We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Hermosa Bosque del Mar Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Playa Hermosa Bosque del Mar Hotel to your Saves list
Playa Hermosa Bosque del Mar Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Hermosa 814400, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Beavercreek, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Where do I start? This hotel is lovely. My family had an ocean front room and loved everything about it. Listening to the ocean at night is so relaxing. The sliding door to the outdoor patio does not have a screen so you can't sleep with the door open, but you can still hear the ocean. The room was clean and comfortable. We had a room on the top floor and for two nights during our visit we were awakened by howler monkeys fighting/playing on the roof. It would have really been awful except it was kind of remarkable to be woken up by howler monkeys. They sleep in the surrounding trees through the day. The garden and pool area is beautiful. One thing we didn't really enjoy was the food in the restaurant. It was average at best, although we really did like the buffalo wings a lot. The restaurants/bars down on the beach from the hotel are really good (We really enjoyed Aqua Sport a lot). If the food was better, I would have given this hotel 5 stars. The hotel's beach area has lounge chairs to use and the staff takes drink orders while you are relaxing. All four of us had messages on the beach during our visit and we really enjoyed them. After a day of snorkeling and hiking, the messages were much needed. One of the true gems of this hotel is its staff. They are phenomenal and their service is exceptional. The staff went above and beyond to make our stay the best it could be. My family was attending a wedding at the hotel and we had a great time. From the wedding, social hour, dinner, reception, to the fire pit on the beach after the festivities were over, the event couldn't have gone better. As for our visit, the only thing I would change would be to not take the horseback ride excursion the hotel offers. Repeat, do NOT take this tour. We felt so sorry for the fly covered horses and we didn't see any wildlife during the whole trip. Even with the totally disappointing horseback excursion, our experience with the hotel was wonderful. I wouldn't hesitate to stay at this hotel again or host a family event there!

Room Tip: The top floor ocean front rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    100
    31
    8
    2
See reviews for
91
142
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Tennessee
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We recently spent a few nights here and thoroughly enjoyed it. We had an oceanfront room and loved hearing the surf continually. One of the best things was having lounge chairs with cushions available for hotel guests in the shade under the trees (you could move to sun if you wanted) - lovely way to enjoy the beach without roasting. Also they provide drink/snack service out there as well. Food was surprisingly good for a hotel with reasonable prices. WiFi was strong and better than I expected and we were at the edge of the property - always important to me. Book your massage from one of the ladies on the beach instead of through the hotel - much cheaper and she was excellent. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was 601 - oceanfront but on the second floor so you had an ocean view but on the far end so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Luxury hotel placed right on the beach. I have room with jacuzzi on the terrace, big and airy room, which was perfectly designed. Perfect service, clean room and don't forget to have massage on the beach. One minus - hotel is quite expensive

Room Tip: 601 and 603 - ocean view and jacuzzi on the terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

This recently built boutique hotel is located on the quiet black sand beach of Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste, CR. It is surrounded by lush tropical plants and trees populated by a fantastic array of different tropical birds, lizards, and visiting howler monkeys. There is an open air restaurant and bar as well as beautiful pool with waterfall and hot tub. We found the combination of beach side location, and large quiet beach with fantastic garden to be perfect for our trip.

Food at the restaurant was good to very good. Restaurant prices were very high for lunch and dinner (reasonable for breakfast), but we found it to be worth it for the location, view, and convenience.

We rented an ocean front suite which was perfect for a family of four. Would definitely recommend the second floor for a better view. The rooms are very modern with good air conditioning and Wi-Fi. Great areas for storage of clothes, suit cases and dive/snorkeling gear.

Room Tip: Ocean Front suite second floor was ideal. We did not experience any problems with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We ended our week-long stay in Costa Rica with a few days are this remarkable hotel. Located on the beautiful, small & isolated Playa Hermosa, the layout and architecture of the hotel is spectacular-- the buildings are open, integrated with the large trees of the site. This medium-sized hotel has the feel and service quality of a much larger, more expensive hotel. The staff were hospitable, knowledgeable, and extremely helpful. Finding and making arrangements for nearby tours and transportation was a snap. Our upgraded room/suite was truly spectacular: ocean view, king-sized bed, good A/C, private outside porch with jacuzzi. The restaurant/bar location is amazing (with a view to the ocean), though the food was unremarkable. There are lots of restaurants & clubs within a few miles, including a few within walking distance. The nearby town of Coco offers a variety of interesting restaurants, bars, shopping and tours from its marina. We look forward to returning to this very special hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Recommend an upgraded room; ask for an ocean view. Worth the extra cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We ended our vacation here for 3 nights and it was wonderful. The rooms were spacious and very clean. The balconies were fabulous, just sitting and listening to the birds and Howler Monkeys. The pool was adequate with a relaxing waterfall. We had a pool-side room but could still hear the surf both night and day. It is located on a stretch of beach that was well maintained. We walked on the beach to the right of the hotel and found cute little restaurants. My only complaint was the restaurant. We ate there each morning for breakfast and talk about inconsistency. The first am was great. On the second am we got there at 7 with their opening being 0630. They said we were early and fed us left over bacon from the morning before. The last breakfast was not as good as the first but doable. I was also not pleased with the respect shown by one waiter...I heard him use the term "gringo" and was insulted. I did report it to the front desk but I think that was the end of that. All and all, I would not hesitate to stay there again....maybe just eat somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

The wife and I stayed here 2 nights and thought the location was great on the bay with warm water and great views. The room was small with very uncomfortable beds and pillows. We overlooked the pool which was great with the howler monkeys and the iguanas. The beach was clean. The food at the hotel was great and very reasonable. I would return there

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Playa Hermosa Bosque del Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Hermosa Bosque del Mar Hotel

Address: Playa Hermosa 814400, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa Hermosa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Playa Hermosa Bosque del Mar Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique beachfront property in Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste with a high-end boutique eco concept comes alive with Hotel Playa Hermosa Bosque del Mar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Playa Hermosa Bosque del Mar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Hermosa Bosque Del Mar Hotel Costa Rica - Guanacaste

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Hermosa Bosque del Mar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.