We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a wonderful place to stay in Playa Hermosa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Hermosa Bosque del Mar Hotel

Save Saved
You added Playa Hermosa Bosque del Mar Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Playa Hermosa Bosque del Mar Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Hermosa 814400, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 hotels in Playa Hermosa
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“This is a wonderful place to stay in Playa Hermosa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The staff at this hotel was incredibly friendly, the rooms are amazing from the Penthouse to the Junior Suite, you can't go wrong, and the beach is something to see. I would have given the hotel 5 stars if not a for a couple of minor issues (wristbands at check-in, lets get rid of those) and the need for some new beach chairs. That being said, I'd recommend this hotel anyone and would gladly go back. They did a wonderful job with my sisters wedding. We loved you Bosque del Mar!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H, Owner at Playa Hermosa Bosque del Mar Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Matt,
Thanks a lot for your comments and for trusting us to have such an unforgetable event as your sister wedding.
We are glad to let you know we have decided to eliminate the wrist bands (using other security and control measures instead) and beach chairs will be replaced and/or having cushions now.
We really look forward to have you staying with us sometime soon!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    167
    89
    30
    8
    2
See reviews for
85
130
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The hotel has its good and bad.

The good certainly out weighs the bad. The grounds to the resort itself are beautiful. Very open air layout. There is open air dining that serves all three meals with a good menu. The rooms are beautiful and very clean, and each has its own balcony. You will wake up to a variety of animals such as monkeys and birds.

The negative is the beach. This is CERTAINLY not a swimming beach. It is actually very depressing. There are SO many stray and starving animals there who are begging for food and look like they are are their last leg. The beach itself is rocky and dirty and the boats are docked close to the beach that it is not good to swim in as the water is dirty with oils, etc.

I would return to the resort itself but for sure avoid the beach.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H, Owner at Playa Hermosa Bosque del Mar Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear client,
We appreciate your comment regarding our hotel, we are aware several thing at the beach should be different but as in Costa Rica beach are public, there are two main things we actually can promise right now: 1. Trying to contact a dogs shelter in the area, who can take the stray animals and give them a new home and 2. Improving and supervising even more the staff we have in our beach front taking care of daily cleanliness.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I have been there a couple of time, and both have been really good, they have a very good service, the rooms are always clean with the necesary thing and a extremly relaxing environment, you can see and hear monkeys in the morning, which is an extraordinary experience and have the beach just in front. They have a good restaurant which it is in front of the beach and you can have your meal in a extremly good environment.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed 8 nights at Bosque del Mar celebrating our daughter's wedding. The entire hotel was booked by our friends and family. We could not have been more satisfied with our meals, our rooms, and the staff. I'd like to give kudos to Carlos, Shirley, and Jose and everyone who bent over backwards to make our stay as well as the wedding a most memorable experience. The Thursday night beach BBQ was a huge hit. Thank-you to the entire staff, we shall meet again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed 2 nights,2 kids and 2 adults. 195 US dollars double room per night without breakfast.

Positive: the pool is very child friendly, very close to the beach, balcony and large room, own children menu in restaurant, friendly staff, good cleaning.

Negative: for that price no breakfast included ( our experience in Costa Rica after 2 weeks is the more you pay for hotel, it's most likely without breakfast), no wi fi in room, air con was very poor, maybe cause its high under the roof and it was not powerful enough. We stayed on second floor, view to the garden. Dinner in restaurant was nothing special, fish was Very dry. Even if we hang the towels up, the cleaning lady changed them,not very Eco- friendly,as the hotel is profiled, no place to recycle paper,drinking bottles or cans.

We would recommend people to look at hotels at the other entrance of playa hermosa ( when you come down the hill drive past the supermarket and turn left). Hotel is good if you want to spent lots of money and have a feeling of staying in a greener place than Playa Hermosa actually is.

Room Tip: We stayed well in 2 floor with view to the garden/ pool but air con was not very effective.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H, Owner at Playa Hermosa Bosque del Mar Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear client,
Your comments are important for us, so we appreciate you took the time to write them down. Regarding breakfast, it is true is not included in regular rack rate but we offer good deals when guest want to include meals in it´s reservations. This deals or packages are published in our website all the time and also our Reservations staff are open to include breakfast upon request with a discount if the client is staying several nights.

During low season (May 1 - Dec 15) we also offer a special package with meals included for the adults (at least 2) and they get free lodging and meals for 2 kids in the same room. That´s a great option for families and it´s available more than 8 months per year.

About sustainable practices, there are many of them that you can see since the architectural design to the daily operation (you can fin more info about it in our website). There are many other things to do and to fix, but we are moving forward in this matter. We know clients in other countries are used to classified the waste, -unfortunely that in Costa Rica is not the general rule yet-, but our staff takes all the basket cases waste and made by their our the classification in order to separate paper, alluminum, glass, tetra brik and plastic to be regulary delivered to a private Collection Center to be reused or recycled.
We will keep working harded to improve our services and facilities.

Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in beach front suite with our 3 kids. The room is very nice with perfect view of the beach. Jacuzzi on the balocony was nice although we really didn't have time to use it. We loved the shower with the rocks around it. Felt like I was outside. No bathtub. We also liked the automatic window shade. Expect ants, bugs and geckos in the room - you are in the jungle! The property is surrounded by huge trees and tropical plants. You will see monkeys, inguana, and lots of beautiful birds while sitting in the pool. Food at the restaurant and drinks at the bar are very good and resonably priced. The beach is calm and beautiful, but the sand is very dark and will ruin a bathing suit! We went on a sunset cruise on the Sea Bird sailboat. Very nice!
We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed 4 nights at this wonderful hotel. We were in a beach front room that gave us views of the beach from the deck, the jacuzzi on the deck, and the room. The bed was very comfortable, ac worked great, bath and shower were very nice. Rate we paid included breakfast every morning. Meal was buffet style on Friday and Saturday, and from the menu weekdays. All meals were delicious. We went to boccellis pizza a couple nights , very good pizza. It is a five minute walk up the road.
Trees on beach provided plenty of shade, although chaise lounges were in bad condition and not comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Playa Hermosa Bosque del Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Hermosa Bosque del Mar Hotel

Address: Playa Hermosa 814400, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Playa Hermosa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Hermosa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Playa Hermosa Bosque del Mar Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique beachfront property in Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste with a high-end boutique eco concept comes alive with Hotel Playa Hermosa Bosque del Mar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Playa Hermosa Bosque del Mar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Hermosa Bosque Del Mar Hotel Costa Rica - Guanacaste

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Hermosa Bosque del Mar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.