We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Beautiful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Flying Crocodile

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Flying Crocodile to your Saves list
Hotel Flying Crocodile
Codico 5235, Apdo. 99, Playa Samara, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor, Michigan USA
1 review
“What a Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

It is difficult to imagine a better place to stay while in Costa Rica than the The Flying Crocodile Hotel. The grounds are breathtaking, the staff caring and helpful, the rooms charming and inspiring, the food always fresh, imaginative and tasty, the pool and Yoga Pavilion breath-taking, the beach everything it should be, and the amenities? I have one word for you. Exquisite.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    32
    16
    1
    5
See reviews for
49
80
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Aside from the AMAZING art of the layout and design of this hotel (every bungalow is like a journey into the dream of a beautiful artist tucked into the nooks of a lively yet safe jungle) I was impressed with the warmth of the staff and the overall feeling that: Here Is Someplace Truly Special.

I will be back again to not just fly with Guido in his Gyro Copter (most amazing way to see Costa Rica) but for him to teach me how to fly myself.

The nearby beach is beautiful and empty of any one except one or two locals who might fish or surf.

The food was amazing, there is also a wonderful hostel near by, El Castillo, that offers the worlds best chocolate cake.

The water in the showers was occasionally colder than I usually prefer, but considering the heat, it wasn't that big of a problem. They are the most beautiful showers I've even showered in.

Its a small but special community.

Great if you are driving yourself (please get a four wheel drive SUV, anything less in Costa Rica is not useful), if you do not have your own car a round trip into Town (Samara) is about $30, where there are many restaurants, a few shops, another amazing beach, tours etc.

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms...they each are different and beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Beaches and rainforests can be found in many spots of our world. But, people make the difference of the expats and visitors hang out special. The host makes you feel at home; with great food, setting and non-intrusive service. We are a group of 18-20 using the hotel as our retreat and the space is totally at our disposal.
Plus, unbeatable "Gyro" plane flying experience.
What more can one ask for!
We'll be back!

Room Tip: I have a 1/2 villa to myself--which can easily accommodate 3-4 people. There are great apartments f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

The warm and inviting spirit from the staff at the Flying Crocodile hotel made the trip to Costa Rica extra special! I felt at home and well taken care of the entire time. The resort is AMAZINGLY beautiful and serene and provides an intimate experience with the beauty and sounds of the environment!

Room Tip: The resort is comprised of private bungalows and EVERYONE is fabulous... it truly is a home away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

The Flying Crocodile is simply a gem in the midst of the jungle. The bungalows are each unique in design and feel - the website does not at all do them justice! - and I was privileged to stay in two of them during my 10 days. The service and food are great, the airstrip/gyrocopter flights amazing and the easy walk to the beach on a canopied road a pleasure. The place is 100% relaxing and 100% full of life at the same time. The owners and staff really make it feel like home - I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Guido and Petra will make you feel at home in this rustic and relaxed, wonderful place. Close to the beach, secluded, visited by scores of lovely howling monkeys. Be sure to take the gyrocopter ride! It is delightful!

Room Tip: Ask for room number 9. It's a two story bungalow with a veranda and a huge bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Hubby and I just got back from a two-week stay in the Flying Croc's largest guest house, the "Picasso"-- or, depending on the website you look at, the "Family Scheidt House". This was the owner's original home on the property, and wow, the photos don't do it justice. Lovely art, huge closet spaces, and an awesome shower ROOM that is larger than our master bedroom at home. It was a bit decadent for the two of us, but a treat to come home to after long days exploring CR. The owners and staff were also very accommodating, and fixed minor problems expediently (half the power in the house went out the first day, but was fixed within hours). The upper half of the house is open, so the great room gets very hot w/out air conditioning. The owner supplied us with a fan which helped a lot. (Be sure to request one if you rent the Picasso house! You'll need it.) Other perks were the lovely grounds, the nature (saw three troupes of Howler monkeys feeding, lovely birds, iguanas, opossums), and the pool, which hubby used every day. There was no restaurant or pool bar in evidence, though the new GM Pietra told us they were going to reopen the restaurant in October. However, just behind and to the right of the Croc. is a charming little hotel, the Paraiso Cocodrilo, which served some very tasty, freshly prepared meals. One of the biggest pluses to the Flying Crocodile is the gyrocopters. Hubby took a one-hour flight, and I went for 30 minutes; plenty of time to see the gorgeous beach cliffs around Nosara, circle Mel Gibson's estate, spy on the surfers at Playa Guiones, and spot two giant sea turtles mating. Would never have seen these things otherwise-- highly recommend the flight; it's andrenaline-pumping, but worth it! Main concern we had with the hotel was the distance-- to anywhere. The drive to Samara may be "only 7 km" (as advertised), but takes 20 minutes minimum, and you'll need a 4WD to cross the river. If it rains too hard, the alternate route over the bridge takes 45 minutes. Costa Rican roads being what they are, it takes a long time to get anywhere from here. (It took all day to get to Playa Flamingo and back, and the trip to Monteverde was a good six hours each way.) Also, Playa Buena Vista is at least 10 min. away by foot, and is basically a small spit of land not suited for swimming (though the view is nice). We drove 45 min. to Playa Carillo and up to Juanillo instead; lovely beaches. We were also unable to visit some of the wildlife parks, La Fortuna, etc. because of distance. However, if you want a serene, quiet place to just relax, this hotel is perfect.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
4.3 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 15 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 stars 613 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#3 of 15 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 stars 248 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#6 of 15 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 stars 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#12 of 15 in Playa Samara
3.5 of 5 stars 455 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#4 of 15 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 stars 200 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#10 of 15 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 stars 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Flying Crocodile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Flying Crocodile

Address: Codico 5235, Apdo. 99, Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Playa Samara
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Flying Crocodile Lodge is nestled in a nature reserve and surrounded by mangroves. Not far away is situated the untouched beach of Playa Buena Vista (about 10 min. by foot) located on the Nicoya Peninsula, 6 km north of Samara. Our Lodge offers ten individually designed rooms, each equipped with a bathroom, air conditioning, fan and fridge. The bungalows are colorful and attractive with attention to special details (inspired by the architecture of the Mexican "Casa del Pacifico" and the art of Antonio Gaudi). We are surrounded by approximately 2 acres of tropical gardens with a swimming pool, where many animals have found their home. The garden invites you to stay, relax and enjoy. Additionally, there are table tennis, table football, pool table and a trampoline. For our younger guests a playground and a children's pool with water slide is available. You will find yourselves well taken care of by our chef, who serves complete breakfasts, luncheons and specially prepared dinners, every day. We offer a complete program of excursions and other adventures you might like, as well as laundry service. Also for group travelers, we offer our full services. We are happy to cater to special procedures and requirements, and also rent out the entire hotel, in order to preserve the calm and friendly group dynamics. Similarly, we support you in seminars, conferences, workshops, presentations, antistress training and much more. It is our intent that we will provide participants and speakers a pleasant atmosphere. Our hotel is connected with an Ultra-Light Flying Center. The experienced pilots offer you a flight adventure of a life time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Flying Crocodile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flying Crocodile Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Flying Crocodile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.