug and Rosy were not there, I was pleasantly surprised as to the how well-trained the staff are there, and how friendly and personable. All the rooms are in 2-story buildings grouped around a small patio and swimming pool, all on a private compound just a couple minute's walk from Samara beach. The rooms and grounds are well-kept, and you have a high chance to see families of howler monkeys in the trees surrounding the hotel. Carillo beach is only about a 10 minute walk down the main road in another direction, so you have both beaches to access easily.

They have small dining area in the main reception building, where you can order from quite a good menu at almost any time of day. As mentioned earlier, service was impeccable. It was obvious that care had been taken in training, which is not the case in other establishments around Samara.

Highly recommended for a quiet getaway.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    56
    11
    3
    4
See reviews for
141
329
11
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northville, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

My wife and I much enjoyed our stay at the Hideaway. We loved the layout and amenities of the room and the little balcony overlooking the pool and the patio. The owners and staff are wonderful and great service all around. It's a bit of a walk along the beach to the restaurants in Samara but the flip side is proximity to the Carrillo beach and the hiking/climbing around the pretty rocky tip that separates both beaches. Very pleasant clientele as well.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Great location, nice premises with well kept gardens and pool area, superior service. The staff are very attentive and very well trained. The rooms are spacious with large bathrooms. The front desk folks and Rosie and Doug are great for arranging excursions and activities with great tips on where to go what to do and when to do it. The cook is tremendous and Costa Rica's beaches and countryside are beautiful with warm people. We had a tremendous vacaton and met some great other guests.

Theresa & Bob

Room Tip: Room 12 was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed at Hideaway for 4 days (including New Years Eve) and had a wonderful experience from start to finish. We were lucky to book the rooms so last minute, and even that process was quick and helpful - the Hideaway staff responds to email requests for reservations quickly and thoroughly. Once we got to CR we were staying in another town about two hours away, having trouble figuring out how to get to Samara (eep, we didn't plan much ahead...) and all it took was an email to the Hideaway asking for advice and they set up a door-to-door shuttle for us. Such a lifesaver! Once we made it to Samara, we were cared for like family at their hotel, with every request being catered to. Their small but busy staff runs a small-feel hotel as if it were a family getaway, and we loved hanging out at the beautiful pool, snacking on homemade fresh fish and smoothies, and setting out for day trips to Samara or Carillo beach (neither of which is very far - it's a great area to spend some lazy relaxing time). They helped us find tours to go on (highly suggest the kayak half-day trip with snorkeling) and set up our transportation to our next stop on our itinerary. The rooms were very comfortable, each with its own private entrance, so it felt very cozy (our A/C wasn't working initially and they had us switched to another room without issue). Thanks to Rosy and Doug - we loved the Hideaway and will definitely recommend to our friends!

Room Tip: Room 4 gets lots of sun, but Room 11 was shadier and felt like we were deep in a private jungle! Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortine, Montana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Beautiful location. Attentive and delightful staff. Clean rooms with beautiful views. Great food from the restaurant. Maybe the best beaches I have ever seen for swimming and body surfing. I only wish we had more time to stay at the Hideaway!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My husband and I recently vacationed in Costa Rica for 16 days. Travelled around quite a bit to different areas but ended our vacation by spending the last 5 nights at the Hideaway. Great way to end our holiday in this peaceful, beautiful setting. The room was spacious, bright and clean. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The menu was extensive and very well-prepared. Doug & Rosie were great hosts and made some very helpful recommendations. The location is so close to Samara Beach with the most spectacular sunsets ever. By car, you are 2 min. to Playa Carillo - beautiful, secluded beach... take a cooler and you are good for the day. We loved Samara and would go back in a heartbeat. Thanks to all that made our stay at the Hideaway so memorable!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My cousin and I were planning on staying one night in Playa Samara. Just a quick stop, and then on to another spot. Three days later, we found it difficult to leave the beautiful, comfortable, and casual digs that Doug and Rosie preside over. The Hideaway is a small boutique hotel, with large rooms, all clean and nicely adorned, with a small pool and restaurant on the premises. The food is quite good (with delicious homemade ice-cream to boot). The best part for me was the vibe. It feels completely casual. Almost like you're staying in a guesthouse at your friend's fancy compound. At the same time, the staff does an incredible job of always being there when you need something, without ever pressuring you when you just want to relax.

The beach is just a one minute walk down a dirt road, and is very quiet and peaceful. It definitely helps to have a car if you want to get into town, as it's about a 40 minute walk otherwise. But if you're traveling around Costa Rica, well, you should be doing it by car. The town itself is a fun little beach community. It too has a relaxed, laid-back vibe, with a good number of bars and restaurants. If you're looking to escape the hordes of tourists, this is a great place to visit.

And again, Doug's the man.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara

Address: on the road from Samara to Carrillo | 150 meters from the ICE Tower, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Hideaway you will enjoy the privacy of our exclusive location on Samara Beach in Costa Rica. BOOK DIRECTLY WITH US writing an e-mail to get BETTER RATES! We offer 12 hotel rooms and a Penthouse suite with 3 bedrooms. The Hideaway appeals to travelers looking for a luxury hotel, who appreciate extra amenities. Our quiet location close to Samara & Carrillo offers relaxation and privacy, plus easy access to exciting activities. Our boutique hotel on Samara Beach is uniquely situated on a one-acre private lot, approximately 1-minute's stroll to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.