We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable Hotell in the trees and on the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Hermosa Bosque del Mar Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Playa Hermosa Bosque del Mar Hotel to your Saves list
Playa Hermosa Bosque del Mar Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Hermosa 814400, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Certificate of Excellence
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Unbelievable Hotell in the trees and on the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Took a group of 21 to the Bosque Del Mar and had an incredible time. Beautiful place right on the beach with the accommodations in the trees. Pool small but fit the surroundings. The staff are incredible. From the manager, to the wait staff, to the maintenance people everyone made us feel at home. We had 2 people in wheelchairs and they accommodated us by moving the "Happy Hour" from the upper floor to the lower area and even one night set up the beach for us to enjoy the sunset and have our cocktails and snacks.
Monkeys were in the trees and iguanas roamed the premises. Beach was clean and safe.
Love this place, the people and the beach. Food was awesome for the 4 nights, breakfast buffet included an omelette bar with cook to order eggs.
Everything was great and I would highly recommend this place to everyone, old, young, honeymoon etc. There is some other places to eat within walking distance and we did try the pizza/sandwich place up the street for lunch one day and that was good too.
All in all they made out Costa Rica adventure one to cherish and remember for years to come.
Cheers!

Room Tip: Get the upper rooms as you can look over the area and it feels like you are living in a treehouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    123
    38
    9
    4
See reviews for
108
170
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

This is my third trip to Costa Rica and probably the 10th resort at which I've stayed. I went with a large group and the experiences and opinions of my travel mates were very similar to mine. Everyone loved this hotel.

I stayed in one of the less expensive rooms by the pool in a downstairs unit (#502). During my stay the mosquito activity was very low, and I found the rooms only slightly buggy (one must expect a certain amount of insects). We did have a few crabs in the room, but that was amusing and actually added to the experience. The beach chairs are surprisingly and extremely uncomfortable, especially when lying face down, and the restaurant staff was a little on the grumpy side.

Other than these really minor issues, we found this resort to be excellent.

Room Tip: I didn't try mine, but the rooms have sound systems that allow you to plug in your MP3 player.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orchard, WA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

The restaurant at this hotel isn't listed separately, so we only hope to reach those looking deeply into dining options while visiting this area as we didn't stay at the hotel (although, it looked terrific). Or, for those staying at this hotel and wondering if the dining room is worth a try. We were staying at a large timeshare complex north down the bay and had a rental car, so we had many dining choices in the region. We ate dinner at the Bosque del Mar one evening around sunset and had such a pleasant meal and experience, we chose to return our last evening in Costa Rica. All our meals were delicious, including fantastic steaks, and filling. I even enjoyed a quality gin martini. The setting is open, so not intimate or romantic, but at least well-covered during showers. Our wait staff was very attentive and helpful. We were among the only guests each evening, but the hotel and other accommodatiosn were lightly occupied during this swing-season week (that had great weather, btw). Finally, the prices were very reasonable for such an isolated setting and limited competition without access to a car.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

We had the wedding of our dreams at Bosque. Roberto the manager was great and very accommodating. We were able to create an awesome wedding on a relatively tight budget for 90 people. We did the ceremony and the dancing on the beach. They set up a great dance floor and stage for the band on the beach. Roberto was very accommodating of the 13 vendors we found, from fireworks to the band.

The hotel also did a wonderful dinner and midnight snacks for the guests. We knew it was a good sign when guests were trying to reorder the wedding menu from the restaurant the next day. They did the full dinner (two appetizers, two entes and dessert) for $43 pp including custom meals for all our special needs guests (veg, seafood allergy, etc). Other costs were very reasonable. My wife's father provided the alcohol so the hotel charged $5 pp corkage for unlimited glasses and bar tenders for the whole 12hr wedding! The costs for other things like dance floor and stage set set up ($100) were also very reasonable. They also gave us discounted room rates for all our guests.

The ambiance of the hotel is fantastic. Much better than the photos on their website! We were sad to leave and look forward to going back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great - Ocean view suits are best! Only two rooms are close to the restaurant so a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

When we arrived, I quickly realized that the "Junior Suite" was not a suite by American standards. That notwithstanding, our room was infested with mosquitoes. Now I expect Costa Rica to have mosquitoes but this was ridiculous! The bathroom had hair in it. Fed up, I asked that we be moved. They obliged and all was good!
The room had a little bit of a musty smell. The best part of the hotel is that it's right on the beach. And had I known before, I definitely would've gotten the Oceanview room. All in all, not sure if I'd come back.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Nice hotel on the beach in Playa Hermosa. Friendly staff, pretty gardens, some iguanas and several howler monkees in the evening. Rooms are a bit odd - ours was split between a windowed sitting area and a dark sleeping area. The sitting area had a pretty view of the gardens and trees but was hot and stuffy so relaxing and enjoying the view wasn't really workable. The bedroom area was large and had a wall A/C unit that cooled it down somewhat but it didn't have any windows, making it a good room for sleeping but not for relaxing or reading.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay here and everyone in the hotel and in the town itself made us feel very welcome.

Room Tip: There were some rooms that faced the ocean which would have been nice, but they may have been larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Panama, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We spent a week at this hotel in June 2011. It was a lovely environment, trees growing through the porches, pretty flowers everywhere. The rooms were very nice. The restaurant was also good!

The only negatives were wireless internet does not reach into all of the rooms. You have to be in a room closest to the lobby area. Also, if they put you in the rooms at the front of the hotel (near the road), those are musty smelling because they back up to a rock wall that has mold and mildew. We asked to be moved and they did so immediately. The staff was very gracious about it.

Room Tip: If you want wireless, get close to the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Hermosa
0.2 mi away
Hotel ManGaby
Hotel ManGaby
#1 of 12 in Playa Hermosa
4.5 of 5 stars 90 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa del Sueno
Villa del Sueno
#6 of 12 in Playa Hermosa
4.0 of 5 stars 167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Velero
Hotel El Velero
#4 of 12 in Playa Hermosa
4.0 of 5 stars 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 stars 565 reviews
14.9 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
1.9 mi away
El Mangroove by Enjoy Hotels
El Mangroove by Enjoy Hotels
#3 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 stars 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Hermosa Bosque del Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Hermosa Bosque del Mar Hotel

Address: Playa Hermosa 814400, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Hermosa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Playa Hermosa Bosque del Mar Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique beachfront property in Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste with a high-end boutique eco concept comes alive with Hotel Playa Hermosa Bosque del Mar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Playa Hermosa Bosque del Mar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Hermosa Bosque Del Mar Hotel Costa Rica - Guanacaste

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Hermosa Bosque del Mar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.