We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely home for Costa Rica” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Flying Crocodile

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Flying Crocodile to your Saves list
Hotel Flying Crocodile
Codico 5235, Apdo. 99, Playa Samara, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A lovely home for Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

The Flying Crocodile is a beautiful home base for your exploration of the Nicoya Peninsula. And you can experience Costa Rica even if you don't leave the grounds, with the howler monkeys, iguanas, and plenty of lush vegetation. It manages to feel both luxurious and rustic (with the most rustic elements being the lukewarm showers and non-biting ants in the room, neither of which bothered me at all). The staff is warm and helpful, the food is delicious, and the bungalows are comfortable and attractive. Do yourself a favor and take a flight in the gyrocopter. The nearby beach is almost private, and fresh coconuts can be found at a neighboring hostel, with a beach view at its bar. I'm very much looking forward to my return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    24
    16
    1
    4
See reviews for
40
69
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

It is difficult to imagine a better place to stay while in Costa Rica than the The Flying Crocodile Hotel. The grounds are breathtaking, the staff caring and helpful, the rooms charming and inspiring, the food always fresh, imaginative and tasty, the pool and Yoga Pavilion breath-taking, the beach everything it should be, and the amenities? I have one word for you. Exquisite.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Aside from the AMAZING art of the layout and design of this hotel (every bungalow is like a journey into the dream of a beautiful artist tucked into the nooks of a lively yet safe jungle) I was impressed with the warmth of the staff and the overall feeling that: Here Is Someplace Truly Special.

I will be back again to not just fly with Guido in his Gyro Copter (most amazing way to see Costa Rica) but for him to teach me how to fly myself.

The nearby beach is beautiful and empty of any one except one or two locals who might fish or surf.

The food was amazing, there is also a wonderful hostel near by, El Castillo, that offers the worlds best chocolate cake.

The water in the showers was occasionally colder than I usually prefer, but considering the heat, it wasn't that big of a problem. They are the most beautiful showers I've even showered in.

Its a small but special community.

Great if you are driving yourself (please get a four wheel drive SUV, anything less in Costa Rica is not useful), if you do not have your own car a round trip into Town (Samara) is about $30, where there are many restaurants, a few shops, another amazing beach, tours etc.

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms...they each are different and beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Beaches and rainforests can be found in many spots of our world. But, people make the difference of the expats and visitors hang out special. The host makes you feel at home; with great food, setting and non-intrusive service. We are a group of 18-20 using the hotel as our retreat and the space is totally at our disposal.
Plus, unbeatable "Gyro" plane flying experience.
What more can one ask for!
We'll be back!

Room Tip: I have a 1/2 villa to myself--which can easily accommodate 3-4 people. There are great apartments f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

The warm and inviting spirit from the staff at the Flying Crocodile hotel made the trip to Costa Rica extra special! I felt at home and well taken care of the entire time. The resort is AMAZINGLY beautiful and serene and provides an intimate experience with the beauty and sounds of the environment!

Room Tip: The resort is comprised of private bungalows and EVERYONE is fabulous... it truly is a home away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

The Flying Crocodile is simply a gem in the midst of the jungle. The bungalows are each unique in design and feel - the website does not at all do them justice! - and I was privileged to stay in two of them during my 10 days. The service and food are great, the airstrip/gyrocopter flights amazing and the easy walk to the beach on a canopied road a pleasure. The place is 100% relaxing and 100% full of life at the same time. The owners and staff really make it feel like home - I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Guido and Petra will make you feel at home in this rustic and relaxed, wonderful place. Close to the beach, secluded, visited by scores of lovely howling monkeys. Be sure to take the gyrocopter ride! It is delightful!

Room Tip: Ask for room number 9. It's a two story bungalow with a veranda and a huge bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Flying Crocodile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Flying Crocodile

Address: Codico 5235, Apdo. 99, Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Playa Samara
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Flying Crocodile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flying Crocodile Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Flying Crocodile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.