We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely tropical location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Flying Crocodile

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Flying Crocodile to your Saves list
Hotel Flying Crocodile
Codico 5235, Apdo. 99, Playa Samara, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bristol
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely tropical location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed at The Flying Crocodile over New Year 2012/13 with our 2.5yr old daughter.
We had a self catering room - Chagall. The website lacks in pictures so you're not entirely sure what you're getting. Our room was very nice though didn't have the 'fully equipped' kitchen that is mentioned on the site. We had to ask for a cheese grater and sieve and the rest of the kit was in need of updating. We also had one of the staff and her partner sleeping upstairs and unfortunately their movements (even though they tried to tip toe) were incredible loud down below in our section of the lodge. Aside of that all was well and we were in prime position for a morning dip in the pool. The gardens are wonderful, breakfast is good and whole location very open and natural. Petra and Andrea are very friendly and helpful. Andrea is also an excellent cook. I enjoyed her delicious red snapper! It's a location that would require a car especially for exploring the surrounding area filled with beautiful, wild beaches. The local beach is a short 15min walk and easily accessible and fine for children as there is an estuary running down into the ocean where they can paddle.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    24
    16
    1
    4
See reviews for
40
69
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed at the room for 3 and was extremely satisfied. The people running the place are new and very eager to give friendly and quality service. Decoration is special, food are all fresh, breakfast is rich. We had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Our reservations were made by a travel company and we thought we would be in Samara so there would be stuff to do..... There wasn't. We had NO hot water for our entire visit which I think is unacceptable and when we allowed 48 hours to try to leave early on last night we were told no refund. It was low season so only a few people there and with the water issue I think a credit should have been afforded to us. If you don't mind wildlife... Bugs in cabin...another couple had a scorpion in the shower... And no hot water not bad. Andrea a great cook and very friendly though!!!!! Just be aware it is quite secluded and remote and if you simply want down time you will be happy.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flycroco, Manager at Hotel Flying Crocodile, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.

Actually already one day prior to your arrival we confirmed to the travel agency the refund for the early departure. There we're very sorry that your travel agent has not passed on to you.
Furthermore, your resentment entirely justifiable, that you were sent to a quiet place, even though you thought to get a lively place.

That on your arrival no hot water was available was for everyone involved in the whole area not pleasant. However, we had no influence on this, because the state water provider has performed repairs to a broken pipe in the village.

Costa Rica is a tropical country and our hotel is located in the middle of a nature reserve, where many animals have their home. The guests are usually happy about it because they can make one or the other photo. The bungalows are cleaned daily and checked. Despite everything, in this country you remain not completely spared before small animals.

We are very pleased that we were able to satisfy you in spite of everything with our cuisine and hospitality. If you travel to Costa Rica again and you are looking for a place to relax, we'd like you welcome again.

Cordially yours Flying Crocodile team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

The Flying Crocodile is a beautiful home base for your exploration of the Nicoya Peninsula. And you can experience Costa Rica even if you don't leave the grounds, with the howler monkeys, iguanas, and plenty of lush vegetation. It manages to feel both luxurious and rustic (with the most rustic elements being the lukewarm showers and non-biting ants in the room, neither of which bothered me at all). The staff is warm and helpful, the food is delicious, and the bungalows are comfortable and attractive. Do yourself a favor and take a flight in the gyrocopter. The nearby beach is almost private, and fresh coconuts can be found at a neighboring hostel, with a beach view at its bar. I'm very much looking forward to my return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

It is difficult to imagine a better place to stay while in Costa Rica than the The Flying Crocodile Hotel. The grounds are breathtaking, the staff caring and helpful, the rooms charming and inspiring, the food always fresh, imaginative and tasty, the pool and Yoga Pavilion breath-taking, the beach everything it should be, and the amenities? I have one word for you. Exquisite.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Aside from the AMAZING art of the layout and design of this hotel (every bungalow is like a journey into the dream of a beautiful artist tucked into the nooks of a lively yet safe jungle) I was impressed with the warmth of the staff and the overall feeling that: Here Is Someplace Truly Special.

I will be back again to not just fly with Guido in his Gyro Copter (most amazing way to see Costa Rica) but for him to teach me how to fly myself.

The nearby beach is beautiful and empty of any one except one or two locals who might fish or surf.

The food was amazing, there is also a wonderful hostel near by, El Castillo, that offers the worlds best chocolate cake.

The water in the showers was occasionally colder than I usually prefer, but considering the heat, it wasn't that big of a problem. They are the most beautiful showers I've even showered in.

Its a small but special community.

Great if you are driving yourself (please get a four wheel drive SUV, anything less in Costa Rica is not useful), if you do not have your own car a round trip into Town (Samara) is about $30, where there are many restaurants, a few shops, another amazing beach, tours etc.

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms...they each are different and beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Beaches and rainforests can be found in many spots of our world. But, people make the difference of the expats and visitors hang out special. The host makes you feel at home; with great food, setting and non-intrusive service. We are a group of 18-20 using the hotel as our retreat and the space is totally at our disposal.
Plus, unbeatable "Gyro" plane flying experience.
What more can one ask for!
We'll be back!

Room Tip: I have a 1/2 villa to myself--which can easily accommodate 3-4 people. There are great apartments f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Flying Crocodile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Flying Crocodile

Address: Codico 5235, Apdo. 99, Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Playa Samara
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Flying Crocodile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flying Crocodile Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Flying Crocodile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.